We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell

Save Saved
You added Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Vatnahalsen, Myrdal 5718 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Myrdal
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is really nice with beautiful view of the mountains from the room. Great breakfast with traditional Norwegian food. The surroundings are fantastic, I've seen the most remarkable fog there. If you want to hide from everything, to enjoy being in peace and calm- this is the place for you. It's a nice, not long walk to the train station. You can see beautiful Norwegian nature with waterfalls on the way. The hotel itself is nicely decorated in the old style, there are beautiful rooms where you can drink complimentary coffee or sit on the terrace enjoying the view of the mountains with snow on top in summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Karmsund
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Vatnahalsen Høyfjellshotel is surely a gem “hidden” way up in the Norwegian mountain on the Hardangervidda (The Hardanger Plateau). The easiest (only) way to go there at this time of the year (November) is to take the train to Myrdal Station. From the station it is an easy 1,5 kilometer walk to reach the hotel. For those who do not have good enough legs for a walk it is possible to jump on the Flåmsbanen train as this train stops just 50-60 meters away from the entrance to the hotel. We did walk though and it was a refreshing walk with nice sceneries and a couple of inches of newly fallen snow which made us all got a little Christmas feeling.

Fact number 1 about this hotel; the standard of the room is far away from fancy and luxurious. So if you need that this is not for you. But you get a room that is clean, with a bathroom with a toilet, a sink and a shower. And that is all you need as you just sleep in the room while you’re here.

The staff:

The staff in the hotel are amazing, incredible service minded and always ready walking around with a big smile on their face. Some big chain hotels really could learn something just by observing this staff.

The food:

Also amazing. We had meat soup for lunch a couple of hours after our arrival. Homemade off course and served with homemade bread. And since they like to ptomote local food and drinks we had a Rallar beer (rallar = nickname of those who many many year ago built the railway between the cities of Bergen and Oslo). This beer is brewed by Ægir Brewery in Flåm and it is highly recommended. The soup itself was also very good.

I was attending a seminar with particpants from many other companies that I did not know from before, so after lunch we went to a presentation for an hour and a half. After the presentation we had a competition (mostly a quiz). The staff was there all the time and made sure that we had drinks, coffee and cakes and other sweet stuff (you eat something all the time).

We had dinner at 19:30; and what a presentation of food. Everything you need and more to ranging from seafood to various hams (locally food) to traditional Norwegian Christmas dishes such as pinnekjøtt (meat stick?), ribbe (ribs?) and lutefisk (fished closed in lye=This one I stay away from). They also served smalahove (sheep’s head) which I tried and which is quite tasty actually. I stayed away from the oackward parts though such as they eye. It is also interesting to eat it as the eye looks at you and you look straight at the sheep’s teeth.

All in all dinner was amazing, including the deserts.

After a nice evening and night we went to bed around 3 AM.

The breakfast the next morning was also very good, even though it didn’t reach the standard of the dinner we had last night. But nothing at all to comply about here either.

Did I mention that I slept very good, well I did.

Before we went on the train I also had some time for a short trek on the Rallarveien (The Rallar Road) which is not a road really but more like a somehow rough carriage road or path. It is very popular amon tourists to cycle the Rallarveien during a hectical season in the late summer. I did this myself some 10-12 years ago and this is recommended as well.

Conclusion:

I you want a nice experience in the Norwegian mountain that includes nice sceneries, a splendid service and really good food I will recommend Vatnahalsen Høyfjellshotell.

Room Tip: Take a hike on the Rallar road, and if visiting during the season for it; cycle the Rallar road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here overnight in order to break up the Norway in a Nutshell tour into slightly more manageable chunks since we were traveling with a 1 year old. In point of fact, our booking here was an accident, we *thought* we were staying at the Stalheim hotel. So when we realized our error we were a little nervous, but this turned out to be the best part of our visit to Norway - a very happy accident.

The proprietress was incredibly welcoming, helpful, and kind. She was genuinely interested in our little one, and in making sure we had everything we needed and were totally comfortable. We had been staying at the Grand Hotel in Oslo, and let me tell you - I'd have far rather stayed in the humbler Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell for the rest of our trip because the staff was so much better! The table staff at dinner and breakfast stopped to interact with our son and us - they were all lovely young people who were engaging and very service-focused. There were toddler toys stashed in the main living room space - I feel fairly confident that they proprietress had pulled them out of storage just for our little one. The food was good, filling, and plentiful.

I cannot say enough about the location - the scenery was just splendid. We went for a nice long hike each day on the Rallarvegen bike path and saw waterfalls and all sorts of other lovely things. It snowed for us, too...

The room was of a good size, clean, and well appointed. The bathroom was small but totally serviceable and my favorite part was that the bathroom floor was heated so the bathroom was extremely toasty once you turned on that feature. Our little one had come down with a cold was it was really, really nice to be able to bathe him in a very warm, draft-free room. Really the whole stay was just lovely. We will be visiting them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vatnahalsen. The fact that you can have a hotel in such a beautiful and isolated location at all is something really worth appreciating. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. There were few people staying overnight when we were there in July but when the first train arrived in the morning tourists poured in and the place became crowded. The views from the hotel are superb. The interior decoration had a distinctive Norwegian style to it. Our bedroom was tourist standard but roomy. There were no coffee making facilities in our room but in the evening free tea and coffee was available in the main lounge. The beds in our room did not have headboards but they were comfortable. The room was clean but there were minor defects in the decor in the bathroom where the shower fitting was broken for example. The shower was usable and there was also a large bath. In the grounds there was a children's play area and also a swimming pool. The pool was empty but given the weather it was difficult to imagine that anyone would want to use it. We arrived on foot from Myrdal station towards the end of dinner. This was buffet style and beautifully cooked. However it was also tepid. I had roast pork and my wife had baked salmon In the morning the breakfast was Scandinavian buffet style with a good choice of food. You could also make up your own packed lunch from the food provided for 75 nk per person. If you are cycling down to Flam however you will probably make it by lunchtime so you could buy lunch ingredients in the local Co-op for half this. I don't know whether we got the best deal but B & B cost us 1140 nk, 2 glasses of wine 150 nk and a one course meal 145 nk each. (The standard package was a 3 course meal). The distance from Myrdal station on foot to the hotel is 1.5km. The path from the station is rough and not suitable for wheeled suitcases. We left ours at the station's secure storage and just took an overnight bag for our stay. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here one night as a part of a Norway tour package. The location is pretty much unbeatable. You can open the window and hear a big waterfall instead of cars. Gotta love that. Great staff and food (dinner/breakfast) as well. Hope to be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night whilst travelling round Norway. We walked from Myrdal station rather than getting the train, and although quite hilly, the views more than made up for the legwork

The hotel itself was lovely. The rooms are big and have a sofa and an armchair and a TV. The bathroom was fairly average, but was clean.

The hotel has lots of sitting areas with nice views (especially the small room on the 1st floor)

I walked down and around the lake too which was a really nice way to spend an evening after eating. Lots of nice waterfalls and views

If you are looking for a quiet night away in beautiful surroundings, this place is ideal

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The rooms are adequate with no frills and after biking the Rallervegen trail they provided all that was needed.

The food was very good, albeit there was only a small choice (fish or meat) to choose from. The veg and deserts were fine and the breakfast too was good enough.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone doing the Rallervegen bike ride and with it being 30km from Finse, 21km from Flam it’s ideally located for a mid-point resting place. There is a swimming pool (outdoor) but we were all too tired to use it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell

Address: Vatnahalsen, Myrdal 5718 , Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Myrdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Myrdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you on the lookout for a recreational place in the mountains? Then you are welcome to visit us here at Vatnahalsen Høyfjellshotell, 820 metres above sea level. We are doing our outmost to ensure you will have only the best experiences during your stay here with us. Vatnahalsen is a family owned and run hotel; the Aksnes family have more than 25 years experinece in running the hotel at the top of the Flam Railway. We have created a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Everyone is welcome as they are, no matter if you come in your biking shorts or your best suit, you’re still welcome. Here you can feel as if you’re at home, and we very much hope you do so. You will always be greeted with a smile from the hosts and staff, and they may tell a story or two…Welcome to Vatnahalsen – your mountain retreat – all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell Hotel Myrdal
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell Norway/Myrdal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.