We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L' Auberge

L' Auberge
Place Du Monument 3-4 | 4900, Spa, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“fantastic food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

after relaxing day in thermes de spa dinner in this restaurant was like cherry on top. The place has a fantastic food, cozy atmosphere and great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Terrific Food -- Service was Impersonal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Have to admit that the food was first rate. Ate here two nights. The first night I had the sole and it was without question the best sole I've ever had anywhere, any time. It's pricy (45 Euros) but was absolutely delicious and probably enough for two people. If you want to splurge, try it! You won't be disappointed.

The food on the second night was equally good. Nicely prepared and served promptly. Everything from appetizers to desserts is tasty and also looks wonderful on the plate.

The only reason I don't give this restaurant the highest rating is the service. The first night it was impersonal at best. I don't know if the issue was that I was a single diner, or an American, but it seemed as if the waiter was going through the motions and seemed happier serving any table other than mine. The service wasn't inadequate but . . . disinterested/detached. When I returned for a second night (because the food was so terrific), things were somewhat better.

If you want an enjoyable dinner with great food, this restaurant is a must.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, older folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Spa but the clients of the restaurant are 60 and over which doesn't make it inviting. Great service, good wine list and prices which are on the higher end for the region but acceptable. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“standaard menu at 25 eur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

smooth service, nice plates with good portions, fully booked on a Monday evening
Very attent waiter even with a full house, they are pro's at work.
Also with foreign travellers, no problems

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bernaise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant was in a Best Western Hotel but the food was surprisingly delicious. The bernaise sauce on my salmon filet was amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L' Auberge also viewed

Spa, Liege Province
Spa, Liege Province
 
Spa, Liege Province
Spa, Liege Province
 

Been to L' Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L' Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.