We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant environment with just one thing we can't stand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flam Camping og Vandrarheim

Save Saved
You added Flam Camping og Vandrarheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flam Camping og Vandrarheim
Nedre Brekkevegen 12, Flam N- 5743, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Flam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pleasant environment with just one thing we can't stand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

and that's the toilet. it is beyond my comprehension why they can't simply build a toilet in each of the houses. See, the thing is, the rooms are spread across different wooden houses. So several people would be sharing one house with maybe 3-4 rooms and one kitchen. that's perfectly fine. then comes the toilet. it was located in an entirely different building which means you had to get out of your cosy little hut, brave the cold winds of the night/morning for maybe 50m before you can pee or wash your face. NOT a very pleasant experience at all. oh, and the showers charge you 10 nok for 5 minutes of hot water. we didn't bother showering since it was only one night. uncomfortable but it'll have to do if you're on a budget.

But that said, everything else was nice. the surroundings were beautiful and really quiet and peaceful. The air was really fresh, rooms were clean and comfortable, plus the kitchen was well equipped. Be warned though that the local supermarket isn't open on Sundays after summer, so better get some food beforehand if you're arriving on a sunday and plan to cook. The hostel reception sells some basic stuff like instant soup and canned tuna etc. for a quick meal. at a higher price of course.

Room Tip: ask if it's possible to get a room where the toilets are in the same building if you wanna minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent three nights with my husband and his parents in one of the cottages (2 room cottage with kitchen and bathroom) in the month of July. The cottage was excellent and we had running water. We brought bed linen with us so we didn't rent the linen from them. The stay was fine but we experienced an extremely hostile service on our last days when we were departing.
We were planning to leave around 8 am on that day, but in the night my father in law got sick and we got really worried. So we decided to leave as early as possible the next morning. At the front gate it says the registration desk is opened from 7am and if we are leaving before that we can leave our keys in the box. So we thought of leaving the keys in the box since we have already paid on arrival. But when we were leaving we found that the gate was closed. Leaving the sick father in the car we tried to contact them through the emergency number written on the wall. That's when it all started. The person who answered the phone started screaming at us. He said we can't leave till 7 am. We must read the board. It was actually 6.30 am (i.e. 30 mins prior to their actual opening hours). There was no mentioning of their gate closing times anywhere. We read almost all the instructions they have given, none of them mentioned about a gate, They only mentioned the registration desk opening hours.
And then finally he came to open the gate and screamed at my husband. And then didn't open the gate until my husband apologize him for waking him 30 mins before. We had no time to explain our situation to an insane door keeper like that. I felt terrible and my father in law was shivering after seeing the hostile behavior of him. To be honest, this was the worst manner i was talked by anyone in my life. He was repeatedly telling us that we should have parked the car outside the gate. But our cottage was on the far end of the camp, and since we spent 3 nights and my in-laws had many allergies we brought all our food with us. so we had to do a lot of loading. There's no way we could carry all that up and down from the cottage to the car with the sick father. Anyway, I do not recommend this hostile place for elderly people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a wonderful experience in our little cabin. It was two rooms with a tiny kitchen included. The bedroom had bunks so since there was just the two of us we used the double fouton instead. It was very comfortable. The scenery was beautiful and the town is very cute after the cruise boats leave. It was expensive for camping by american standards but good for Norway. Good wifi was available most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

been around Norway on tent for a week now and ended on this place before Bergen.
at reception desk i was for second time on this trip kind of shocked that two tents and a car had a price of 410 NOK for a night althou as soon as we got to the tent area i forgot about The price and was only thinking how beautifull it was here.
and when i later went to The restroom and shower area i was, stunned... it was clean and modern!!! all The previous places we've been at It was all kinda old and unmaintained. as i Said in The title....worth every dime.. atleast if you are using tent/caravan dont know about the Rooms and cabins but it looks great from outside...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The family run hostel/campground is in a beautiful setting, well managed, well equipped, clean and the proprietors are very friendly, professional customer service people who never lose their patience and do their very best to accommodate their customers, even take time for extra wishes
(I injured my knee while I was staying there and got all the assistance I needed).
Despite the thousands of tourists that come through this tiny place every day, the camping area/hostel is like a refuge away from the hustle and bustle
I'm glad I could experience this beautiful area - I managed to get a bed at short notice -
I stayed for 2 nights in the hostel in a 4-bed room with ensuite, for Norwegian standards a good value for money option, linen, wifi incl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Positive points: close to central train station(around 3 min by foot), free wifi, there is a supermarket near, very friendly staff, reasonable price for Norway, quiet neighborhood and hostel
Negative points: charge 10 nok for 5 min shower even for a single room. There is no TV, no free towels, the wifi signal falls frequently
In general is a very good place to stay in beautiful Flåm, it could be better if didn’t charge for a shower and had a more strong wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Other reviews are spot on. The place is very clean and excellent facilities. There isn't any children playground except for a small swing set but plenty of grass. One thing to keep in mind is that the camping is right next to the main road and perhaps in the cabins or hostel you wouldn't mind, but staying in a tent it was hard to miss. Flam is a great location for all the activities but it isn't really interesting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flam Camping og Vandrarheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Camping og Vandrarheim

Address: Nedre Brekkevegen 12, Flam N- 5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flam Camping og Vandrarheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flam Vandrerhjem Hotel Flam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flam Camping og Vandrarheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.