We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Santos to your Saves list
Hotel Santos
R. Ten. Valadim, 14, Guarda, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Guarda
ankara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Currently staying in top floor suite in this residencial. It's light, spacious, spotless clean, tastefully renovated and cheaper than most small hotels we've stayed in throughout Portugal. Our room has a fantastic view of the Se (cathedral) and a small terrace. Other rooms are smaller and have different views but even without the suit, i would still stay here a million times over! The owners (a middle aged couple) are the best - actually we think hotel management schools should send their students for training here :) The lady doesnt speak a word of English but manages to spoil us rotten at breakfast, providing much more than other hotels of this price range and...still offering an espresso with a smile at the very end when we've already had our cereal, cheese and ham sandwich, biscuits, yoghurt, fruit juice, coffee, sparkling water...She is very hospitable, very generous, and makes sure we start our day on the right note. I'm not sure if the hotel actually belongs to the couple or if they're only managing it, but someone's done a great job renovating this old hotel in Guarda, turning it into a modern establishment without harming the real character of the place. This is the place to stay if you care about not just how much money you spend but where you spend it. The only catch is that Wifi doesn't reach the top room but the hotel has so many other pleasant places to hang around so we don't mind. There is also a computer with Internet access in the breakfast hall that guests can use for free. I've paid almost 3 euros in other Portuguese hotels for wifi so this is actually another nice gesture by this hotel. Finally, the location is also excellent. Therefore, recommended without the slightest reservation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We lived in a deluxe suite on top of this beautiful designer hotel. The view over the roofs of Guarda and the central church was stunning. Wifi was accessible on the many guest lounges on three levels (didn't reach up to our room on the very top). Parking is tough, but free. Eventually we found a spot. Breakfast was traditional portuguese, with excellent bread, cheese and ham, as well as cereal, cakes, fruit and a good selection of bottled juices. Staff is very friendly, our room was spacious and ultra clean, with an amazing view. It's the very heart of old town of Guarda, which we enjoyed a lot during our 1.5 day stay. Good luck and all the best to all Portugal travellers!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite rocks. All other rooms must be nice too, I don't know, but the view from the top is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The interior design of this hotel is so unique and, well, fun, that it would make up for any flaws. After depositing our luggage in our small but quite comfortable room, we ran up and down the stairs (there is an elevator, too) exploring the nooks and crannies and angles. Built inside the old city walls of Guarda, the modern design makes a great contrast. In the evening the lighting is dramatic and adds beauty.
Breakfast is good, street parking available. We found Guarda itself less interesting that we had expected as very little restoration has been done, but we enjoyed the hotel so much that it made the stop worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay in Guarda and we thought that it was a little gem. The rooms are very modern with views over the town and stay cool due to the thickness of the stone walls. Common areas are a great blend of oak floors and exposed stone walls and a glass elevator. See the photos on their web site.
Breakfast was excellent with good variety of cold buffet but almost overfacing due to the way it is served - don't take this as a negative though.
The staff (owners & family?) are very friendly.
Location is very central and, although there is no private parking, free parking is possible on one of the nearby streets.
At 45 euros per night inc breakfast for two we though this was great value for money. Give it a go and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santos

Address: R. Ten. Valadim, 14, Guarda, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Guarda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.