We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Danish, with great views.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ebeltoft Strand

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ebeltoft Strand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ebeltoft Strand
Nordre Strandvej 3, Ebeltoft 8400, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Ebeltoft
Mappleborough Green
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Danish, with great views.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed three nights here and we never got used to sleeping in a cupboard. The rooms had fabulous sea views but the beds were the type that fold up into a frame on the wall (how weird). The pool was great but the hotel decor, all painted brick and exposed services is a bit basic for our taste. The breakfast was very good and the hotel is exceptionally quiet

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We really enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel. After the hussle and bussle of central Copenhagen, this place was idyllic. The building is low-rise spread over a huge area, which means all of the rooms face the sea, all have a terrace, and the ground floor rooms open directly onto a huge grassy garden which leads down to the shore (though not a beach- more a stoney sea wall with a jetty). With our two year old son this was ideal as we could just open up the terrace doors and watch him run! The rooms are large and colourful (pink in fact!) and ours had a large sofa bed perfect for our son. I think they also have apartments, but our standard room was more than adequate for our short stay.

There are swings and a sandpit in the garden for the kids, and also a childrens room with video games, books and crayons, and a decent indoor pool and sauna. A short walk along the coastal path brings you to a visitor centre with a restored 19th century ship, complete with cannons. There seemed to be lots to do in the area, particularly with children, though we didn´t really have time to explore properly.

The food and wine in the restaurant was good but pricey (and no prices on the menu), and everything at breakfast seemed fresh with a good choice. Across the road is a large supermarket with take away food etc.

The staff here were all very friendly and helpful, always smiling, and very kind to our small son. All in all we had a very relaxing visit, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

One of the best attributes of this hotel is its excellent location and good views: all rooms face the sea! The hotel is very open and exposed and does not have gardens or grounds which is a shame. The rooms are fine: somewhat dated but the beds are very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room in the main hotel, and not in the Hotel Hvide Hus as we booked. The breakfast was good quality traditional danish foods. I would recommend this hotel as a short break destination:ideal for one or maybe two nights. There are very few British in the hotel or the resort, and the main visitors tended to be young families or older couples.

  • Liked — veiws
  • Disliked — rooms were dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Attractive 1970's, almost retro-design hotel situated directly at the water's edge with a fantastic view across the bay. As this view is west-facing, it means you get glorious sunsets from the panorama window in your room or from the restaurant. Hotel is clean and friendly - functional but good value for money. For visitors from UK, the hotel is only 10 mins. from Aarhus Airport which has 2 Ryanair flights a day from Stansted.

Usual enormous Danish breakfast-buffet. Take your time and enjoy your breakfast whilst watching the fishing boats putting out their nets in the bay.

Ebeltoft itself is an old-world little town with beautiful 17th century houses on cobbled streets. A couple of nice restaurants serving well-priced meals and cold Danish beer. Great beaches for kite-surfing (at Ahl - 5 mins from the town centre) and beautiful countryside. Rent a bike and explore.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2003

After 3 days at The Legoland Hotel in Billund the family moved north to stay near a beach. Our 3 days at the Ebeltoft Strand hotel were near idyllic. The rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was leisurely and served in a beautiful dining room with original artworks and ornaments available to buy. The hotel's indoor swimming pool is clean and safe but parents should supervise their own children. Ebeltoft is a pretty town and the beaches nearby at Ahl are clean and safe. Just across the road from the hotel there is a Foetex supermarket where we stocked up on lovely picnic food for lunch at very low prices. Djurs Sommerland, about 1 hour's drive is worth a visit as is the Kattegat Centre at Grenaa. A good hotel with kind an attentive English speaking staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ebeltoft Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ebeltoft Strand

Address: Nordre Strandvej 3, Ebeltoft 8400, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Southdjurs Municipality > Ebeltoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Ebeltoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ebeltoft Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ebeltoft
Ebeltoft Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ebeltoft Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.