We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Stop 3

Restaurante Stop 3
Rua Goncalo Velho, Monte Gordo, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 58 Restaurants in Monte Gordo
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The tourist menu is great and very good value.
Had mixed grilled fish which did not disappoint.
The staff is very friendly and multilingual.
Will definitely return on our next visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed eleven meals at Stop 3 over a 21 day holiday in September and as expected from previous experience every one was simply outstanding. We always ask "PAPA" our nick name for the Chef owner, what he has in that is special and we go by his recommendatrion. He personally buys his own fish and meat, so we know whatever we are having it is going to be excellent. The best about this restaurant is that they will do just what you want and so if you are like us and like grilled tomatoes you can have just that with your fish or shellfish. We had the crab three times as a shared starter for around 16 Euros but it can be quite filling so hold back on ordering your main dish until you know how full you are. The sardines are always excellent as is the Halibut. To be quite honest this restaurant has to be in the top three restaurants in Monte Gordo and we have been visiting this resort for four years. I know that the owners from the local hotels eat here so this has to be a good indication in itself. Stop 3 do the normal tourist menu and the voucher menu which is very popular with the many Dutch tourists in this resort. The tables are not jammed in and all the staff are just great especially Vilma. We look forward to returning next year for more outstanding dining experiences. If in doubt just ask "Papa"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Amazing family-run dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I (along with my parents) visited Stop 3 three times on our recent trip to Monte Gordo. Overall, our experience was outstanding each time. "Papa" one of the owners is such a nice guy, and along with Wilma the head waitress, they always made sure we were well taken care of and chose the best items for us. I highly recommend the Crab as a shared starter. You need to order it the day before, as Papa gets it caught to order. Garlic Shrimp was also outstanding. Overall, this was our favorite restaurant in Monte Gordo by some margin.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tuna in onion sauce - yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The description didn't do the finished meal justice. I had a large tuna steak and the "onion sauce" was onions, tomatoes, peppers, herbs and was very very good. This meal was better than I anticipated. I think the translation of the dishes on offer is interesting and definitely lacks a true translation. But hey, we were on holiday and we are open to new dishes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had both meat and fish on separate occasions, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited Stop 3 Restaurant 4 times in a weeks holiday, Has a tourist menu which is excellent value at 13 Euro. Starter- main- dessert, half bottle of red or white wine or caneca of beer. Owner cooks and sometimes waits on tables. Will tell you all about what is on the menu. Service is with a smile. Cooking area visible from your table. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Stop 3 also viewed

Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 
Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Stop 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Stop 3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.