We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine du Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine du Mirage to your Saves list
Le Domaine du Mirage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Rue De La Vue Des Iles, 83230 Bormes-Les-Mimosas, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great hotel for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Le Domaine. Small hotel in Provencal style. Pleasant rooms with sea view from balcony. Lovely dining on terrace in the evening. Great spot and Bormes le Pin and Bormes Village are wonderful. Great shops for local food and very calm -especially compared to Cannes/Nice. Toulon nearby but traffic very busy-nearly 2 hours at rush hour.

Le Lavandou beach and sea front nearby.

We ll holiday here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    10
    12
    2
See reviews for
11
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Domaine du Mirage was our last stop in a 4-day trip to South of France. We picked it as a contrast to the hotels we stayed on the coastal line from Marseille to Cannes (this one was nearby a gorgeous medieval town up in the hills called Bormes les Mimosas). The staff were extremely warm and helpful -except for the misleading tip we received that we could hike out down the hills to the nearest coastal town Lavandou in 15-20 minutes. As soon as we started the hike on a bushy trail we realised that it would take way longer than suggested, not to mention our return would take almost an hour as the hike-in route was very steep. So we went to Bormes les Mimosas and Lavandou by car, the best thing to do if we wanted to visit both in one afternoon.

We would definitely recommend people to book a room with valley view since the best feature of the hotel is having a fascinating view. The room was OK. The shower had a design fault which resulted in watering the whole bathroom no matter how carefully one takes a shower, which was quite annoying. We didn't have a breakfast as we thought we would better enjoying a local cafe for our last breakfast in the region (for which we went to a cafe with beautiful valley views in Bormes - what a fatal mistake!!) so we cant judge the quality of the breakfast...but in the overall it is a decent hotel with a wonderful location - a nice example of "chique en provence"....

Room Tip: Try to get a room with full valley view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We returned to the hotel this summer because the rate is good and is in an excellent location. 2 min drive, you will be in the lovely hilly town of Bormes de Mimosas with free parking spaces. There are lovely restuarants and shops there. The restuarant which is like a toy shop is the best. The husband and wife team serve excellent food. The other restuarant worth mentioning is the one which is like a cave. As the other member said, the setting is romantic but the food is so-so.

If you drive towards Toulon, within 20 min you can find 3 beautiful small nature beaches. Although you have to pay 8 Euro in parking fee, it is worth paying. One is in Cabasson. If you drive in the opposite direction towards San Tropez, you can find other beautiful beaches and one of them is for nudist.

Our room is small but right for the price. Our room was clean but the benches and barristers of our terrace was mouldy and dirty. Although we complained, the cleaning lady just wiped them superifically and still were very dirty. However, she did give us 2 big towels to cover them! The sitting area in the open terrace of the hotel is beautiful with palm trees with nice view, nevertheless, the staff did not bother to clean the tables and sometimes they put away the cushions very early in the evening in order to put off guests using them. Apart from the male receptionist who speaks good English, the other do not seem to understand much. The breakfast is definitely not worth having. Coffees have been sitting there for hours and there is a very limited choice. It is ashamed because it is a very nice place to have breakfast.

We both love the location and the hotel, it is ashamed that the management does not care and let it go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Have just returned from 12 days staying in a fab hotel in Bormes-Les-Mimosas, called Le Domaine du Mirage. Three stars means that it's not all-singing, all-dancing, but the staff are lovely, the rooms really nice (all with balconies overlooking the Med), excellent food, good, clean swimming pool, and in particular, it is only about 10 minutes drive from the beach at Le Lavandou, which must be one of the best in the whole of the Cote d'Azur. It is spotlessly clean, soft sand, no stones, rocks or seaweed, shade can be obtained under the palm trees. Beach slopes gently down to the Mediterranean, and you have to walk out about 20metres before it is deep enough to swim. When we go, in September, there are no crowds, although the town itself is still gently bustling. Daily temperatures of about 26-27 degrees, gentle southerly breeze, cooling to about 21 degrees at night - perfectly fine for eating outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed in this lovely 70 bedroom hotel on a hill for 5 nights from 16 June 2006. The hotel is beautiful and staff very friendly and helpful. There are 2 adult swimming pools of good size and set in peaceful, romantic environment. The garden is beautiful and romantic with a lot of palm trees. The rooms are of good size, tastefully refurished and with a lot of storage space and with a balcony. Looking down from the balcony, you can see part of Le Lavandor which is a bit built up but you can also see the sea and there is no buildings in front of the hotel as it is on a hill.

There are also some very beautiful beaches and the famous Ile de Port-Cros and Ile de Porquerolles nearby.

7 minutes up the road is the pretty village Bromes with lots of lovely shops and resturants. We went to a "recommended by guide" restuarant in the side street and looks like a cave. It was expensive and the food is so-so. The following night we went to a lovely resturant on the main road (also "recommended") with soft toy decorations and back part of the resturant is a toy shop. The price is the same as the one we went to before but the food is superb and the service was very good as the resturant is run by husband and wife team. We end up going to the same resturant for the next 3 nights.

I could highly recommend the hotel. We stay in Room 144 which is on 1st floor and is quiet as it is on the side. Some rooms which are located above the hotel front might be a bit noisy. Just ask for a seaview quiet room if you want one.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine du Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine du Mirage

Address: 38 Rue De La Vue Des Iles, 83230 Bormes-Les-Mimosas, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Bormes-Les-Mimosas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Bormes-Les-Mimosas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Domaine du Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Le Domaine du Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bormes-Les-Mimosas
Bormes-Les-Mimosas Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine du Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.