We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Glynarthen B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

High standard of accomodation in a glorious location, a perfect place for some peace & quiet. Welcoming, convivial and informative hosts, fantastic rooms and far too tempting to resist breakfasts make for a combination that will not be beaten.

Special thanks for looking after us so well during our week, this was our second visit and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
121
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently spent a 3 day bank holiday weekend at this bed & breakfast which came highly recommended by a friend. On arrival the beauty of the property and it's location was immediately drawing - the grounds are so wonderfully maintained and location so tranquil and peaceful.

The rooms are fantastic - very good size and offer separate lounge and outside seating. The quality of the finishes is immediately noticable - no expense spared to provide the highest quality furnishings.

Breakfasts are of the highest quality with locally sourced produce, all cooked to order with a vast choice although recommendation must be for the cooked breakfast.

Huw & Richard are by a long distance the most welcoming and attentive hosts we have ever experienced and added hugely to the overall enjoyment of our stay.

Without a doubt we will be visiting Penbontbren again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights because our children were taking part in the Urdd Eisteddfod Cultural Festival which was being held in the area. Pentbontbren is in a secluded location, but only 1 mile from the main road - really easy to find. When we arrived, we were immediately met by our host, RIchard and shown to our sumptious suites - we stayed in rooms 4 and 5.
The attention to detail in the rooms is wonderful - from the umbrella and trays for foot wear at the front door, to the large, comfortable beds, to the spacious, comfartable sitting area, to the emphasis on sourcing local goods for the mini-bar, wall decorations and .....the list would go on and on. We needed to get up early on our first morning, so Richard sorted an early breakfast in the rooms for us. On the second morning, we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast in the cottage. Plenty of space - large gardens for you to walk and relax in. Richard supplies a list of local restaurants and pubs for you to visit - we visited the first two on the list - a local steak house and then a local Italian (sat nav needed) - both fed our family of four really well.
I always finish a review by asking, "Would I go again?" Yes! 100%

Room Tip: We had the higher rooms - excellent :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A wonderful b & b, although that title doesn't come near to doing this establishment justice.
You get a first class experience from the comfortable suites to the excellent breakfast and the peaceful location. Impossible to fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Penbontbren. We chose it mainly because of the other reviews and we weren't disappointed. The suites are 5* in every way, the breakfast was excellent and the owner, Richard, was really helpful and friendly. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Every other reviewer has said it all so I just want to add how much we loved our brief stay at Penbontbren...it won't be our last!
We only met Richard and what a great host: welcoming, relaxed with a lovely sense of humour that is reflected throughout this classy, homely barn conversion (you have to love the phones).
We couldn't help reflecting on many of the B&B's we've experienced over the years; some good, some acceptable and some complete shockers! But here there is nothing we could say that would take the shine off what really is the perfect place to stay on all levels. Comfortable, tasteful, cosy, chic, gorgeous surroundings, excellent facilities and a really superior breakfast with golden eggs from the Penbontbrent chicks (that's chickens...).
Thanks Richard. You're right: why should anyone stay somewhere that's not at least as nice as home? Your B&B is top quality and we loved it. (Well done my wife for finding you....credit where it's due).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and booked in for two nights. The whole experience was excellent and myself and my wife would highly recommend this luxury B&B.
We were made very welcome all the facilities were first class and the Resteraunt recommendations were great.
We will be returning in the near future for another very relaxing break with an excellent breakfast that set us up for the day.

Room Tip: All the Rooms were excellent we stayed in Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: Penbontbren | Nr. Cardigan, Glynarthen SA44 6PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Glynarthen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glynarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penbontbren has been described as the definitive luxury bed and breakfast. Penbontbren's suites are all newly refurbished with King or Super king beds, private terraced gardens and are suites with seperate sitting rooms. Direct dial telephone, i pod docking station, flat screen tv, filter coffee machine, iron and board are just some of the ameneties provided. Winner of the Good Hotel Guide's prestigious Cesar award, Penbontbren has been awarded 5 star and the Gold award from Visit Wales, and has also been entered into the respected Johansen's guide and Alastaire Sawday's special places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.