We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Save Saved
You added Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Muonamiehenkatu 3, Heinola 18100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heinola
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the location. It is on the edge of a lake with superb views of the water and a large bridge in the distance. The outlook from the breakfast room/ restaurant is beautiful. We stayed here a couple of years ago and noticed that the area near the reception has been renovated recently. There was a problem with our reservation on arrival but this was quickly resolved. We were given a very nice room with a balcony and a great view of the lake. It had a double bed and seemed to have been renovated recently with a modern bathroom. It may have been a deluxe room even though we paid for a standard room.The breakfast was acceptable with a small range of hot and cold food. We did not use the restaurant as we had a car and travelled to the centre of the town for a meal. The rooms facing the car park would not have been as enjoyable.
We had a very enjoyable stay here and would most certainly come again provided we could get a room with a lake view. We did not use the spa section of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sorry to say, but the new spa area and the old hotel are from two different worlds! The spa was nice and stylish, but staying in the hotel ruined the experience. It almost seemed like these two facilites would be owned and run by two different owners. The hotel seems more like a motel, even though the price was as high as in a luxury spa hotel.
We stayed one night in late January, and it was certainly low season and most of the hotel was empty. Still, we were given a worst room ever with very ugly view over the parking lot. So, unless you pay for superior, don't expect a lake-side room.
The room had very old and worn-out decor and it was in fact very dirty. The bathroom was worst with plastic floors in 70s colours and dark mold in the shower. The minibar was removed (there was supposed to be a vending machine for cold drinks in the hall, but it was, surprise, surprise broken. Two soft drinks from the bar cost almost 10 euros), the chair had visible stains and the remote control was greasy. The hotel book has ads on pre-Christmas parties in late January and some information in the book was dated.
The service in the hotel reminded me of a hotel school. Once we entered the spa we found out that you needed coins for the lockers, so we had to return to the room to get that. The spa was nice, but minor details spoiled it a bit, like the fact that hot and cold walking pools were neither hot nor cold but kind of luke warm.
A friend had adviced us not to dine in the hotel. Well, we did, as walking several kms into the town during a snow storm did not appeal.A big mistake. I'm not particularly picky, but the food was worse than in a gas station cafeteria. I ordered Devil's chicken with risotto and got obviously frozen food warmed in a microwave. "The devil's chicen" (19 euros) was plain chicken with industrially made sweet chili souce. The "risotto" was actually just risella - plain boiled rice, not other incredients added. We complained to the waiter, but she explained that the "chef" had answered that the risotto was made "according to the instructions". First, I serioudly doubt that there was a chef, secondly, I'm sure the rice was boiled according to the instructions in the box. This, however, does not make it a risotto. I was surprised that we were not given any refund or even free cup of coffee. I just checked the menu and noticed that they have luckily changed the menu to include "vegetable rice" instead of risotto.
The best was yet to come. We returned to our room and were ready to go to sleep. Unfortunately my husband touched the light switch and almost got an electric shock. All the electricity and lights in the room (and in fact the entire wing) were out. The reception gave us another room next door, but changing rooms and collecting our things in dark at 1 am in the night did not exactly meet my expectations of a hotel room that we paid 130 euros in a small town out of season. We would have assumed a better room and a refund for this, but the new room was as bad as the original. The mold issue was also evident and no wonder there was problems with electricity - the lamp in the new room was wierdly fixed with a regular tape. Not very safe. We got a refund of 9 euros when cheking out, but it was still clearly overpriced for what it was.
Just a hint: for the same price you pay for Kumpeli hotel standard (more like economy) room, you will get a luxury hotel in Helsinki or a room in a proper spa hotel like Långvik in Kirkkonummi. Can't believe such a hotel is still up and running. A majority of spa guest seemed to be day-visitors, a wise and recommended strategy. Go for the spa if you are in town, but stay somewhere else, such as Scandic Vierumäki. Dine in Kettu and Kana in Heinola town centre and forget the restaurant in Kumpeli.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visiting Heinola two days on business, I needed a quiet place to sleep. Also, after a long day it would be nice to relax. So I stayed one night in spa hotel Kumpeli. The room was clean and quiet, and there was a beautiful lake view. The spa was a nice surprice: small but pleasant. Different types of saunas and jacuzzis, I really was able to relax. Breakfast was excellent and staff was polite. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We attended a wedding in Heinola, stayed 2 nights. I have to be truthful and say we did not experience any problems. The spa was superb and looking out at the snow while in the Jacuzzi was great. A wide variety of foods available for breakfast. hot oats, cinnamon and sugar with cream, just great. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel so cannot comment on meals.

The only suggestion would be to have complimentary tea and coffee either in the rooms or at reception.
All in all a good stay.
Beware, taxis are very expensive!!!

Room Tip: Lake view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We have travelled to Finland since 1984 staying in Sokos Hotels plus the Holiday Inn at Vantaa airport all to a very high standard, after watching the video about the Kumpeli on it's website we booked to stay there while staying in the Heinola area, on arriving at the hotel we were less than impressed at the state of the car park and exterior of the hotel room windows were open with curtains hanging out, they looke dirty, on entering the reception area where we found it poorly lit with a musty smell and a badly stained carpet, it was a Sunday evening and the clientel appeared to consist of drunken Finns, without even making contact with the staff we made a hastey withdrawal (thank goodness we were not asked to give a deposit when booking on the internet, perhaps that should have given us a clue!) to the car leaving us to find a hotel late on a Sunday evening in an area of Finland that we were not familiar with, luckily the Sokos hotel in Lahti had a clean comfortable room available. The following day we travelled east to Lappeenranta were we booked in to the Sokos Hotel Lappee, having stayed there in the past we had no problems. I feel that the Kumpeli website gave us and I'm sure others a false impression of the hotel and I and my wife would not recommend this hotel to anyone, what it needs is a change of ownership as it is a long way from reaching its full potentiol in a beautiful area.
I wish to state we have no connectio with Sokos Hotels but hwe have always found them to be an exceptional standard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Oh man, where to begin. stayed there for 4 nights, not by choice. This hotel is absolutly stunning grounds, lakes, walkways etc. it is extremely close to the town of heinola, and very close to a 'kind of ' water park. Excellant for swimming, surrounded by fantastic lakes, and you can direcctly walk out through reception and dive into the lake. BUT wow, this hotel is so old, dangerous and definatly not for familys. Seriously Expensive, for a 2 star. It would barely pass as a hostel in ireland. No baths, just showers, which were not very clean. After a day of walking around, coming back to the hotel, and standing then for another 10 mins in a shower was not very nice. Weather was unbeliveably hot, and there was no air conditioning, so reception provided us with a fan..... (great)... Twin beds, for couples. All they have are twin beds, even in the HONEYMOON/BRIDAL (so-called suite). I really wouldnt stay here, it was really really bad, service was crap. Everything is closed on a Sunday, the restaurant, the spa, the swimming pool, everything in the hotel is closed... And it also costs €20 a pop to use anything... Altogether, Really really really good surroundings, but stay in a different hotel... not recommened.... And when booking, we were told Yes of course there is Air Conditioning........ and of course, there is not. Also, its usually €120 per night, for a twin room, FOR A 2 STAR........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

the older members of staff were not helpful or accomodating, they squashed five beds into a double room for myself, husband and three children. No air conditioning, no fans, no bottles of still water, no towels left in the room, ants in the ground floor rooms.
The bar was overpriced, the restuarant was closed on sunday, the pool was 20euro per person to use each time. The old play ground was very dangerous, everything in it was rotting. Some of the balconeys were very unsafe for children, large gaps between the bars. My family of 20 people were there for 4 nights as my brother was getting married in heinola, we would all have nothing good to say about the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Address: Muonamiehenkatu 3, Heinola 18100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Heinola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heinola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.