We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudtiroler Platz 8, Lienz A-9900, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 20%
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lienz
Belgrade
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very friendly, cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a night here as a stop on a long trip. We asked for a room in another Lienz hotel which was overbooked, and the owner called up at the Sonne to help us out. The owner answered the phone at a very late hour and said we could come. There were a lot of guests but everything was running smoothly and the service was more than friendly, giving us many and accurate information we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
21
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was wonderful for my husband and I to come to Lienz in Ost Tirol and stay at the Hotel Sonne. The staff went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. They had heaps of maps and brochures to hand out and good insider tips for great places to go hiking in the spectacular mountain valleys that surround Lienz. All the staff were multi - lingual and spoke perfect English!

The room we had was on the fourth floor and it was modern and light with a spotlessly clean bathroom. It was a good size room with plenty of space for our luggage. The views over the surrounding mountains were breathtaking.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant with an extensive menu and we had some great evening meals there.

We had hired a car for our holiday and we were pleased that the hotel had an underground carpark with easy access directly into the building. It made it easy to get our luggage to our room.

It is a hotel which provides a good base to explore the Dolomites and this area of south Austria.
We would definitely recommend it to our friends.!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Once again at home !. Yes at home- so I feel that hotel is to me.
I got to know this cosy and friendly hotel in 1990 and ever since I have been here more than 30 times in 22 years.
I appreciate his easy going environment as well as the friendly atmosphere created by the hotel staff. The hotel is clean and very well run, with a special attention to the restaurant services.
The delicious cuisine of the "Sonne" Chef, is always a pleasure after a long day spent either fishing on the "Small Drava" river or on a trekking trail in the mountains.
If you are either a fisherman or a " walker", a biker or simply you wish to spend your vacation in the beautiful Ostirol, the Hotel Sonne is the right place for you and your family.
Thank you again Mrs Zabernig (the General Manager) and many thanks to your gentle staff we look forward to coming back to the SONNE !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A small hotel in the center of the old town Lienz. Facing a big public parking place with only six or seven Hotel's parking places. To enter to the Reception and the lobby you have to climb some steps and it's not very easy with heavy luggage (!) The room we got on the third floor was nice and clean but behind the minibar door there was nothing - empty. So we asked to replace the room and luckily there was another one ready just a room next door. The room is a little bit oldies and not very well kept. As a note I have to complain about the bed Pillows: everywhere you have to ask for more pillows because they are thin and empty and they are only good as decoration article. The same about the bath towels: very thin and small almost impossible to dry with. The breakfast buffet was OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff at this hotel are some of the nicest, most accomodating that I have ever encountered. Super friendly, incredibly warm and helpful. The hotel, however,is a different story. The location is good. The restaurant is adequate and the food simple but good. Restaurant service is a bit spotty, especially if there is a concert next door. The hotel seems to be stuck in a sort of time warp. I am pretty certain the hair dryer in my bathroom was from the 1950's. The hallway to my room was something out of an East German housing block with these bizarre lightbulbs on the outside of the doorways. The internet is not consistent or strong through out the hotel. The bathroom fixtures are incredibly old and dated. The view from my room was beautiful. Housekeeping did a good job. Old television sets, only one channel in English. The breakfast is quite standard and appropriate for this type of hotel. The breakfast room looks as if it is from 1977. The staff here was LOVELY! So, in conclusion, staff is great, food is good, accomodations are incredibly dated and in need of refurbishment. Price is good.

Room Tip: I had a great view from the 4th floor but the wifi is super weak and spotty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just come back from a week at the Hotel Sonne where we bought the 'Ski Hit Family' offer. We have done this in previous years and have always been extremely satisfied We could see from several familiar faces, that we are not the only guests who have returned to this hotel again this year. The offer is excellent value for money, especially for families with younger children. The ski hit offer included the ski lift passes, the hotel appartment and a 4 course meal every evening (soup, pasta dish, main course, dessert). The hotel staff are incredibly welcoming and,friendly and worked hard to make sure that we all had a great holiday! The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. There is a free ski bus that stops just outside the hotel entrance (there is a warm room for skis and boots at the hotel), which takes you to Zettersfeld or Hochstein in a few minutes. We can also highly recommend St Jacob or Sillian ski resorts, which are both about 20-25 km away by car and offer long runs all the way from the top to the bottom of the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Took a large group here in December 2008 and had a great time in Lienz. Hotel staff were knowledgable, friendly and happy to assist. Rooms were clean and tidy, well kept. If you want a town centre location, in the heart of a great Austrian town I can recommend the Hotel Sonne.

You may want to have your own transport to get to local ski lifts through out the area. When the snow is good - you can't beat it for independant travellers/skiers.

Whole town was very receptive and friendly to an invasion of 16 skiing Brits!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne

Address: Sudtiroler Platz 8, Lienz A-9900, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lienz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonne
Lienz Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.