We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna

Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna
Ano Mera Square, Ano Mera 84600, Greece
+30 2289 071405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Ano Mera
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Mediterranean, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Zurrieq, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Service & Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited this lovely taverna over last weekend during our visit to the Greek Islands and were all very happy with both the warm & welcoming service offered by the staff and the food itself. Very good value for your money!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    62
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I used to visit this tavern every year for the past 5 years. Every year till 2014 the food, the service , the people , the atmosphere,everything was great! However, this year, and especially at Augoust, which is high season, so the expectations are also high, this restaurant turned into a huge disappointment! The service was so bad that the waiter insulted us for wanting clean forks! Furthermore, we ordered burger and chicken and we got a really bad grilled burger , hard to chew, and chicken wings with skin, that caused us stomach troubles!!! Unfortunately, we also found some potatoes that looked like they were bitten and put back in the plate! Even if they weren't, we were discussed and the obligation of changing us the plate exists! However, the owner (marina) denied to bring us new potatoes and also charged us for these! Finally, when the owner asked us if we liked the chicken, we expressed our disagreement for the skin in the chickenwings(again not what we ordered), but she said that the skin that I've removed in order to show her, was not skin and I couldn't see well!!!!! As a result, I suggest you to avoid eating at this tavern! Oh, the only good thing that still remained concerns the prices, that were low! But how many people prefer cheap over quality?? It's up to you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A little greek food on a tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was part of a tour, so we didn't really choose anything. Just a few Greek snack specialties. Good enough for the break after touring the Monastery.

No service, but that may be because of the tour crowd, and probably a real discounted payment by the tour company.

Pleasant surroundings, and outdoor seating to enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, yet hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ment to eat lunch at a completely different place, which, for some reason, did not work for lunch. A pleasant chef directed us here, and what a pleasant surprise it was!
We ordered half a litre of house white wine (4 euro), a giant (at least for Mykonos) chicken fillet (9 euro) and a speciality made of pork fillet, stuffed with cheese, sun-dried cherry tomatos with a honey filling... Boy, was it tasty!!!
For desert we were treated to some Greek yoghurt with dried apricots (on the house!).
This is so far THE BEST food experience in Mykonos, and we are a couple of very demanding guests!
Well-done, Marina and Giorgos! We will come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly family taverna ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a very pleasant evening at Fisherman Taverna. The place could not be more friendly. The lamb chops are succulent, fresh and not greasy. The octopus WS very tasty though somewhat chewy. Salads and sides were tasty, fresh and family style on size / taste. Our kids love the square with its pedestrians only traffic as they can play all the time and be called in when their meals arrived. Ideal for family and budget travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna also viewed

 
Ano Mera, Mykonos
Mykonos, Cyclades
 

Been to Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman - Giorgos & Marina Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.