We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for overnight stop to / from Calais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin Aux Draps

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Moulin Aux Draps to your Saves list
Le Moulin Aux Draps
Route De Cremarest, FR-62240 Desvres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect for overnight stop to / from Calais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Nice hotel in lovely surroundings . Friendly staff and more than adequate rooms .

Evening meal was a delight - recommended to book in advance - and breakfast also good including scrambled eggs/ bacon if required .

Free parking with security cameras .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Beware if you have any problems during your stay: the aggressive (woman) owner/manager of the hotel obviously has very little skills in dealing with customers.

We had an issue with the housekeeping during our 5-day stay: One day they entered our room at 8:45 in the morning without knocking; the second day our room wasn't made up at all. We complained that evening and of course expected an apology and an assurance that it won't happen again.

Instead, we were treated quite aggressively by the female manager/owner of the hotel, who accused us of lying about the first incident, and of not respecting the "clearly posted rules" on housekeeping: according to her, keys have to be at the reception at 11am sharp or the room will not be made up that day. Of course the only thing posted is that check-in is at 3pm and check-out is at 11am, which would lead you to conclude that housekeeping takes place between 11 and 3. On the day when our room was not made up we had left the hotel for the day at around 11:15am. She gave us one(!!) large towel and 2 small towels and said there is nothing more she can do. We were quite shocked by her behaviour, which was definitely not appropriate for a 3-star Best Western hotel.

Therefore: avoid this hotel at all costs, especially for stays of more than one night.

Rooms are nicely decorated, although they're on the small side and you can hear a lot from your neighbours. The soft mattress has an uncomfortable rubber protective cover.

All of this is a pity because the hotel itself is quite nice, with a quiet and charming countryside location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRARD C, Manager at Le Moulin Aux Draps, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are terribly sorry to know that your stay was not a succes. In fact, we didn't find a certain agreement. However, understand that we are a small hotel and that the room staff is present only in the morning, what leaves not enough time to make all the rooms if there is a late departure. We made that for you, to gave you the service you request and to assure the cleanliness of your room.
So concerning the matress pad , its an element present to assure the hygiene in all the hotels, not just in our Hôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desvres hotels

Parcay Les Pins
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

A friendly welcome and attention to the little details which make a stop worthwhile. The restaurant was pleasant with a good selection of dishes for our evening meal. Set in pleasant surroundings, even on a grey February day, a relaxing environment after a long day's travelling. Well placed for the Channel Ports away from busy establishments and noise. A good night's sleep. Safe parking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Looked for a hotel near the Tunnel prior to returning to UK and were delighted with La Ferme. The room wasn't particularly large but it was clean and comfortable. The minibar was stocked and not over priced and the food in the restaurant was suprisingly good. One minor cavil - tiny towels in the bathroom. OK the recession bites but nothing is worse than economies like that, and it's becoming more common all over France.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Heading across the Channel this hotel is well placed for Calais. Although it took a bit of finding, the hotel is well located and the setting restful and scenic. Check-in was swift and efficient, with my heavy bag being taken to my first floor room for me without me needing to ask, as the hotel doesn't have a lift. The first floor is built into the eaves, as was my room, so you need to take care not to bang your head on the sloping ceilings. This also makes the rooms cosy, but quite hot, which might be a problem in warmer weather. The bathroom was of a high standard, smart and sleek, although the room itself was decorated in more 'country' style. Breakfast was simple and buffet style, with some cooked items available such as sausages and scrambled eggs, something that is not often on offer in France. The owners and staff were helpful and attentive, though not much English is spoken. Overall a really pleasant stay and good value for money, so I'll be returning again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Hotel is clean and tidy, ideal for an overnight before moving south or returning to the UK. Reception was helpful and polite, book in advance for Dinner. Breakfast is a bit expensive!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Ridiculous prices for fake 'charme'. Comfortable, in a beautiful setting, but that's all there is to recommend it. Food in the restaurant was good, but expensive for what it was. The cheaper formula was not available, though according to the menu it should have been.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRARD C, Manager at Le Moulin Aux Draps, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are sorry about your desapointement about the restaurant.
In fact the brasserie formula is available from the monday to the friday (at lunch). It's written on the card inside and outside the hotel and the restaurant.

We hope to welcoming you again,

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin Aux Draps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Aux Draps

Address: Route De Cremarest, FR-62240 Desvres, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Desvres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best western La ferme du Moulin aux draps owes its name to the water mill situated on the river Lène, a branch of the Liane which spills into the sea at Boulogne. The neighbouring fields "Près du Comte" where the horses pasture, from a vast clearing in Desvres'forest.The 20 very confortable rooms with full en suite facilities including telephone, plasma TV and mini bar are a delight. The hotel offers 4 triple communicating rooms to customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Moulin Aux Draps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desvres
Desvres Best Western
Best Western Hotel Desvres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin Aux Draps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.