We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant

Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant
100 Barrett Street, Herne Hill, Swan, Western Australia 6056, Australia
(08) 9296 2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Herne Hill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited during a very busy weekend, and we were lucky to get a table for our large family party.
Sittella catered for all tastes, and the young members of the party were particularly well looked after.
Popular choices with the adults were winemaker's plate and the scallops; beef, chicken and salmon; strawberry basket and cheese. Not one issue with presentation, quality, temperature or size of portion.
This is my second visit to Sittella. The cellar door area is great, and it was fun to taste the wines in advance of ordering food, to make some great pairings. It is in a beautiful location, which makes our visit an even more memorable experience. Top of my list for a revisit when next in Perth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worst meal in the Swan Valley”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friday lunch. What a disappointment. Ordered the salmon rare and it came nearly burned! On a bed of mash potato that was simply boiled potato smashed flat. Lumpy and cold. Veggies were almost non existent and also overlooked.

Took ages to be able to catch a waitress' eye to order. They basically put their heads down and hoped you didn't call them. When asked how the meal was (my companion had well don't chicken too) we told them. The only response was 'I'll tell the chef' even though I said it was indelible.

Very disappointing

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A touch disappointing today”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have visited Sittella several times and I am always impressed by the quality of food provided and the service; today the edge was just not there. My kangaroo was cooked to perfection and the veges were great, but the cheesecake tasted less delicious than is generally the case and the presentation was not up the normal high standard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Scenic Sittella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to lunch at two wineries in Swan valley on our recent trip to Perth.The first one we tried was Sittella which is up the Great Northern Highway and off Barrett street. The cellar door was a small affair so we didn't linger long before heading for the restaurant. There's outside seating at the covered terrace and fortunately it was a sunny day ( we were plagued by showers and storms during our our five-day stay ) as it's the only way to enjoy the lovely landscape surrounding the winery. We didn't get the prime tables next to the railings with the best views ( I guess you have to book ahead first ) but we still had a decently located table on the terrace. I thoroughly enjoyed my Roast Pumpkin, feta and shallot tart (with marjoram roasted salad and pumpkin marmalade) whilst my wife had oysters. Nothing from the dessert menu caught our eyes but I was tempted into ordering one of the Sittella Fortifieds- Liquer Verdelho to try only because the menu claimed it was - "brought straight to your table from the barrel ". The verdict? - bring out the barrel because it was really rich and smooth. Service was friendly and efficient and all in all, it was an enjoyable lunch in a casual setting with a view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked into the cafe with a party of eight to celebrate our wedding. Service was excellent. As was their choice of menu selection. Top quality food, wine with generous servings. We were given a complimentary bottle of their sparkling Chenin to celebrate. Many thanks Sittella we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.