We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gammel Havn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gammel Havn to your Saves list
Hotel Gammel Havn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gothersgade 40, Fredericia 7000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Gammel Havn / Fredericia Somandshjem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fredericia
Essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling through Denmark on our way to the Bergen ferry so were only here for one night. I had not noticed the bit about contacting the hotel if you were arriving after 6pm until reviewing the directions on the train 6:15. Fortunately a phone call solved all, clearly it is run with minimal staff, but they were able to recommend a local restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Surin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A good location close to the haven; Nice friedly staff; Very clean and tidy room at competative price; Good breakfast served in the early morning; I recommend this hotel for a stay easy to get around the city and other places. I was going to the Danish army camp and staff gave me exact details and directions;

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

There are a lot of good report on Tripadvisor about this hotel and it is no surprise. The location is first class and the staff are friendly and rooms clean and tidy. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone who wanted a no frills hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for one night - friendly staff, clean pleasant rooms and a lovely breakfast made for a great stay.
Free internet access provided.
Free coffee provided int he downstairs area.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night spontaneously. We arrived late in the evening and arranged for the stay via phone. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and very friendly, our room was clean and quite large. Restaurants and stores are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for four nights for business in August 2013.

Location is great - right Down to the small Yacht harbour and right in the middle of the centre of Fredericia (which is much more charming than I thought). Plenty of restaurants and shopping possibilities few minutes of walk away.

Rooms are 80's style, but comfortable and reasonable of size.

The Hotel will serve a basic breakfast, and there's no evening restaurant.

Staff are very helpful. Note - the reception have limited opening hours, which means that you must enter a pin code to get in if you arrive after 18.00.

The problems I encountered was that my Eiderdown smelt of sweat/smoke (although it's a completely non-smoking place), it contained a lot of allergens, and that the sink in the bathroom is equiped with an annoying hands-on/hands-off water falset.

The Hotel is an old seamens home which means they have a Christian interior theme.

Alcohol is banned on the premises, but it doesn't seem to be enforced at all as long as you mind your own business.

Altogether I would go here again - it's good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are reasonable of size, and are all different. There are no "bad" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and stayed at this hotel in July 2013. The room was quite large , very clean and more than adequate for a couple with a large bed and twin duvets. As previous posters say the breakfast was good with fresh produce.
The receptionist was very helpful even before we booked in as on the previous day to our stay I called in to ask if I could park in the hotel car park early in the morning (10.30 am) of our arrival because the town would be busy because of the Landsoldaten parade. No problem. She also recommended the adjacent Farmor Kokkencafe/restaurant for an authentic meal. The meal was excellent.

Room Tip: I think there is only one room with a balcony. We got it because we booked early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gammel Havn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gammel Havn

Address: Gothersgade 40, Fredericia 7000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Gammel Havn / Fredericia Somandshjem)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Fredericia Municipality > Fredericia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fredericia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gammel Havn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gammel Havn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gammel Havn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.