We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calema Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calema Aparthotel to your Saves list
Calema Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Lisbon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed for a few days in the Summer a couple of years ago.
Nice and helpful staff, everyting was always very clean, good location, swimming pool was ok and great value!
I would stay here again ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sion mills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

stayed at this hotel 4 years ago ,found it to be very clean ,all stsff very helpful and could not do enough

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We found the Calema Hotel in Monte Gordo fairly average/nothing special. The apartment was however very spacious, and clean, and the reception staff extremely helpful.

We were half board, so ate every morning and evening in the restaurant which was very small and pokey - if you were a couple you had to sit squashed in the middle of the room - there were tables for 4 and more around the side, but on more than one occasion guests were very rudely shouted at if they dared attempt to sit there if there were only two of them. Understandable if the restaurant was busy - but as not many guests used it, then I saw no need for that attitude. We could not complain about the food in the evening - even though there wasn't much of a choice, we really liked what was on offer, although I would definitely not recommend eating there if you are a vegetarian, or even if you are someone who loves their puddings - as there was hardly any choice of desert - 2 flan type dishes and/or fruit. Also If you like your breakfasts, then don't eat there either; only bread rolls, with ham/cheese, Jam/marmalade, 1 choice of yoghurt flavour, and 1 choice of cereal. OK I suppose if you were going for a short time, but it got very boring after 10 days!!

Monte Gordo itself was lovely - HUGH beach, - though noticeably hardly any young families. Certainly at the time of year we went (September) the average "Tourists" I would say were early retirement age and above.

We would go back to Monte Gordo, but probably find a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed (me and my wife) on Hotel Calema for 2 weeks starting 12th august 2008. The hotel is spotlessly clean. All the staff where polite helpful & cheerful at all times. Their English is good too. There is lots of equipment in the apartment to make your own dinner. The best equipped hotel I have visit. Its not Coffee machine but a kettle, that works fine. There is an toaster and microwave, and an Owen with 4 cooking plates. Air-condition. The restaurant in hotel was cheap & served very good food. The bar is excellent. The swimming pool is small, but nice and clean. I don’t try the trim room and sauna, but its look well equipped. Food, drinks and cigarettes my you buy in the hotel bar. Internet café in the reception, but not of good use, since they have too much security, so you cannot fill your phone or pay your bill.

Also the maids are in to clean every day. The Hotel and the staff are excellent. Recommended.

Smal, but good Library in the 2. reception.

PS. Some sound from the nearby area, but that will stop when the building complex is finish.

  • Liked — Well equipped and clean
  • Disliked — sound level from nearby contractor.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

My chum and I stayed at the Calema Aparthotel in Sept/Oct 2006. We loved every minute of it. The room was spotless and towels changed daily. We enjoyed the bar & restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Calema is close to shops and beach, also plenty of restaurants around if you fancy eating out. We are going to Monte Gordo this year 2008 and hope to stay at the Calema as we had such a good time before.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness
  • Disliked — there was nothing I disliked
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

When we first got there, were not real impressed -- and I will say this right now, DON'T eat there (at the Calema), food is a real disappointment, but there are so many places around that are just fantastic -- the Rendevous is fabulous, and only a short walk away -- as is everything else -- hiring a car is a waste of money, LOTS of shops, restaurants, and interesting places to explore, lots of bike paths, and bike hire is cheap -- as are nearly all of the restaurants -- This is a fantastic place to just plain relax -- the beach's are really, delightful, and I am from Florida & Australia - so I know my beaches, the Calema is really good value for money -- we had a two bedroom apartment with two baths and two balconies, it was clean, well maintained, but lacking in things like coffee maker and full air conditioning -- small pool, but nice if you could get to it -- staff were really great, helpful, friendly, and would go out of there way to do what they could for you -- back to the food in the area -- there were three of us, and we would eat, drink, have dessert, and after dinner drinks (or nightcap) for around about 70 or so Euro all up for the three of us -- it really is a fantastic place -- no loud clubs, or hooligans all over, had the Honda golden wing club there when we were, and they were great -- no problems at all -- just loved looking at those beautiful motorcycles -- All in All, one of the most beautiful places (and friendliest) I have ever been to for a vacation -- we were there for two weeks, and wished we could have stayed longer -- but be assured, we are absolutely going back -- this is a DO NOT MISS place
Ron & Inge (&sister in law - Karen)
Go there to relax -- not party (we are all over 50)

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds - UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We went to Monte Gordo the second week of the season, so was still very quite which suited us as all we wanted was a good beach and some
local restaurants serving local food. The hotel was fine - 1 bed apartment which was kept clean and tidy, only slight problem was we were at the front of the hotel so got a little traffic noise, and were above the gym, so between 4.00pm and 7.00pm had noise / music from below.

Food wise, all the beach bars are much of a muchness - but do great fresh sardines, which, when washed down with a bottle of crisp house dry wine was fab for lunch - 7 euro's for the sardines (and plenty of them) 5 euro's for a bottle of house wine.

For evening meals there were a couple of places which we felt stood out especially Veleiro Restaurante which is about 20m past the Casino. A lot of local seafood, and did "cataplana's" which is like a big stew which can either be meat, fish or both, and have an extensive wine list if you fancy something a little more special than the house wine. Also, you can get a taxi down to Vila Real Santo Antonio for about 5 euro's and there are some good restaurants along the marina - we went to the Associacao Naval which was recommended by the waiters at Veleiro for great seafood. All in all a great place to go for a low key, non noisy realxing week!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calema Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calema Aparthotel

Address: Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calema Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Calema Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calema Aparthotel Monte Gordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calema Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.