We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the soul!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flam Marina & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flam Marina & Apartments to your Saves list
Flam Marina & Apartments
PB 48, Flam 5742, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for the soul!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I took my visiting friends from UK to see "Norway in a nutshell" and we stayed overnight in this self-catering apartment to have a rest from the long winding scenic, fantastic views along the way. The apartment is clean, very quiet with a porch at the back of the apartment built in the water itself. Kitchen is well equipped although sadly the microwave was not working and the staff at the reception is gone for the day. We informed that we will check out at 0900 hrs next day and we were told to just leave the apartment keys on the table inside the apartment when there is no one in the reception. The area is safe, very peaceful and there's a restaurant and hotels around to eat if need be. I will go back to this apartment again but for longer days to enjoy the view at the back balcony!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in a very cold week in March, and even though it was the off-season, had a lovely stay. The view is to die for and I guess the perk to an end of winter stay is the fact that you basically have the whole place to yourselves!!! As mentioned in some other reviews, there was no restaurant, however, the supermarket is only about a 10 minute walk away and has everything you need to have a home cooked meal and a cosy night in. The apartment is really clean and comfortable and again, is all about the magnificent view x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The view from our apartment was absolutely amazing I understand why this is the selling point of this property. The apartment was clean and the beds were comfortable. As we came in winter the restaurant wasn't open which was fine, they did offer us frozen pizza to cook in the room however I am glad we declined as when we went to the small supermarket in town they were selling the same pizzas for 1/2 of the cost. The one down side was the bedroom didn't have any electrical outlets and also didn't have a radiator, they provided a portable heater but without anywhere to plug it in we had to have it in the lounge area and point it down the corridor towards the room which wasn't ideal. Overall this was an average apartment with an AMAZING view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It looks like all the apartments in this property face the beautiful fjord, a calm body of blue water. I have attached here a photo of this magnificent view of water flanked by mountains on both sides. This photo was taken from our apartment's balcony. As it was winter (we were there for one night, Dec 12), everything seemed to be in blue, white and grey. The whole scene was very calming for all of us. We certainly enjoyed the freezing cold and the snow. We don't have them back home in Singapore.

We came to this beautiful place, as part of the "Norway in a Nutshell" package. We had an apartment with 2 separate bedrooms for 4 adults/2 couples. Very cozy place indeed. The whole apartment was very clean. Beds/pillows were clean and comfortable (I guess when you are very tired after a long walk in the snow, any bed will be comfortable). Everywhere outside, except for the roads, was covered with ankle-deep snow. It was very cold (-5 deg C or lower) for us but we were well prepared for it. However, within the apartment, it was warm and cozy, and the bathroom's floor was heated - really wonderful when one is taking a shower.

It had a well-equipped kitchen, where we could cook our meals, and a small dining area for us to enjoy our meals, drinks, chat and at the same to feast our eyes on the beautiful views outside.

There is one slight flaw in this otherwise very beautiful place and that is you have to walk for about 500 m from the train station to this lovely apartment. Walking in the freezing cold with luggage and backpacks on a little uphill road with sides mostly covered with thick snow and some other areas covered with hardened ice which can cause bodily injuries if you are not careful. After enjoying the cozy apartment and enjoying the stunning from your balcony or dining area for x day(s), you have to again walk that same 500 m with all your bags back to the train station or to the nearby pier if you are taking a boat out, like we did on our way to Bergen. Anyway, walking is a very good exercise. We totally enjoyed the walk.

By the way, our apartment had free Wifi and a TV. The reception is located in the restaurant. The staff manning the reception was a very sweet young lady. We didn't try the foods there though. We prepared all our meals in the apartment. Here is a tip. When you arrive at the station and before going up to the apartment, suggest you visit the nearby supermarket and shops first. You probably need some stuff for your meals or drinks or for some personal needs.

Overall, I find Flam Marina & Apartments a truly wonderful place to relax and to enjoy mother nature. Cozy and warm within apartment with stunning views outside. Despite the very cold condition, it was a very nice feeling walking outside. It was so peaceful, so quiet and any place we saw or looked was really a postcard view - absolutely stunning!

Room Tip: None. Every room seems to face the same direction - the beautiful pool of water called Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Love this place!!

My husband and I booked the 'Norway in a Nutshell Tour'. Most people do this self guided tour in a day, but we opted to do it over three days. So for our first night, we booked this place. The tour got into Flam at about 1pm. We walked with our bags to the hotel with no worries (we're on a 7 month holiday, so they're not small bags!). The station is on the port, as is the apartments, it was a flat 6 minute walk along the deck running along the water to the apartment. The deck was slightly slippery, so take care, but nothing to be worried about, it was fine and today was quite wet. It's a beautiful walk!!

The reception is in the restaurant and the lady who gave us our keys and information, was lovely. The restaurant looked fantastic too with reasonable prices (surprising for Norway!).

The apartment itself has the most stunning view. The balcony looks over to town, down the fjord and snow capped mountains. (Im pretty sure all of the apartments have a view and balcony). It's so peaceful!

The apartment is simple, but still very comfortable, cozy and quite charming. It's very clean with heated floating floorboards, a small lounge area, timber dining table with four chairs which overlooks the balcony and beautiful views, nice soft lighting with a kitchenette, two basic bedrooms and a basic bathroom.

I had read the reviews of this place before we arrived and expected something below average, (it was in a great location and a great price, so we booked it regardless of the reviews. When we arrived, it made me so sad that people were so negative about this place. What has society become when we are so picky over the smallest thing like having to put a sheet on your bed, finding a used stocking in the bin or having to walk 5 minutes to get to this place? - possibly the most scenic and beautiful 5 minutes of your life. I can only shake my head.

This place is so lovely!!

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms have a balcony and view. There are two floors, so if you are worried ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was raining when we reached Flam. Therefore, although the apartment is not far from the train station, it felt very far for us especially when we need to make two trips to get all our luggage to the apartment.

There are two lanes from the carpark (between the train station and the museum) to the apartment. One is the asphalt road which will lead you to the upper floor of the apartment (i.e. uphill but easier to drag the luggage) and the other is formed with wooden plank which is a very nice walk except for the gravel road of about 30-40m nearer to the apartment makes it real difficult to move your luggage. The wooden plank way leads you to the lower floor of the apartment.

Check in is at the counter in the restaurant on the lower floor (facing the apartment's car park) and we were given rooms on the upper floor. No shelter between check-in counter and the rooms...

There are two small bedrooms in the apartment. The bathroom floor is heated. And they had a shower cubicle in the bathroom so that helps to prevent the water from wetting the bathroom floor. The previous tenant may have accidentally knocked the cubicle's door off and the staff may not be aware and didn't put it back. Luckily, it is not that difficult. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a simple meal. The apartment apparently only has one hairdryer for all its guest so if you manage to secure it, congratulations.

It is a self-service apartment, i.e. you need to clean up the room yourself (except for the towels and the bed sheets). Staff may not have diligently checked if the room has been clean and all trashes are taken out as we saw a used stocking under the table.

For cleaning of utensils and dishes, we have to thank one of the previous tenants who left the detergent in the sink. Otherwise, we would need to pay NOK200 for dish washing services (according to the very badly translated notice on the wall next to the sink)...

There is not enough powerpoint in the room. The living room's powerpoints have been used for the standing lamp and the heater so we had to charge our handphones with the powerpoint at the entrance.

When we left at 9 am for a booked excursion the next day, the counter was not opened for checked out. Our excursion ended around 10+11 and dropped us at the train station, and we had to go back to the apartment to check out, then quickly get back to the train station for the 11:30 train. Didn't get the chance to visit the museum...

But the view is fantastic and there is no need for a lift to move the luggage up and down the floors.
That seals the deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Cosy and clean waterfront apartment with 2 small bedrooms, shower, and kitchenette & dining, leading out to a large terrace (smaller on upper floor) with a magnificent breathtaking view of the fjord. Fully equipped for cooking light meals, and with a waterfront restaurant next door.

Located at five minutes' walk from centre of Flam - the place for a dream idyllic holiday, offering lovely walks around the waterfront to Arland or up into the hills, cycling up/down the fantastic valley towards Myrdal, short ferry trips to pretty Undredal and Gudvangen in the fjord, and kayaking.

Not much happening at night in Flam, this is not the place for that.

Room Tip: Just take a good book, and your trekking boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flam Marina & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Marina & Apartments

Address: PB 48, Flam 5742, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flam Marina & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flam Marina & Apartments Hotel Flam
Flam Marina And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flam Marina & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.