We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Save Saved
You added Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Muonamiehenkatu 3, Heinola 18100, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heinola
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice small spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visiting Heinola two days on business, I needed a quiet place to sleep. Also, after a long day it would be nice to relax. So I stayed one night in spa hotel Kumpeli. The room was clean and quiet, and there was a beautiful lake view. The spa was a nice surprice: small but pleasant. Different types of saunas and jacuzzis, I really was able to relax. Breakfast was excellent and staff was polite. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We attended a wedding in Heinola, stayed 2 nights. I have to be truthful and say we did not experience any problems. The spa was superb and looking out at the snow while in the Jacuzzi was great. A wide variety of foods available for breakfast. hot oats, cinnamon and sugar with cream, just great. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel so cannot comment on meals.

The only suggestion would be to have complimentary tea and coffee either in the rooms or at reception.
All in all a good stay.
Beware, taxis are very expensive!!!

Room Tip: Lake view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We have travelled to Finland since 1984 staying in Sokos Hotels plus the Holiday Inn at Vantaa airport all to a very high standard, after watching the video about the Kumpeli on it's website we booked to stay there while staying in the Heinola area, on arriving at the hotel we were less than impressed at the state of the car park and exterior of the hotel room windows were open with curtains hanging out, they looke dirty, on entering the reception area where we found it poorly lit with a musty smell and a badly stained carpet, it was a Sunday evening and the clientel appeared to consist of drunken Finns, without even making contact with the staff we made a hastey withdrawal (thank goodness we were not asked to give a deposit when booking on the internet, perhaps that should have given us a clue!) to the car leaving us to find a hotel late on a Sunday evening in an area of Finland that we were not familiar with, luckily the Sokos hotel in Lahti had a clean comfortable room available. The following day we travelled east to Lappeenranta were we booked in to the Sokos Hotel Lappee, having stayed there in the past we had no problems. I feel that the Kumpeli website gave us and I'm sure others a false impression of the hotel and I and my wife would not recommend this hotel to anyone, what it needs is a change of ownership as it is a long way from reaching its full potentiol in a beautiful area.
I wish to state we have no connectio with Sokos Hotels but hwe have always found them to be an exceptional standard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heinola hotels

Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Oh man, where to begin. stayed there for 4 nights, not by choice. This hotel is absolutly stunning grounds, lakes, walkways etc. it is extremely close to the town of heinola, and very close to a 'kind of ' water park. Excellant for swimming, surrounded by fantastic lakes, and you can direcctly walk out through reception and dive into the lake. BUT wow, this hotel is so old, dangerous and definatly not for familys. Seriously Expensive, for a 2 star. It would barely pass as a hostel in ireland. No baths, just showers, which were not very clean. After a day of walking around, coming back to the hotel, and standing then for another 10 mins in a shower was not very nice. Weather was unbeliveably hot, and there was no air conditioning, so reception provided us with a fan..... (great)... Twin beds, for couples. All they have are twin beds, even in the HONEYMOON/BRIDAL (so-called suite). I really wouldnt stay here, it was really really bad, service was crap. Everything is closed on a Sunday, the restaurant, the spa, the swimming pool, everything in the hotel is closed... And it also costs €20 a pop to use anything... Altogether, Really really really good surroundings, but stay in a different hotel... not recommened.... And when booking, we were told Yes of course there is Air Conditioning........ and of course, there is not. Also, its usually €120 per night, for a twin room, FOR A 2 STAR........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

the older members of staff were not helpful or accomodating, they squashed five beds into a double room for myself, husband and three children. No air conditioning, no fans, no bottles of still water, no towels left in the room, ants in the ground floor rooms.
The bar was overpriced, the restuarant was closed on sunday, the pool was 20euro per person to use each time. The old play ground was very dangerous, everything in it was rotting. Some of the balconeys were very unsafe for children, large gaps between the bars. My family of 20 people were there for 4 nights as my brother was getting married in heinola, we would all have nothing good to say about the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Address: Muonamiehenkatu 3, Heinola 18100, Finland
Location: Finland > Western Finland > Heinola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heinola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.