We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Lienz

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Lienz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lienz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fanny Wibmer Peditstrasse 2, Lienz A-9900, Austria   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Lienz
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are in Lienz, this is one of the best hotels in the area. Spent a night here in May 2013. The spa and the rooms are outstanding. Covered parking in the building.

Two small negatives I should note:

1. The breakfast offerings are on the sparse side. I'm comparing this to some of the other 5 star hotels we stayed in Germany and Austria, and this breakfast was a bit spartan. More choices would've been nice.

2. When I pulled in, I had to drag all my suitcases by myself, through the revolving door. No bellman in sight and the front desk watched me lumber like a packed mule with a detached amusement. Would like to see them be a bit more proactive.

Otherwise, fantastic hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
86
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Eveything was perfect! A lot of details! The champagne when we arrive, the dinner in the room service, the furnishing in all the hitel, the perfect saunas, the cleannes, the reception for dogs (and the room has no smell of dog or cigarete), everything amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel at the end of a trip thru Austrian Alps, booked it last minute on a whim and it was the best decision of the trip. The staff is very professional and accommodating, the rooms are large, comfortable, nicely decorated and appointed. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was outstanding. The most amazing feature is the spa, by far the nicest we’ve been to, with multiple saunas, indoor/outdoor pool, Jacuzzi on a terrace with the view of the river and the towering Dolomites. Definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a wonderful hotel.
Decided to stop in Lienz during our road trip and managed to get a room without having a reservation.
A very imposing structure and all the facilities you need.
First class, really helpful and pleasant staff made our stay a pleasure.
Our room was large with views over the river and towards the mountains.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, but don't pay the extra, ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We passed Lienz on our way to Zell am see anstayed for one night! By far the best spa and relax section I've seen. Really friendly and helpful staff! The dinner was far beyond expectations (even though they were quite high)! A perfect example of a 5-star hotell in all details! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst in transit from Salzburg to Milan. The hotel was really nice, not too old I think, but solidly built in the traditional style. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and efficient, and allocated two rooms on the third floor for our party of three.

The rooms (302 and 303) were both large and well fitted out, except for the lack of an air-conditioner, which was actually the only negative point during our stay. In mid July it was a little warm during the night, and the fan which was provided in the room didn't quite work as effectively as a good air-con system. Really wasn't too much of a problem though.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, food was good and service was fine. Breakfast was the standard buffet affair, well presented and fairly complete. Again, good service from wait staff.

On our departure, the reception staff farewelled us with a spa gift voucher along with some fruit and bottled water for our onward journey, which was a very nice touch and most appreciated.

Overall a lovely experience, and would happily return to stay at the Grand Hotel Lienz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russikon, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I took advantage of an offer that appeared last winter from Deindeal to stay for 3 nights in the Grand Hotel Lienz. What a wonderful offer! The hotel was superb! Extremely courteous, friendly and helpful management and employees. Outstanding cuisine! The one night included half board was wonderful but the night we ordered a la carte was outstanding! The fish stuffed pasta was HEAVENLY! Our room was 100% 5***** with lovely linens and all the amenities one could ask for. I especially liked the magnified make up mirror and my husband the huge flat screen as the European Soccer Championship games were being played during out stay.Both bedroom and bath were spotlessly clean. We also took advantage of their in house spa. The massage therapists are well trained and the treatment rooms islands of peace. The indoor/outdoor pool was also immaculate and tastefully designed with plenty of comfortable lounges for reading or just relaxing. We also never felt like we were considered second class guests begin there on a package. Quite the contrary.. we felt like valued customers. This would be a great place to celebrate a special occasion or just to pamper oneself and enjoy life. There is plenty to do in and around Lienz too. We went hiking, biking, sightseeing and found great jogging trails but there are nice shops as well and museums. The weather was just so good we wanted to be outside. We definitely plan on a return trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Lienz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lienz

Address: Fanny Wibmer Peditstrasse 2, Lienz A-9900, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Lienz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Lienz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Lienz 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Grand Hotel with high aspirations: The Grand Hotel Lienz is your hotel of choice if you are looking for elegance, flair and class. This newly built hotel, a gleaming gem in East Tyrol, has already fulfilled its expectation to mix modern and tradition in its beautiful architecture.In southern Austria, neighbouring Italy, framed by Austria's tallest mountains, the Grossglockner and the Lienz Dolomites, you will find the 5 Star Grand Hotel Lienz. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery, enjoy the exclusive ambiance of the Grand Hotel Lienz with gourmet cuisine, medical wellness of the highest level, as well as a spacious spa oasis for the soul, and not forgetting top service. Our guests can expect an atmosphere in which nearly every one of your wishes is granted before you even have to ask. With the chic and stylish decor, elegant and spacious rooms & suites providing the highest level of comfort with their lavish furnishings and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Lienz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Lienz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.