We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Serenity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heimly Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heimly Pensjonat to your Saves list
Heimly Pensjonat
Postboks 83, Flam 5742, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Flam
Prasanta45
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Total Serenity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A short walk from Flam railway station and Jetty. Very neat and clean place. Provides all the essential facilites and no frills.
The breakfast is adequate
What is remarkable about this place is the view of the fjord, which changes hue through the day and night.
Great place for a quite holiday

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    39
    15
    3
See reviews for
23
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were 4 people and we booked 2 rooms through "Norway in a nutshell" program (discounted rate). Result: micro-rooms with no view; no courtesy of the staff at all. Micro-plastic-bathrooms (caravan's stile). One of the worst hotel experiences of our lives. Few hotels in one tourist place do not mean that everything is allowed.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed overnight during our stopover in Flam. The place is clean and comfortable, with breathtaking views of the fjord from the room windows. Very quiet and peaceful overall.

Location is very easily accessible to go on one of the many hikes in Flam, or to the old town - or just a short walk to the water front. Went on a hike to the waterfall nearby which was lovely.

Tried out the open air restaurant and another pub near the water front which were great. The breakfast spread in the morning, at Heimly Pensjonat was good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple nights here and had a good experience. The room looked out to the fjord and had comfortable beds. Although it was a bit small, we didn't spend much time there with everything going on. Best feature of Flam, for us, was the kayaking. Also took a nice walk to the old town and the church. The breakfast was good, not as good as other places in Norway, but all we needed. Dinner at the place across the road was good and the view was great. Also ate and lounged at the viking style brew pub and really enjoyed it. A must visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Heimly Pensjonat September 24th and had such a great experience. The room is very small for 3 (room 24) but hey, you are in one of the prettiest parts of Norway - I hope you are not lingering In your room! The view from our window left us all breathless. (I have to say to skip their recommendation to dine at the restaurant across the street.) The breakfast there was the best we experienced the entire trip. Simple - with lots of choices! The best part of our visit was when our gracious host helped my mother track down a historian in Vik that led to us obtaining valuable information about her father who left Vangsnes in 1885 - and dating back our family to the 1600's. We cannot thank her enough! Such a touching experience thanks to her! They go way out of their way for their guests - an experience of a lifetime thanks to her!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

And that’s not a bad thing. I would definitely recommend the Heimly. In terms of what I needed in Flam, it worked out perfectly. A day or two before I decided on a two night stay in Flam. So I sent out some e-mails for rates. A very nice hotel replied saying that they could give me a great room for about $400/night. Well, it had better be nice at that rate. It turns out that I arrived on the very last train into Flam in the dark. And didn’t have time for much before falling into bed. Would a $400 room have been worth it? Absolutely not.

So the Heimly is a good option. The rooms are very basic. Like a dorm room or youth hostel. But they’re clean and the rooms in the front (which I had) have a fantastic fjord view. A better view, I would argue, than the hotels asking more than double the price. Breakfast is basic, but it’s fine and no worse than other much more expensive hotels I stayed at in Norway.

I would argue that people shouldn’t go to Flam for the hotels. Get out and see the fjords, explore the countryside, etc. I saved a pile of money by staying at the Heimly and it was fine. If you’re looking for luxurious accommodations, then bust the piggy bank and pay $400/night at another hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a fjord view. At the end of the hallway, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here in August 2013.

This guesthouse is pretty basic and more like an up market hostel really. Yes it is expensive, but considering there aren't that many options for accomodation in Flam they can afford to charge what they want. and it's cheaper that the accomodations nearer the train station. In saying that, it is about a 10 minute walk to the train station where the shops and eating places are so not too bad a walk. If you have luggage it's better to walk towards the guesthouse and veer off to the left and walk along the dock as it's flatter instead of along the road as this is up a slight hill.

The room was a decent size and very quiet and clean. Beds were comfy. Very basic (ie no coffee tea making facilities and no tv).

Breakfast was also pretty basic with bread, fillings, spread, cerals and coffee and tea. Which they kept topped up regularly We didn't try the dinner as it looked a little expensive. we had dinner in the accomodations down the road which was quite nice and had good, friendly service.

The guesthouse has free unlimited wifi but the performance was a little patchy as you can only really get a signal in the dining room or entrance foyer, not in the rooms. Hopefully this improves in the future.

If not looking for something too flash with a nice view of the fjord then I definately recommend this place. It was a good place to rest my head at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heimly Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heimly Pensjonat

Address: Postboks 83, Flam 5742, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heimly is a cosy pension, which is located next to the Aurlandsfjord, only 400 m from the famous Flam railway. The pension has a cosy atmosphere with 22 rooms. 21 With shower / toilet. Large diningroom with panoramaview to the fjord, room with an open fireplace, TV-lounge and a large garden. Train connection to Oslo and Bergen. Boat service to Bergen. Buss service to Aurland, Laerdal Gol, Geilo, Oslo, Voss and Bergen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heimly Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heimly Pensjonat Hotel Flam
Heimly Pensjonat Flåm
Heimly Pensjonat Hotel Flåm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heimly Pensjonat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.