We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir de Lebioles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manoir de Lebioles to your Saves list
Manoir de Lebioles
Domaine de Lebioles 1 / 5, Spa B-4900, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Spa
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The rooms are great (get a suite: since you're spending the money anyway, you may as well); the scenery is beautiful; the spa is large and very good quality; and the food and wine, which are definitely the highlight of the whole place, are superb. The service is very attentive, but not intrusive.

Really perfect for a relaxing, get-away-from-it weekend. It is expensive, and bear in mind that you will end up spending quite a bit on food and drink as well, but it's a great place to get away from the city and get some country air.

The only slight criticism is the lack of much outdoor facilities. Many spa hotels in Belgium have outdoor pools or spa areas, whereas this does not. On a lovely sunny day here, you can sit on the terrace or the lounge area (which are both outdoors, and great) but you can't have a swim.

Strongly recommended though. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
75
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montagu, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

To escape to an escape in Belgium where you do not hear traffic, airplanes (OK, once I heard a very teeny airplane, but it was very teeny), trains etc is a miracle in itself. To escape to a castle, a place of magic discretion, charming loveliness, a bedroom you find difficult to leave, a bath with view over the forests that makes you swear this is a scene in a movie, a restaurant with an exceptional wine list and menu and service to match, a spa that is roomy and private, a talented massage therapist... well, the miracle simply compounded, glamourously exploded, and I was definitely a princess for a night. (The prince scored immense points.) What a magical place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Castellane, which is not one of the most expensive, and it was absolutely perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times - with friends, with my fiancee, also once with family. First for the downsides: the hotel is a bit quiet during the week and the most beautiful rooms are really a bit expensive.
Now for the positives: EVERYTHING ELSE. Really. I mean, have you tried the food? And did you not run straight to the kitchen and start worship the talents of Mr. Olivier Tucki? No? You barbaric oaf, go apologize to him right now. This man creates dishes from both the most basic of basics (a soft-boiled egg on mashed potatoes has never been so foodgasm) and the most rich of riches (yes, that is fried foie gras on top of the most perfect tournedos you'll ever have). Add a very nice winelist (it might help that Olivier's brother owns a winery) and you know how to spend the afternoon (by the fireplace, wondering how life can get any better than this).
The service is mostly outstanding - for instance, you only need to identify yourself once when checking in and everyone will know you from that moment on. The spa is beautiful and recently renovated and the surroundings are perfect for a walk in the woods. And now I'm at the end of positive things to say as it starts to sound like I'm rambling - but it's all true, dammit, all perfect! (until you see the bill...)

Room Tip: Get either the standard room or one of the best suites - the "Suite Manoriale" is in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My Husband and I spent 2 nights at this Hotel as part of a romantic break. The Hotel is is a beautiful building and the grounds are breathtaking.
Our Room had a 4 Poster Bed, a real fire which the staff lit for us each evening, and a large,most luxurious bathroom. Everything was spotless and well presented.
We ate in the Hotel Restaurant on our 1st night. The Restaurant is small and intimate, my only criticism is that the tables were quite close together- whether this was because it was a busy weekend in the hotel, I don't know. The food was of an exceptional standard- but be warned, if you like plain, simple food the menu won't be for you. One of the things on the menu during our stay were sweetbreads...not for everyones pallet!
We explored the town of Spa during our stay and found it to be a most charming place, with many restaurants and places to see and surrounded by beautiful woodland.
We would highly recommend this hotel for a couple wishing to treat themselves!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

After staying here twice overnight and once for a spa & gastronomy treat, it's time to write a review. Being a very demanding person while travelling, i must say that this retreat is one of the best i have ever stayed. The last time, my husband surprised me for my birthday with a spa treatment and lunch at the terrace: all of this close to perfection. At lunch, we had a minor concern about the cuisson of our fish, which was handled very quick and correct. The chef himself came to apologize and he offered a glass of champagne....we were very pleased to meet this superb chef himself :-)
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a very different experience from the terrible and poor ratings. We loved being in the middle of nowhere feeling like we've arrived home to our castle each night. Yes, a bit difficult to find, but get a GPS for goodness sake. The place is gorgeous, food in the restaurant was superb and the larger rooms are heavenly. We got Room 10 as did one of the Poor raters and yes it was not acceptable, but we were able to switch to Room 9, my sister and her husband were in Room 8. Both rooms were amazing, if you can afford them!! The beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. We splurged on the dinner at the Manoir one night and since we were staying there and lingered after dinner, the staff let us have after dinner drinks and a few surprises from the kitchen in front of the fireplace. It was an amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed with three adults for long weekend. Beautiful building and nice surroundings. Service rather poor, however, and certainly not commensurate with the high price level. Far too few staff available (long waiting times, we had to log our own luggage up 3 stairs) and the ones which did show up occasionally had quite an attitude. WiFi did not work. Spa was deserted, but still impossible to get a treatment without reservation 2 weeks in advance. Price levels for drinks are absolutely ridiculous. Mind you: one bottle of mineral water will set you back 11 euros. And that in Spa, the capital of mineral water...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir de Lebioles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Lebioles

Address: Domaine de Lebioles 1 / 5, Spa B-4900, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manoir de Lebioles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir de Lebioles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.