We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sandeshoved

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sandeshoved to your Saves list
Hotel Sandeshoved
Hoek Zeedijk - Goethalsstraat 1, Nieuwpoort 8620, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel and the room was not clean. Bedsheets had clearly not been changed as we found things in bed.

Complained and were told that we would not have to pay for room. We left and following month found that they had charged our credit card with the full amount. I have written to hotel on four occasions and telephone to speak to the manager. E mails have been ignored and manager is apparently never in.

I would never stay at this hotel or recommend it to anyone. Awful customer service

One star given as you can't give none!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    34
    16
    28
See reviews for
57
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked two double rooms for one night stay. When we checked in we were given one room in the hotel and the other was across the road in another building. The room in the hotel was lovely with a beautiful sea view but the other across the road was like a box room in a shabby youth hostel. When i complained I was offered a room in the hotel which was better but had a view of the back yard ( horrible all other windows of buildings facing you). The reception spoke decent English and the location was perfect. No facility ie iron tea coffee making etc. Pillows on bed were bags filled with cotton wool. The breakfast was buffet plenty of choice and decent quality. We were the only British in the hotel as far as I could see or hear. The restaurants in the resort were all quite expensive with identical menus and prices. Check out was hectic and early. Parking was scarce and expensive. Would not return again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staid in Hotel Sandeshoved for a short weekend. Had booked a studio for 4 pax , and got at checkin a large appartment for 8 pax. Did not have sea view but looked at shopping street which was ok as well. Very good beds, nice and clean appartment. Had breakfast , very good - large buffet with a lot of choice. Advice is to go as early as you can , as in the peak hour between 9 am and 10 am room can be full so that you have to wait at the entrance for a table to become free. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This recent stay is one of our many stays at this great reasonably priced family hotel. The rooms are well equiped and are in good order. If you arrive and something is wrong the staff are very quick to put matters right.

The food value and quality is exceptional what you pay for half board you could not but a cheap burger and chips in the UK.

Yes this is not a 4 star hotel, it is quite capable of being a 4 star hotel but you would not enjoy the very reasonable prices.

As we are senior in age and one has a disabilty the hotel is well equiped to cater for young, family,disabled and senior citizens , not possibly a romantic weekend. We have stayed before we staying again in October and again next year several times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
België
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was a bit reluctant staying in this hotel after reading several negative reviews on there, but my experience was overall very positive. We got a room with a small private terrace on the eight floor overlooking the sea. Where else in Belgium can you get such a view?! The spacious room was not luxurious, but nevertheless it was clean and well equipped. The breakfast in the morning was a real threat. There's a big buffer with something for everyone's taste. The kids loved it! The hotel is located at the very centre of the town, in between the shopping street and the beach. This is not a 4* hotel, so don't expect anything fancy, but the spacious room, location, view and fair price definitely make up for it. For a family with two small kids this hotel offers the perfect getaway week at the beach. We will most definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the sea and the beach. It's a small extra cost but very wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

After staying in this hotel, I fully understand why it was the only hotel in Nieuwpoort with last minute rooms available on booking. com. On our arrival there in the evening we heard that our reservation was nowhere to be found. It took about an hour of looking at one uninterested employee after another who were immediately implying that the mistake was surely mine and that I ,probably had made reservations in another hotel by mistake. Instead of getting the reserved studio for 6 persons with sea sight, we got two tiny rooms on the same floor about 8 m² and 10m² with bunk beds buteach on the other side of the hotel. And this for the same price and with no apology whatsoever. Mistakes can happen but it was foremost the way they talked to us very condascendingly wich truly infuriated me. Breakfast was noisy, industrial but OK for a family with small children . The restaurant could have been the setting for a slapstick movie with very long waiting times, our waiter mixing up the orders and not even knowing what a sole meunière looks like when we complained about getting the wrong food. to be avoided!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nieuwpoort hotels

Hove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not sure if it was a hotel or a living museum? Nieuwpoort Bad is a very modern town, but nestling within is this oddity. Its what I’d imagine the classic multi-storey seaside hotel was like in the 60s. I actually suspect some of the clientele have been going back to the place every year since then!
An entrance proudly displaying a large H sign with a single star underneath leads into an extremely drab & gloomy lobby. On either side of the lobby are an equally drab & gloomy ‘restaurant’ (although dining hall/refectory is probably a better description) and lounge. Shuffling around all areas were lots of very elderly people, over 80s rather than over 60s.
A disinterested receptionist organised a room on the 6th floor. There were working lifts, but patience needed. The 6th floor consisted of more drabness & gloom. A depressing corridor led to the room. One pleasure of staying in a top quality hotel is the ‘wow-factor’ when opening the bedroom door. With what had gone before, the Sandeshoved didn’t disappoint - a predictably stark & compact room, with tiny bed and no amenities. The bed proved to be as uncomfortable as we expected.
To be fair, the breakfast spread wasn’t too bad, but eating at plastic canteen tables and collecting one’s own cutlery isn’t really our thing.
You may want to consider the place for a one-night novelty value stay. However, at 90Es a night we’d suggest an alternative

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sandeshoved? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandeshoved

Address: Hoek Zeedijk - Goethalsstraat 1, Nieuwpoort 8620, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Nieuwpoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Nieuwpoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sandeshoved reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sandeshoved, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.