We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, classic no bad surprises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haasstrasse 81, Eupen B-4700, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLAN AHEAD & SAVE 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Eupen
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, classic no bad surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Hotel is clean and very comfortable. The staff is nice and helpful. Perfect for a quiet stay. If not you'll get bored easily. It's in the lower part of the city, not much to do. But a few restaurants or bars for the evening. Convenient for business matters or quiet travellers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
12
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here after the grand prix at Spa this year - a last minute same-day booking in a desperate to escape our noisy campsite.

The hotel was very clean, with comfortable beds, decent sized rooms, hot powerful showers and lovely staff. The decor was a bit 1970s, but it was well cared for and didn't look too tired.

The breakfast was large and very nice. There was free wifi.

We got a last minute price of 95Eur a room (£76), which was good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is in the Lower Town - so quite a trek on foot if you want to walk to the Upper Town, but there are buses. The view is not that exceptional. Modern houses and a stream. The room was big and comfortable. Downside was noise from downstairs including a loud party on one night till 2 am. Earplugs are definitely required. The restaurant was draughty. The meat I ordered was almost raw so had to send it back. There are better restaurants nearby. Staff were very friendly when I arrived. I had to explain several times how to make tea in a pot. Eventually they understood what I was talking about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Only fault is the evening menu, which is way too fussy and costly (lobster or four gras anyone!)
If that was more normal I'd give it 5
Get a room overlooking the village centre if you can as
Overall very good but that restaurant is too pretentious

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had driven from France and were on our way home to Sweden. I chose this town as the road leading from it was green (ie picturesque). I thought it would be a place with a number of hotel to choose from. This turned out not to be the case. We had to ask and eventually found this hotel. The manager (I think he was) was very friendly and allowed us to have our small dog with us. We actually didn't see the sign on the door saying no dogs until we were leaving the next morning. The room was fine - it felt like a business hotel and is a bit dated but very comfortable. The screen on the shower didn't work all that well and I managed to flood the bathroom floor. We were told at the restaurant that we couldn't come in with the dog. This was ok - we said we would leave him in our room. The rather unpleasant chap at the restaurant then told us that dogs were not allowed in the rooms. He was rather rude. I told him that the manager had said it was ok. The nice manager then appeared again and told us we could take the dog into the restaurant with us. We really appreciated this. I chose fish and it was delicious. My husband chose raw mince meat! He was so hungry that he ate it anyway but that wasn't what he thought he ordered. The menu was in German and French but the waiter did offer to translate it into English. We had a room overlooking the river outside and this included a balcony. I am a fresh air fiend so I had the balcony door open all night. Breakfast was good with a huge choice. No one told us that we could order eggs though. I saw someone else ordering a boiled egg and followed suit. This was just the sort of place we were looking for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the stream had a balcony and was very quiet (on the 3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is my second stay in this hotelnin the past 6 weeks for business reasons. Very friendly people, nice rooms in a nice small town in Belgium

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We arrived in Eupen at about 2pm. The hotel is located at a roundabout. It has no parking of its own, but a public parking (not monitored or closed at evenings) is 50m away. The backside of the hotel is surrounded by a quiet river. The hotel has no garden whatsoever.

The girl at the reception was babysitting a little girl (her daughter or the one from the owners?) and, although she was friendly, didn't spend more than 5min. with us. We felt a little neglected. She didn't inform us of the hotel, the amenities, etc... just gave us the key.

The lift is very narrow and can't fit a children's stroller or a wheelchair, just 2 normal people max.
Our room was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel and overlooking the stream.
Although quite spacious, the room wasn't appealing because it was very dated. The furnishings, headboards, etc... were very 1980's! The bathroom seemed to have had a make-over in the ninetees, and was nicer. The bath had a shower head and some folding doors that had to be unfolded before taking a shower. These folding doors were a little wobbly, but we managed, although they weren't entirely waterproof. It is nice that the toilet and bathroom are in seperate rooms.
The beds were comfy, but the pillows way too flat. My neck hurt the next morning, but that's maybe we're used to ergonomic (thicker) pillows. The bed covers are nice, but my partner and I had seperate covers - not very romantic.
Wifi is supposed to be available all over the hotel for free, but we only had connection in our room. It was also rather slow, and we gave up on it soon.

What really disappointed me, was the smell of the room: it was a smoker's room! They hadn't asked us this when booking and neither when we ckecked in. It was clearly a smoker's room because of the ashtray and matches on the table. We had to put the windows open for the entire day before the smell went away (or was that because we had gotten used to it..). The room had a balcony, there really wasn't the need to smoke in it. We think this is just not done anymore! They should have informed us. As we only stayed for one night, we didn't complain about it though.

Breakfast was rather nice: we had sparkling wine. It might have been because of Easter, or because it was sunday. Don't know if this is done regularly.
The choice of bread was poor (just2 varieties), but the scrambled eggs and bacon made up for it. The delicatessen were of excellent quality, as was the selection of cheeses. Coffee was delicious, as always in Belgian hotels.
The breakfast room is also situated at the back of the hotel, overlooking the stream. That was nice for us, because we had a table at the window. Some of the other guests weren't so lucky (only 3 tables at a window), and for them the breakfast room must have seemed old-fashioned, dark and dull.

We had booked a gastronomic weekend and didn't expect much of it, as the hotel didn't appeal to us at all. Clearly, the strenght of the hotel is its restaurant. It was fully booked! Suddenly, in the evening, there was much more ambiance. The food was outstanding: very very nice! We had chosen our wine (we are somewhat connoisseurs...) but the waiter suggested another wine. Unfortunately, his choice was not very good, despite it was almost half the price of the bottle we had chosen at first.
The restaurant was very cosy, charming and posh at the same time. We had a lovely decorated table and the staff were very friendly and distinctive.
Our 4-course meal, including an apéritif and 1 bottle of wine and 1 large bottle of water, cost 146 euro for 2.

In retrospect, I would never return to the hotel. Although still a 4* hotel, we have noticed several shortcomings: the absence of a bar (their "kaminzimmer" was soooo 70's-80's and horribly unpleasant to sit in!), we got stuck in the elevator (the doors wouldn't open on our floor), the location (it is at the outskirts of the town, about 2km from any shops), the abcense of a monitored parkingspace, the abcense of a garden or secluded area to sit outside (stuck between the road and the river).

There were about 12 people staying in this hotel (which must have about 40 rooms?)
It is in desperate need of a make-over, but when you don't have enough clients, you don't have the money to do that. If you don't update the hotel, the clients will stay away, so we guess it's a vicious circle..
The restaurant is great and deserves every credit, but I can't see them survive on meals only...

Eupen is a very dull town: we went home straight away the next morning after breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten

Address: Haasstrasse 81, Eupen B-4700, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Eupen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Eupen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eupen
Eupen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambassador Bosten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.