We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, friendly service, excellent beer & food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamsbrygga Hotell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flamsbrygga Hotell to your Saves list
Flamsbrygga Hotell
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pb. 44, Flam 5742 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, friendly service, excellent beer & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed two nights as part of the Norway in a Nutshell experience. This hotel is great! The rooms have been tastefully decorated and are very comfortable. There is a restaurant, cafe and bar in separate buildings next to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant one night and had a lovely 3 course meal for a reasonable price, and then ate above the bar the next night and had very tasty venison burgers. You can order a tray of tasters of a selection of the beers to decide on your favourite which we thought was a nice touch. The bar has amazing decor inside and you can sit by the fire. Breakfast was in the restaurant building and had lots of choice - we filled up on breakfast and made sandwiches for lunch. Brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful review of Flamsbrygga Hotell. We are very thankful for your positive words and that you shared your experience with us. You make us feel good about what we do and by this also makes us better. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    103
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
138
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Arrived late afternoon, into my room instant chillout, what a view, was quite that time of year so virtually nothing open, pub next door was great and a good breakfast, one to remember, great value for where it is, better view than the posh joint behind it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your recent review of Flamsbrygga Hotell. We have the best view of the fjord in town and you very eloquently pointed this out - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited Flam in February. Very few others there. I imagine in the summer it will be packed with Tourists so would advise a winter visit. We travelled by the Flam railway from Myrdal which is on the Bergen to Oslo line. The whole railway trip was great but I must recommend the Flam railway which is unique. We stayed at Flamsbrygga Hotel which was lovely and very quiet possibly just 3 couples staying that night! It is attached to a micro-brewery. If you like real ale this is a must ---the beers were lovely. We also had supper in the brewery. Breakfast was served in the adjoining restaurant was a typical Norwegian feast! Flam is at the end of a fjord---the views from the railway and Flam are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the review. It is very true that it is quiet in Flåm during January & February and for those who like quiet places - this is the place ti visit. We are happy to hear that you hade a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is rather like an oversized log cabin - indeed they keep a huge pile of logs stacked outside to remind you of the rural setting with fjord surrounded by mountains. The room was a nice size and very snug which is remarkable given there appears to be no obvious form of heating. The bed was very comfortable but the wi fi was a bit on and off. There is a cafe area and restaurant across from the rooms offering good food including popular meatballs. We had our evening meal in the pub/brewery which is attached to the hotel. I loved this Valhalla style drinking hall with its fire burning away in the centre. Staff were only too keen to explain the different Aegir beers on tap and in bottle -all produced on site. Several helped wash down the venison burger. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok. Both the train station and ferry access are less than five minutes walk away. We were visiting on a cold, wet and windy February day but received a warm welcome. It might be interesting to return again in the summer when I am sure the whole place would be buzzing.

Tip: The gift shop attached to the station offers a wide range of gifts at pretty reasonable prices for Norway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your wonderful description of our place here at Flamsbrygga. We are happy to hear that we were able to give you a good experience on an otherwise windy and rainy day! We would love to see you here again and, yes, in the summer it is quite busy and buzzeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

In Flåm, there aren't many hotel options, and they are all pretty expensive. However, the Flåmsbrygga is a gorgeous hotel that is worth every penny. The hotel has plenty of free parking for guests visiting by car, and is also only a few steps away from the Flåm railway station and docks. The building itself is in a vintage-style log-cabin.

The room was quite spacious, along with a large balcony with a beautiful view of the Fjord that all visitors come for. The staff was friendly in our small interactions with them and the free breakfast (located in the restaurant next door) was pretty good. In addition, an excellent wi-fi connection is provided for free. One thing to note, though, if staying here, is when you leave your room, you MUST manually lock your door with your keycard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and positive feed back about Flamsbrygga Hotell. As owners and managers we are very humble and grateful to get such glowing review of our lives work!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We're a group of 12 people stayed at Flamsbrygga Hotell on 30Nov.

It's totally unexpected! We planned to stay at another hotel but they asked for a compulsory Xmas dinner (on 30Nov!). Thanks to that hotel, we had a wonderful stay in Flamsbrygga, services' are excellent, staffs always smile and polite, rooms are clean and the view's stunning! It's recommendable without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and positive feed back about Flamsbrygga Hotell. As owners and managers we are very humble and grateful to get such glowing review of our lives work!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We arrived Flam in the way of 'Norway in a Nutshell' and Flam was the only stop we made. The hotel is just several mins walk from the train station and cruise terminal so it's very convenient. The hotel itself blended in the beautiful environment and it was very nice and comfortable to sit at the balcony admiring the surrounding. We were given a corner room so we actually had 2 balconies.
We had lunch at the hotel cafe. Breakfast was served at the restaurant just beside the cafe. There were plenty of choices in breakfast and the food was quite good.
Overall it's highly recommended and will definitely stay there again if we would visit Flam again.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudiFlam_Norway, Owner at Flamsbrygga Hotell, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and positive feed back about Flamsbrygga Hotell. As owners and managers we are very humble and grateful to get such glowing review of our lives work!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamsbrygga Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamsbrygga Hotell

Address: Pb. 44, Flam 5742 , Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamsbrygga Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Flamsbrygga Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Aurland Municipality
Flamsbrygga Hotell Flåm
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Flåm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamsbrygga Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.