We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Suprise in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fretheim Hotel to your Saves list
Fretheim Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PB 63, Flam 5742, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A Small Suprise in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Prior to coming to Flam we knew this hotel was long established and it is, but we were in a newly refurbished section which was very well presented. We had a balcony with a view of the comings and goings of the Flam railway and of the fjord. The hotel has a lovely restaurant which also has good fjord views, both dinner (has a buffet option) and breakfast (buffet) were great. There is also a very nice bar area and a cafe which serves quick but good meals.

Our room did not have free WiFi but this was avialble in the public areas. The only point to watch out for is that the doors to the rooms open out, not in - don't stand in the corridor when someone else opens the door! Make sure you visit the public rooms which have been set up with traditional Norweigan decor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    171
    68
    24
    15
See reviews for
83
212
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is in a prime location, right next to the harbour and Flam railway station. Our rooms were overlooking the fjord so the views were beautiful. My room in the new section was very small and basic, and slightly incongruous with the grand exterior and public areas of the hotel, it was like being in a halls of residence at university or at a youth hostel. Also being on the ground floor there was no privacy as there were people walking in the garden right in front of my glass door at all times of the day and night. However it was very clean.The room in the historic area was small, but tastefully furnished with antiques and a chandelier. Rather cold however, could be a problem in winter...The restaurant is elegant, and dinner was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet. It would have been nice if there had been fresh juice, but this was compensated by the good selection of smoked fish. This is just the place to have a good rest for the night but I cannot give five stars because the rooms were so expensive given their size and quality, I suppose though this is down to supply and demand....

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room overlooking the fjord. To get the full experience of this hotel, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

it was just nice simple, nice and relax time staying in this hotel. yes it is full of group tour but it doesn't matter at all. i got a room in 4th floor which is i can see the awesome view for my window. It just simply nice. decoration also Ok. Love the bar, dinner and breakfast, over all meals are lovely. Service also Ok. I enjoy my time very much when i stay here.
The location also terrific. Restaurant, Souvenir shops, fjord is just one step in front. This is the place which is also the station of the Flamsbana Train ( Panoramic Train ) then you got everything just around you. simple and very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel was good but as i am a single traveler I had a room up in the rafters! It realy was high up. OK could see a lot and the bar was just bellow me. Noisy untill the folk went! My room had stupid low ceiling and the curtains were in front of the arm chairs. So there was no point in sitting in the arm chairs. Breakfast was Ok . Thank goodness I was only here for one night.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

By the time we arrived in Flam, we had been on the road for three weeks in Finland, Russia, Estonia and Norway, so we were bushed. How wonderful it was to check into our beautiful room that opened out onto the gardens and had two very nice beds and a big bathroom with all the amenities. I told our daughter that up until that time we must have been choosing the wrong hotels; this was the first one in our our travels that lived up to its billing. We loved it and I wished we had stayed more than one night. We had a light lunch and beer out on the lovely patio, then dinner that night at the restaurant, which commands a fabulous view of the fjlord. Breakfast was a lavish spread, even by Scandinavian standards. The staff offered to upgrade us to a room in the older, original part of the hotel when our door lock wouldn't work, but we stayed in the newer section where we were quite happy.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view of the fjord; it's not necessary to pay extra for a "view&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel, at the end of a branch of the majestic Sognefjorden, is a lovely place for enjoying Norway's´beautiful nature and excellent cuisine. The steep mountain walls surrounding the hotel are climbing to about 1000m and they are truly stunning.

Despite being an hotel with long and pride history, appears modern and well maintained. Old has been combined with new in an elegant manner.

Our particular stay was at the end of a family trip, biking the mountainous Rallarveien from Haugastøl via Finse. The weather had been at times very challenging. We did have some nice sun, but also stretches with rain and hailstorms. I have to add that everyone would do the trip again, but not for a few years !

Room Tip: We selected a room facing the fjord and the sea, we would do that again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very nice and modern hotel in Sognefjord area. Rooms are very nice and clean. Breakfast and dinner was delicious. One of the best food in Norway's hotels. Little bit too expensive, but good.
One minus: check in was very long and receptionist was little bit not focused to customer, talking by phone and other customers...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 5 in Flam
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Address: PB 63, Flam 5742, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fretheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.