We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in the suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andreas Hofer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Andreas Hofer to your Saves list
Hotel Andreas Hofer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georg-Pirmoser-Str. 8, Kufstein 6330, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kufstein
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lost in the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

En-route to Salzburg, we took the hotel from a tourist booklet "Small Historic Towns in Austria". The town centre hotel was full with a conference, but we were offered a room in their annexe. This turned out to be an apartment in a residential block a 10 minute walk away, with parking at the door. We obviously missed turning on the drive there, but found a sign for Andreas Hofer apartments and spent some time trying locks and failing to get in. The lack of street nameplates caused confusion until a helpful local redirects to the right block. Excellent value, with a spacious room, well appointed bathroom and very safe & quiet location. We walked around the small town centre to size up the option to eat, but chose the hotel's restaurant. Lots of hunting trophies and plenty of venison on the menu. The maitre-d told me the chef had shot my dinner himself. My wife preferred lamb, but the food and service was excellent.
Breakfast at the hotel was a bit hectic with a lot of delegates about, but the food was ample and coffee good.

Room Tip: The hotel itself is in the centre of town, but the town is not busy so should be fairly quiet, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    20
    15
    19
See reviews for
17
27
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I would rate, after my second visit there, this hotel only with two stars. Because it is old, the rooms are not very small, there are small showers and the walls are very thin. There should be for sure other options in this small city. What is quite good ist the breakfast. And sometimes you hear the tourist groups checking in and out in the night.
Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This large hotel is used by tour groups. The staff were welcoming and the food excellent. My only reservation is that the bathroom was tiny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

THough it is located in the center of the city and the rooms are nice, the hotel staff is totally untrained and they do not have the will to help you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This as been our third christmas holiday at this hotel and for excellent reasons.When younger we would have tried new places and hotels but as we get older we now go to places where we know we are going to be comfortable and this hotel is it. Firstly the owners are available at all times to answer any queries that you may have.The loyal staff have also been trained to a high standard so that you know you will be well looked after including the bar staff,you drink it they will mix it.The public rooms are spacious so there is plenty of room to find a quiet corner to yourselves or to take advantage of the friendly bar for company.The rooms are to a satisfactory standard and high of cleanliness and more than adequate for a weeks stay.They do have safety box facilities which is very important to us.The food is excellent and at times can be very special so ideal for those celebration times.The town itself is well placed to visit the major cities in the area with the main railway station within walking distance of the hotel.Pleasant walks in the surrounding area and along side of the river allow you to park the car in the garage and enjoy the area on foot. With bars and restraurants to suit all taste.There is also the fortress Kufstein full of history and interest giving views for miles around.We stayed in the main hotel and have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

WARNING: This a review of Aparthotel Andreas Hofer not the main hotel - Rented room 30-33 in Dec. 2011 - We had the chance to rent the largest flat on 2nd floor. 1970's style with orange and brown flavour inside. The entire apartment is surrounded by a gigantic balcony in all directions. 4 bedrooms with extra large cupboards, 2 separate bathrooms with shower and bath plus 2 basins in each plus excellent hair dryers. Large entrance with cupboards and separate guest bathroom. Large living room with open fire. Large dining room. Kitchen with electric cooker (some provided pans are not perfectly plane so that center will be burned while side will be under cooked, a killing detail that could easily be fixed) and hood, electric oven, dish washer, fruit squeezer, coffee maker, nespresso machine, small fridge with small deep freeze compartment. Please note that there is NO MICROWAVE (a killing detail that could be easily fixed too). Carpet in all rooms (extremely clean with no dust, this is a very sensitive issue as we have some allergy problems) except kitchen (linoleum) and bathrooms (brown tiled floor). Underground car park comes extra. Car park rather limited on the small surrounding streets. Beware that Maximillianstrasse is short term car park only during the day. Fixed cleaning charge of 80€ which is the most expensive cleaning charge we have experienced to date worldwide!!! Check-in and check-out to be made at the main hotel located nearby although car park can be problematic. Note very junior receptionists with some giving unreliable information. Could be easily rated as 5 stars if issues are fixed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is an older style hotel in this charming town of Kufstein (go for the amazing Riedel Glass factory!!). The quality for the price I guess is quite reasonable. I do remember the bed being the most uncomfortable in our Europe trip although the cleanliness of the room and renovated bathrooms was excellent. We dined at the restaurant which was really quite entertaining and definitely served hearty local cuisine including an ENORMOUS plate of goose livers for entree and more goose for mains.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Andreas Hofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas Hofer

Address: Georg-Pirmoser-Str. 8, Kufstein 6330, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kufstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kufstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andreas Hofer 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Andreas Hofer is the leading 4-star hotel in the center of Kufstein, the city known as the "pearl of Tyrol". This hotel had its beginnings as a small inn in the early 1900´s and developed into the sought after hotel it is today, because its management truly understands the meaning of comfort, good cuisine and professional service. Whether you are on holiday, a business trip, attending a seminar, or just stopping over on the way to another destination; we hope you enjoy the amenities of our high quality hotel combined with a warm and private atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you in our restaurant "Kaminstub´n" where we hope you will try some of the excellent regional cuisine and wines, which we change often to reflect the seasons and to offer plenty of variety! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Andreas Hofer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hofer Hotel Kufstein
Andreas Hofer Kufstein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Andreas Hofer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.