We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Christian Augusts Gate 2, Kongsberg 3611, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kongsberg
Molde, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for the weekend, and have nothing to complain about. Nice staff, clean rooms and good food in the restaurant! The hotel is not spectacular in any way, but absolutely high standards.
Did not try the spa area, but other guests in our group did, and found it relaxing and enjoyable.
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will try the spa area next time you are here.

You are very welcome back.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
11
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The clerk claimed to only have one double room left, but it was a quiet weekend in Kongsberg, so he must have lied. The room was nice and clean, but that could not be said for the restaurant/bar/breakfast room on Sunday morning, when the floor was littered with used packets of that Scandinavian tobacco speciality called "snus". It wouldn't have been a huge job to sweep up the last dregs of Saturday's party before breakfast, but no one had bothered to. The breakfast itself had a nice selection, though it would have been even better if the kitchen knew of how to tell if melons are ripe or not. Unripe melon does not make a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in the restaurant. The floor should have been cleaned. We always want to be better, so we do appreiciate your feedback so that we can do a much better job next time.

I do hope that you will try the hotel again, and give us the opportunity to provide a better impression.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemmestad, Buskerud, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a good hotel for conferences. Close to the train station. You can take the train directly from OSL. Staff is very helpful, food is good and the rooms comfortable. Good confrerence area with different size of rooms, flexible. Conference staff was experienced and very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Tore,

Thank you so much for you positive feedback. I hope you will choose us again for your next conference. You are so welcome back.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived late on a Sunday evening for a 4 day business trip and wished I was on holiday!
The hotel is in a beautiful spot and the staff are very friendly and helpful - even arranging a welcome cup of tea at 11.30 in the evening. Whilst I didn't get time to discover all the facilities the hotel had to offer what I did experience was beautiful; with a wonderful outlook from my room and sumptious food I would recommend this to anyone visiting on business or taking a well-deserved holiday break. You won't be disappointed with the lovely scenery coupled with some very nice eating houses and the hospitality of the Norweigan people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for you wonderful feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Ostfold, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a short stay. Smiling staff that helped us with all of our needs. Large and clean room. Really comfortable bed with large pillows. Swimming pool was hard to find, but once found it was nice and quiet for a morning swim. Sauna was a bit on the cooler side, but I guess that's more of a personal preference than anything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
We hope to see you again!

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo I Telemark, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here the night before a friend of mine was scheduled for surgery at Kongsberg Hospital. We wanted a place where we could relax in a jacuzzi, talk and generally have a bubble of "us" time, and the Grand delivered.

We had the pool area to ourselves on a Sunday evening, which was perfect.

The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Ivaa,

Thank you for choosing Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, and for your kind review.
We hope to see you again!

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed in the Grand Kongsberg many times for conferences and it is always a fantastic experience. This is because of the staff - in every department. The team here really do put themselves out to deliver great service to guests. Everyone has a "can do" attitude and there is a very positive vibe throughout the whole hotel. Of course the facilities are excellent - but for me, it is this personal touch that makes the big difference. It's a great hotel for business and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for choosing us in Kongsberg.
We do hope to see you again!

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg

Address: Christian Augusts Gate 2, Kongsberg 3611, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Kongsberg Municipality > Kongsberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kongsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.