We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good hotel false advertisement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alcazar to your Saves list
Hotel Alcazar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Ceuta, 9, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not a good hotel false advertisement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

when i booked this hotel i was not told about the swimming pool being out of bounds or the building work going on where they are putting more balcanies up and building a new lift etc it will take untill november 2013 to be completed so i wont be recomemding this hotel or going back there as the only facility i got that they advertised was TELEVISION. Also i didnt appreciate the hotel manager and staff memembers hounding me on christmas day telling me that i havent payed for my evening meal the day before to which i then find out there was another three bills all on my room which i didnt have, obvouisly i refused to pay and they couldnt do much more about it, i wouldnt mind but i stayed there for three weeks so they should of recognised my face and knew it wasnt me that had the meals, maybe they should pay more attention to the portuguesse travellers who sometimes come in the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
125
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flamborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first time in Portugal. We were not dissapointed. Joseph, Nelson and Richard made our stay perfect. They were genuine in being happy and helpful. Our room was nice and spacious and was cleaned regularly. One note; Don't book 119 if you like peace and quiet, the bed is over the bar entertainment speakers. Luckily it was off season so not too onerous. The meals were adequate. Plenty of choice but too many mixed up dishes so you were unsure what you were eating. Poorly labelled.
The hotel is ideally situated away from the centre bars and noise but only 5mins walk from both centre and the beaches of Monte Gordo. It is only a fourty minuite walk and 10min ferry to Spain!!! You can take a much more pleasant walk though the forest that takes a bit longer. Or hire a bike at the Hotel.
We shall return.

Room Tip: Not 119. and the 6th -8th floors will have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned from my fourth visit to the Alcazar. From the moment I entered the hotel I was welcomed like a member of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. There is plenty of choice in the restaurant. The rooms are bright and airy. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Alcazar, for 9 days, which we had booked through two different agents. We were put into a junior suite for the first two days (first booking), and when the hotel realised that we had a second booking for the last 7 days, they informed us that it was in an inferior room. However they then offered to let us stay in the better room at no extra charge.
All of this was offered to us by the reception staff without any request from ourselves. That to me is excellent, helpful, and friendly and particular thanks to Joao (John) on reception who made the offer and checked it all out with his management. At all other times the reception staff were very friendly.
It was our second time in the hotel in about 4 years, it is a very clean, bright, and airy hotel. The variety on offer at breakfast is excellent (we didn't eat evening meals in the hotel, so I cannot comment on these).
The hammocks, hung between conifers near the pool, are a neat touch and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, but those on 1st floor near reception area get free wi-fi in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel, cannot understand why it hasn't been upgraded to 4 star at least, we stayed in the New York room and loved it. The staff were fantastic and the hotel is striving to please in every way. Stay here you will not be dissapointed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a great week at the Alcazar in Monte Gordo at the beginning of October. The weather was warmer than we expected but the pool was too cold. The Alcazar's beautiful arquitecture was an eye opener. Not forgetting the views if the sea and countryside from the balcony. The genuine friendliness of the staff gave a feeling of home from home. Unfortunately the quality of the food and choice did not do justice to portuguese cuisine. The hotel is well cited for trips into Spain. The boat only takes less than 30 minutes into Ayamonte. Most suited for couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room was on the 8th floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea,we had a large balcony due to the fact that we had an end room.The room was spacious and clean with comfy beds and a small empty mini bar which was handy for keeping our own drinks cold.
Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of hot and cold to choose from with something for everyone.We cant comment on the evening meals because we ate out every night.
The pool area had plenty of free beds although the hotel wasn't full at the time and the grassed area was well maintained.
We found the staff at reception always happy to help and the maids were the same.
If we do go back to Monte Gordo we would definitely stay at the Alcazar again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Rua de Ceuta, 9, Monte Gordo 8900, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcazar 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.