We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Save Saved
You added Yellow Praia Monte Gordo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Monte Gordo
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Big and functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a large hotel, with large fairly basic rooms. As such it is an excellent base for large groups. While we were there there were football squads, running groups, walkers etc. and it did not feel too crowded, being an excellent base for the pleasant winter weather. The food was quite reasonable, though after a while it would be a bit samey. Reasonable small gym and outdoor and indoor pools. Huge beach, lovely sand and a pleasant peaceful little town. I wouldn't come here for a quiet getaway though- a smaller hotel would be more appropriate. I imagine it would get very crowded in summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    68
    23
    11
See reviews for
94
48
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent a week here working out, enjoying the beach and the beautiful surroundings, and for these purposes the hotel works great. The facilities for working out indoors and outdoors (fantastic beach and running trails in the woods!) are really good. But. I would not have chosen this hotel for a "normal" vacation, because the rooms are so dated and have certainly seen better days. The food in the restaurant is just not good either... But you can find restaurants on the beach and get some great seafood for a bargain. You also have to pay for the safe (10 euros and 20 euros as a deposit....) and wifi you can only get in the reception and of course you have to pay for this. The beds are just weird too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Been coming to Monte Gordo since I was 6 and I'm now 22 it's like home from home we have loads of friends here and sometimes we come twice a year. Been to Tenerife this year but Monte Gordo is defiantly for chilling out I feel extra safe here and I don't have to look over my shoulder you can leave belongings and money out in rooms and they never get touched but in Tenerife everything had to go in to the safe.

Stayed in every hotel in Monte Gordo but this has got to be the best! me and my mum stayed here for a week half board and it was fantastic the staff on the reception and the cleaners and maintenance men and the waiters can't do enough for you they are really friendly and always say hello with a smile on their face :) we checked in quick and someone took our cases to our room and they got there before us! the room was massive it had a sofa that had a pull out bed underneath, 2 comfy single beds and table and 2 chairs and a big dressing table and flat screen TV, loads of wardrobe space I opened one wardrobe well I thought it was a wardrobe and they was a sink and 2 hobs and a microwave and pots and pans! the bathroom was huge with a shower and bath etc, and the balcony was even bigger with a lovely view of the sea and a table and 2 chairs, the room got cleaned everyday to a very high standard and towels always changed, could leave money and belongings out and the cleaners never moved or touched them only to clean (you can do this in every hotel we have stayed in, in Monte Gordo)

All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean and all staff work extra hard the food in the restaurant was always piping hot and they were loads to choose from on a morning and evening and the head chef was always checking the food was at the right temperature (had a bad experience with our last holiday to Tenerife with food being lukewarm) one evening a cleaner said they was ONE cockroach not as big as the ones in Tenerife and the head chef closed the area off and got the cleaner to move all the table and chairs and clean the whole area that was closed off, he also took all the cutlery off the tables to rewash them and got the cleaner to clean the chairs and tables down and he replaced all the food that was out with fresh food brilliant watching everything they did for one tiny cockroach.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel to people who are wanting to go to Monteo Gordo its lovely and you wont be disappointed :)

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and face the sea but the higher up the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to Yellow Montegordo during our holidays in Portugal. The hotel was crowded and it seemed the same kind of mass tourism hotel you can find everywhere. The room was spacious but we had twin beds( which was really upsetting) and breakfast was really appalling; bad quality food and not much of a choice, surprised with the bacon & eggs (horrible) and the croissants out of the freezer. Well, considering the amount of people, I suppose you wouldn't expect anything different. Again the price was too expensive for what you get. The beach oposite the hotel was over crowded too....Better go to Altura or Vila Real de Santo Antonio ( not far from MonteGordo) if you want to have a decent rest and enjoy the Algarve. One positive thing about this stay was the really really nice beach restaurant you can find on the beach ( don't remeber the name but food was EXCELLENT!!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel probably is more of a three star than four, but really can't complain. Nice pool, spacious rooms and nice lounge area. Restaurants also nice at an extra cost. Slightly cheesy entertainment, but that's standard at any hotel abroad right?! Literally a two minute walk to the beach and local cafea and bars. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ideally don't get the top floor as its near a pool that plays quite loud music. Also ask for a r...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me and my family of four went to stay at the yellow hotel in Monte Gordo the rooms were very spacious which we had wanted .The hole room was prefect the veiw was amazing and so were the beds. The beds were very comfortable and perfect . There were a few issues and the first issue was that the maid severice was not cleaning our room properly sometimes the towles they had gave us were eithier dirty or they had given us maybe 2 short of towels and the worst thing was that they don't change your bed sheets for 3 days it was a hotel policy which is rather silliy because what are we suppose to do if it is dirty .Our last issuse was that if you go for all inclusive or half bord or bed and breakfast they would give you the same food every day which is really boring .
On the good side we had bed and breakfast usally the best place near the hotel were the restruats ,the beach and this british pub called MOBY'S BAR they were a real pleasent to talk to they are in the street before this palce clled Pirme they have a board saying Moby's bar if you miss home these people speak ennglish and know which places are god and which places are not that good .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was a bit disappointed with this 4 stars hotel, because I don't thing it deserves the rating... Yes, as some amenities that only 4 stars has it, but the room and the breakfast was disappointing! The great thing was the view to the beach but when you look from the beach to the hotel it kind of think that it's a little to big.
This was not our first choice hotel, we were moved in from another hotel, so we cannot brag about it...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Address: Av. Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Praia Monte Gordo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.