We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Slide!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or Restaurant

Hotel Cap d'Or Restaurant
Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
972-34-00-81
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 124 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Restaurant details
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“On the Slide!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have been eating and drinking at Cap d'Or for many years. I am very disappointed that they seem to have had the accountants in to advise on portion sizes and drink measures.

Regulars will notice and not go back, new customers will try once and be underwhelmed!

For 7 euros you used to get a huge measure of gin, rum ect. served in what others have described as a goldfish bowl. This year it was the smallest measure we were served anywhere, take out the ice and it would have barely wetted your tongue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Manager very rude.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter aged 9 and I went to what we thought looked like a great setting and location for our first meal out in tossa, our waitress could not speak a word of English, could not explain the menu to us. We ordered our starters, then our mains came, my daughter had mussels and I was having prawns, I complained as the prawns were small with 2 triangles of bread for 11 euros. The manager came out and called me a very ignorant lady,. Started argueing with me, in front of my daughter , how RUDE. I never went back, she ruined our first evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Reasonably-Priced Place for Lunch, With a Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are at least thirty restaurants fronting the Platja Gran in Tossa. As you walk by this side-by-side stretch of eateries, an inevitable sameness in the menus is apparent. Prices vary quite a bit, however, especially for cocktails. The view varies considerably, as well. This place serves a lot of the same options as the others, and we were glad we chose it, because it has a better view, tasty food (we had simple sandwiches on this day), and is reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Liked: Sangria de Cava, croquetas caseros, location, meatballs with squid, location, friendly service, sardines, coffee, people watching.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lovely Restaurant - great set menu for 15 Euro !
Gin and Tonic is the size of a gold fish bowl ! fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Cap d'Or Restaurant also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap d'Or Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.