We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Executive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Executive Forli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Executive Forli to your Saves list
Hotel Executive Forli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Vittorio Veneto, 3E, 47100 Forli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Forli
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the Executive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed in Forli in order to catch a Ryanair flight. This hotel is at the wrong end of a dying city, across the railroad tracks from an abandoned factory. The worst feature was that there was dried urine around the toilet -- though the rest of the bathroom had been cleaned. The other end of Forli isn't great, but has more restaurants and other hotels.

  • Liked — free computer access
  • Disliked — dity bathroom, location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    112
    61
    19
    8
See reviews for
34
81
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights - a couple with a young child. The hotel is relatively new looking (2003?) and the decor looks modern.

MOLD in BATHROOM!
The bathroom looks very modern, with glass walls instead of tiles and modern fixtures. However, our shower had large amounts of mold in the angles and the corners, evidence of poor cleaning practices. Indeed, a bit of scrubbing would go a long way as it did come off with a fingernail... When the mold was pointed out on departure (we were curious if the cleaners would address it during our stay, without prompting - evidently not), the apparently surprised "maintenance" person feigned surprise. When I pointed out that the cleaning staff are not doing their job by a) cleaning properly and b) informing maintenance, he agreed.

POOR QUALITY FIXTURES
In addition to the mold problem, this "new" hotel suffers from a selection of consumer-grade (at best) fixtures and construction materials. For instance, the cheap quality shower hanger was broken off (which I found out by painfully receiving the shower head on my head; forget about maintenance or cleaning staff addressing it), the mattress is very soft in a cheap way, paint is already peeling off a door jamb.

BAD MANAGEMENT
Front reception is a disgrace. Upon arrival, I was asked to sign an illegible form. Upon asking what I was signing, I was told it was "privacy", which I found out means an information release form. I declined and they eventually found a legible version, which I signed. And they are clued out about their hotel: I asked for a trolley to carry my bags upstairs (forget about a bellhop), I was told there was none... but ten minutes later I found one, about 3 metres (10 ft) from the reception... but (you guessed it) there was no air in its tires!

Breakfast at "rush hour" - 9 AM - was a disaster. With an onslaught of people and no system in place to manage them, there were no plates, no cutlery, no coffee, missing food - a complete shambles that was actually comical and came right out of Fawlty Towers.

The front receptionist on the mornings of June 26 and 27 was one of the least friendly persons in the profession - and I have travelled the world. Her rudeness and curtness when asked basic questions such as directions or suggestions reflects management's poor hiring abilities (the reception staff, in addition to the mantenance man described above, the useless cleaning staff and the incompetent breakfast personnel - who is left??).

NO COMPLAINING POSSIBLE
When I asked the aforementioned receptionist on a Thursday after 9 AM to speak to the manager about all of these problems, I was rudely informed that no such person was in the hotel that day. What a frightening prospect - the hotel is being run by a bunch of incompetents and there is nobody to oversee them! Somebody help us.

IN ITALY, HOTELS BUY THEIR STARS
I swear this must be true - nowhere in the world have I seen such a complete disconnect between star ratings and the quality of the establishment. This hotel is apparently a 4 star! Forget it, not a hope. 2 stars are appropriate - NO MORE. To compare, I was at the Hotel Mercure on Promenade des Anglais in Nice the night before, which is rated a 3 Star and it was far better than this Executive disaster. A day later, I was in the Sofitel Zurich, rated a 4 star, and... well it is an insult to the hotel industry to try to compare.

For those who object to my comment about hotels buying stars, I would be happy to point our 3 and 4 star hotels in Italy and then do the same for hotels in the rest of Europe or North America in their 3 or 4 star hotels...

REDEEMING FEATURES
One of the hotel's evening receptionists recommended a restaurant nearby, Osteria dei Lovi and it was excellent (even though she got the simple directions all wrong, we found it). Highly recommend it. We had the tagliatta with ruccola, some of the pastas... it was great and a decent price. And the gelateria approximately across the boulevard from the hotel was great - organic and/or lactose/gluten free ice creams and sorbettos. Absolutely excellent gelatos. In fact, you eat well everywhere in this part of Italy.

The beach at Milano Marittima was fantastic. Clean, nice sand. A wonderful stay that is unchanged from 30 years ago when I used to vacation there as a child.

The people of Emiglia Romagna are incredible - kind, gracious and they enjoy life. The only exceptions are employed by the Hotel Executive in Forli, so stay away and you will be fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poorly managed, Bad value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

This hotel has just changed its name to "Executive" and the taxi driver didn't recognise it, until we showed him the email address which was Ramada Encore. It is on the edge of the town, in a business district between the railway and a busy road. The welcome was good, the rooms modern and spotless, with excellent bathroom and comfy beds. Coffee in the room, plus a bottle of water. Very nice. Good breakfast with a fab orange juicing machine to sqeeze your own juice to order! Despite the location there was no problem with noise. It was easy to walk into town, reception gave us a map. Forli is not over endowed with attractions, but we had a good pizza supper, about 10 mins walk from the hotel, and bought some picnic supplies in the handy Lidel supermarket. Fine for an overnight stop before an early flight from the local airport ( 10 mins by taxi, 13 euros)

  • Liked — Convenient for airport, good value fop
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

This Hotel was an excellent choice. We flew in an out of Forli airport on Mr Ryan's airline. He euphemistically describes it as Bologna (Forli) but it is an hour's journey by road from one to the other.
The Ramada Encore is bang up to date design-wise and my wife really wanted to take the bathroom home - all glass and chrome.
The room was as requested quiet, although the Hotel is bounded by a main road on one side and the railway line on the other.
It is about 15 minutes stroll from the centre of the town which is not as dull as some reviewers claim. It has a pleasant square, an art gallery, 3 good churches, and some Fascist architecture (Mussolini was born nearby). We also found a decent restaurant within 5-10 minutes walk on a Monday night when many were closed.
The breakfast was very good with a wide choice. I fell for the sexy transparent orange-squeezing machine: you tossed in whole oranges which were gutted before your eyes to produce real juice.
The staff were uniformly pleasant and obliging - printing off train timetables for example.
The airport was a 10 Euro taxi ride away, ie under ten minutes.
The train station was only 5 minutes journey, and there are frequent services from it to the north and south.
The price was only 79 Euros for a double room including breakfast, which was a bargain. We liked it so much we stayed at the beginning and end of our short stay in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

Excellent location if you are going to see the San Marino Formula 1 Grand Prix: relative easy drive from hotel to track: 30 minutes if you go for the Fri/Sat events but it did take us 2 hours after the race on Sunday to get back to the hotel as the roads were very busy!

Forli itself is awful: theres hardly any resturants: it takes a lot of searching to find a restaurant! Theres nothing to do in the town in the evening: probably just as well cos we were up at 6am each day to go to the track. Forli airport is close by and is incredibly busy: book your hire car in advance is useful but it still took 30 minutes to get served at the desk.

Hotel itself was clean and modern although hardly slept the first night as our room faced the train track which is a MAJOR commerical trcak and trains ran througout the entire night! Other customers of the hotel were also going to the Grand Prix and I must thank the hotel on having the sense to amend breakfast times on the Sunday of the actual race to extremely early so we could eat and go to the track asap!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed for just one night for an early flight on the next day. New hotel, in the centre of a non-descipt, modern built town with no sights to see.

Excellent facilities, comfortable beds, decent shower rooom and room size, english speaking staff. If you have time try to visit the nearby villages or if you have half a day San Marino is a MUST! Only 73 km away it is a gem and was a highlight of our 10 day extensive tour.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Executive Forli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Executive Forli

Address: Viale Vittorio Veneto, 3E, 47100 Forli, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Forli-Cesena > Forli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Forli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Executive Forli 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Executive Forli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Executive Forli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.