We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a great town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercator-Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercator-Hotel to your Saves list
Mercator-Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercator-Hotel
Burgstrasse 6, 52538 Gangelt, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gangelt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in a great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I came to Gangelt for the hotel as this is what I was told to book. It turns out I ended up finding my house in Gangelt also. (literally right around the corner from the hotel)

The hotel is very typical German with a modern flair. Rooms are super cozy and wifi is everywhere (that isnt common yet in Germany)

Breakfast is very German, but also very good, and some of the best coffee ever.
The pool is gorgeous and relaxing.

When I leave germany, I will be staying here again.

My biggest complaint is that they dont allow pets and that the restaurant is a little pricy for the area, but living here, I now know all the restaurants in the area and this is one of the "higher class" ones...

Room Tip: If you have the time, explore Gangelt...awesome town with a great history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just came back from a one-night stay at the Mercator hotel in Gangelt. I really don’t understand the other reviews @Tripadvisor. Our room #108 was smelly, damp and hot with no airco. We checked-in in the afternoon, so far so good. The room is a bit dated. We left for diner in another town and returned at about 21.45h. When we entered the bar for a late evening glass of wine, the waitress told us that they were closed, on a Friday evening….??

The bed was horrible, much to short for me. And as mentioned by another reviewer the pillow was huge and not fit to rest your head on.
The temperature in the room was too high for a good night sleep. Opening the windows wasn’t an option because it was raining heavily.

Breakfast was average, the staff was impolite.
The price of € 159.00 for the room was much to high for this hotel.

So this visit was once and never again for us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Beautiful hotel and even better service! I stayed here close to 3 weeks on business and could not have been more comfortable! The staff is friendly and very personable. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Make sure to have dinner at the restaurant... you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

A beautiful little gem I am spending my third night in while in the area for business. It's the only hotel in this picturesque German village. Immediately upon entering the hotel the staff greeted me warmly and was quite helpful. I stayed I room 107, a lovely big corner room with a view of the village centre. The room I stayed in didn't have a tub but a lovely big shower. It had a bar fridge, really comfortable king bed, free wifi(i am sitting at the corner desk as I type this review) just be certain to ask for the login when you check in.The hotel looks like it underwent renovations sometime recently, as it had a modern flair. Breakfast was included at no extra charge with the room and consisted of assorted deli meats including smoked salmon, nice cheeses, a variety of yogurt, croissants, rolls, eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: I travelled with another person on this trip. She had a room next to mine. Hers was significantly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

All the amenities in a modern well run facility. Stayed in a single second floor overlooking the parking area and garden. Well appointed room with outstanding shower and lav. No doing #2 on a shelf as is the case in many German Hotels. Only comment would be the pillow which was almost 3 foot square and not useful as a pillow. Internet was initially spotty but improved. Not a single English channel on TV. Likely the best dining in Gangelt although closed on Sundays. Very helpful staff. Seems like 2 women did the work of 4 in this place. Conference facilities are avail along with separate dining for functions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel would be preferred to avoid the smokers out front and smoke entering the open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercator-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercator-Hotel

Address: Burgstrasse 6, 52538 Gangelt, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gangelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gangelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mercator-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercator-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.