We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alcazar to your Saves list
Hotel Alcazar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Ceuta, 9, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Ericeira, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, both at the reception and the restaurant, the food was good, and nice and complete breakfast with a good choice of cheese and fruits. the room was spacious and very clean. The hotel is situated near the beach there are various restaurants in the vicinity the offer is plenty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
125
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A bit late with this review but must give it a mention. Stayed there early 2012 ( had to return early due to family illness ) lucky with weather then, pool still warm enough to swim. Rooms very clean, towels changed regularly, Food very good choice and well cooked. Bar staff polite and helpful as were the poolside staff. All areas of the Hotel were clean and tidy. Restaurant area nicely laid out. Hotel just a couple of minutes from beach and shops. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the town if you want a choice of food. Pool area clean and tidy with sun loungers around. will hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Most rooms face south
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnworth, Widnes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from spending New Year at the Alcazar in Monte Gordo. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one. Jose & Orlando in the bar were superb along with Ricardo, Nelson and Walter in the restaurant. We were welcomed warmly, given a superb room over looking the sea, south facing. The room was spotlessly clean, maid service every day, light airy but with a heating facility when we needed it (It gets quite cold in the evening at this time of year). The food was well cooked and there was always some thing to enjoy, the soups were lovely. News Years eve was brilliant, the food was served to the table and so were the drinks, which were complimentary (port, wine, champagne and liqueurs) promptly served by the attentive staff. The resort was busy, the bars and shops were all open and a superb firework display on the front at midnight on NYE along with a large Marquee and dancing until morning. A great trip and a great way to spend new year at a reasonable cost. (PS weather was 16-20 degrees and sunny every day of our stay,)

Room Tip: Sea view above second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

when i booked this hotel i was not told about the swimming pool being out of bounds or the building work going on where they are putting more balcanies up and building a new lift etc it will take untill november 2013 to be completed so i wont be recomemding this hotel or going back there as the only facility i got that they advertised was TELEVISION. Also i didnt appreciate the hotel manager and staff memembers hounding me on christmas day telling me that i havent payed for my evening meal the day before to which i then find out there was another three bills all on my room which i didnt have, obvouisly i refused to pay and they couldnt do much more about it, i wouldnt mind but i stayed there for three weeks so they should of recognised my face and knew it wasnt me that had the meals, maybe they should pay more attention to the portuguesse travellers who sometimes come in the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first time in Portugal. We were not dissapointed. Joseph, Nelson and Richard made our stay perfect. They were genuine in being happy and helpful. Our room was nice and spacious and was cleaned regularly. One note; Don't book 119 if you like peace and quiet, the bed is over the bar entertainment speakers. Luckily it was off season so not too onerous. The meals were adequate. Plenty of choice but too many mixed up dishes so you were unsure what you were eating. Poorly labelled.
The hotel is ideally situated away from the centre bars and noise but only 5mins walk from both centre and the beaches of Monte Gordo. It is only a fourty minuite walk and 10min ferry to Spain!!! You can take a much more pleasant walk though the forest that takes a bit longer. Or hire a bike at the Hotel.
We shall return.

Room Tip: Not 119. and the 6th -8th floors will have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned from my fourth visit to the Alcazar. From the moment I entered the hotel I was welcomed like a member of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. There is plenty of choice in the restaurant. The rooms are bright and airy. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Alcazar, for 9 days, which we had booked through two different agents. We were put into a junior suite for the first two days (first booking), and when the hotel realised that we had a second booking for the last 7 days, they informed us that it was in an inferior room. However they then offered to let us stay in the better room at no extra charge.
All of this was offered to us by the reception staff without any request from ourselves. That to me is excellent, helpful, and friendly and particular thanks to Joao (John) on reception who made the offer and checked it all out with his management. At all other times the reception staff were very friendly.
It was our second time in the hotel in about 4 years, it is a very clean, bright, and airy hotel. The variety on offer at breakfast is excellent (we didn't eat evening meals in the hotel, so I cannot comment on these).
The hammocks, hung between conifers near the pool, are a neat touch and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, but those on 1st floor near reception area get free wi-fi in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Rua de Ceuta, 9, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcazar 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.