We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia
Ta'Xbiex Seafront, Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21337248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Ta' Xbiex
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel: 21337246 (Malta number)
Msida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I hadn't been to this restaurant in over two years. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the food is still excellent!

Prices are very reasonable whilst portions are abundant. I would suggest making a reservation if you intend to go during the weekend as the place fills up quickly. Although the restaurant is generally fully booked during the weekends, we were still seated within half an hour without a reservation. The staff is very efficient, friendly and accommodating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    97
    28
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
L-Iklin, null, Malta
1 review
“never again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to mamma mia many times with my parents but the last 3 times i went i always had problems with my food. the first time i had an incident, it was when i found a dead green bug in my salad, then a couple of weeks later on i tried again and i was eating a pizza and there was a hair stuck in my cheese, though the last time i went was the worst, it was when i didn't want to go at all but my parents wanted to so we went and i was drinking a cappuccino and i start to taste this chunky thing in my mouth and when i spit it out it was a black dead fly! very disgusting just for me! we complained many times. the food is delicious but you have to make sure your not serving dead things in it. I would suggest trying out other restaurants on the island because there are many more to choose from.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovec it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there 8 out of 9 nights whilst staying in Msida. Good food, attentative staff. We had lots of touristy questions which they were happy to answer. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good heart pasta dishes is what I know this place for. Its portion sizes are very generous. no wonder it is well know and liked on the island, they seem to have it right here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a very good lunch at Mamma Mia. Service was spot on - friendly and prompt and the food was tasty and plentiful at a very good price. Will definitely come back when I'm next in Malta.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
 
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.