We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 1st Time and the Last time for Wine Tasting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carilley Estate Winery

Carilley Estate Winery
Lot 23 Hyem Road, Herne Hill, Swan, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Herne Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The 1st Time and the Last time for Wine Tasting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

After enjoying Talijancich down the road, thought we'd try Carilley Estate wines as hadn't heard of them or had recommendations to visit. 1st thing to come up was $5 pp tasting fee which suggested the wines would be great. Unfortunately it was downhill from there - with poor quality wines being sent to the spittoon and 'that is not for tasting' a typical response. Having paid $5pp to taste Leeuwin Estate wines at Margaret River, which are World Class, Carilley is considered a 'rip-off' and will be avoided. Carilley may have earned $15, but the 3 tasters will ensure the bad memory is not repeated by friends and family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I love this restaurant, the atmosphere there is great, u can go with your kids and they will have fun while u are relaxing with the great view. Some times , I must say, the staff has been slow, but they are always kind.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W A
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not as good as I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently had lunch at Carilley for our work Xmas lunch. Most people enjoyed their food particularly the squid. I had the barramundi which I felt was overlooked and hand cut chips barely warm. A couple in our party of 10 had small entrees but we still waited well over an hour for our mains - not acceptable. Service was fine and we were often asked for more drinks but we really just wanted food, particularly those who had no entree. Gorgeous setting and table set beautifully, no complaints there. Only 3 other small tables occupied so no excuse for such a long wait - everyone commented. Overall just wasn't upto the standard I remembered from previous visits.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good lunch venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's been about a year since we last dined at Carilley and although they recently changed ownership, it is still a great restaurant. Went with a friend for a midweek lunch and ordered the smaller platter with breads and cheeses, entree smoked salmon and squid which we shared so got to taste everything. All the dishes were plentiful and very tasty. Deserts were also delicious and the wine was just as good. The staff were attentive and friendly. Definitely won't wait another year to go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lunch treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I had lunch at Carilley Estate on a recent Friday arvo as a treat for managing to attend the gym every day over the last month..It was a warm day and most people were inside however it appealed much better to be out. The staff have all the gear required should the flies be a problem, though they were not, along with umbrella's, ice buckets etc. On recommendation from the waitress I ordered one of my favourite dishes, S&P squid as a main and this was superb, whilst my eating companion chose the Goats Cheese Tart. Washed down with a glass of wine and followed on that hot day with a delightful 'Affogato with Frangelico'. We used our Entertainment Voucher for our lunch and found the food and location good. Staff were great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carilley Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Carilley Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carilley Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.