We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking and great ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flam Railway

The Flam Railway
Flamsbana 5742, Flam 5742, Norway
(47) 57 63 21 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Flam
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Attraction details
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“breathtaking and great ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

There is no boring moment in this rail ride, make sure you charge your camera battery and have big memory card. we came to Flam by cruise ship in May 2013 and it is still cold and light rain on that day. it wasn't the best day for photo taking, foggy and cloudy whole day but this the best short rail trip. You just have to go and see with your own eyes.

on the return journey take a early exit and walk your way back down to the station if you can.

Book your tickets early online.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    364
    148
    43
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing views! Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited Flam on a cruise in august, this excursion was by far the best, Train very comfortable and had real charm!

Well worth a visit if in flam! A must see! You can get off at the top and visit the hotel,. but we didn't do this. There are also lovely little souvenir shops at the train stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eyepopping beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

You must do this trip and find yourself a place at the end of a coach so you can pictures out of the top of the windows. It was Autumn when we went (trees of all colours) and fortunately the rain cleared for our trip up. The scenery is something out of a fairy story - green pastures, waterfalls, sheer cliffs, beautiful valleys. We have seen some wonderful scenery in our time but this tops them all!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful railway with stunning scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Quite pricey to use and busy but really worth the trip down to flam. Nice waterfalls on route and the fjords itself are truly stunning. Really impressive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“so much beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I took this train from Flam as part of Norway in a nutshell. the scenery is spectacular and the train is pretty comfortable for an old train. The train will stop at a beautiful waterfall so you can get out to take pictures. I sat on the left side, but like everyone else we were all going from left to right sides of the train to get our beautiful scenic pictures. The ride did not seem very long at all as we were all busy taking photos. this is a must do in Norway

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flam Railway also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 

Been to The Flam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flam Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.