We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling welcomed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gammel Havn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gammel Havn to your Saves list
Hotel Gammel Havn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gothersgade 40, Fredericia 7000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Gammel Havn / Fredericia Somandshjem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fredericia
Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Feeling welcomed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our rating is because of the relaxed home feeling - no luxury at all, no stylish hotel chain concept interior or service. Just simple "welcome to us" ambience. The couple running the hotel is living in the hotel building. The breakfast was simple but fresh. You have access to coffee and danish pastry all day (and night). The room was really big and maybe the best fitted family room ever had! Though the room or bathroom not seemed to be renovated for a while, it did not feel run down. It was well maintained. The bed mattress could need to be changed, but I slept well all night. The location is excellence, in the quite harbor end of the main shopping street. The room overlooked the neighbors gardens and in the front of the hotel you have the small harbor.

Many people will think Fredericia is a quite boring town, but we recommend walking on the moats, with the funny looking climbing challenges spread out, go to beach or visit the little area with small buildings from different religions. Outside the town centre (appr. 1 km) you have the most fantastic play ground " Madsby Play Park" with animals, small rowboats, bikes, pedal cars, great areas for picnic and more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

They spoke good English at reception. The room was comfortable but small. A bit hot when we went in the summer. The wifi worked. Reasonable rates for Denmark.

The pizza restaurant on the square outside the hotel was a complete rip-off. My prawns were still partly forzen. The service was lousy and they charged £3 for a jug of tap water. Thus was a hidden cost and really irritated me. Yes to Hotel Gammel Havn. No to Else Pizza

Room Tip: Don't eat at the pizza place over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling through Denmark on our way to the Bergen ferry so were only here for one night. I had not noticed the bit about contacting the hotel if you were arriving after 6pm until reviewing the directions on the train 6:15. Fortunately a phone call solved all, clearly it is run with minimal staff, but they were able to recommend a local restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A good location close to the haven; Nice friedly staff; Very clean and tidy room at competative price; Good breakfast served in the early morning; I recommend this hotel for a stay easy to get around the city and other places. I was going to the Danish army camp and staff gave me exact details and directions;

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

There are a lot of good report on Tripadvisor about this hotel and it is no surprise. The location is first class and the staff are friendly and rooms clean and tidy. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone who wanted a no frills hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for one night - friendly staff, clean pleasant rooms and a lovely breakfast made for a great stay.
Free internet access provided.
Free coffee provided int he downstairs area.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night spontaneously. We arrived late in the evening and arranged for the stay via phone. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very friendly, our room was clean and quite large. Restaurants and stores are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gammel Havn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gammel Havn

Address: Gothersgade 40, Fredericia 7000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Gammel Havn / Fredericia Somandshjem)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Fredericia Municipality > Fredericia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fredericia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gammel Havn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gammel Havn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gammel Havn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.