We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITS NOT JUST MY VIEW!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“ITS NOT JUST MY VIEW!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Have an afternoon coffee. . . right by the sea! Enjoy your dinner. . right by the sea! Wake up in the morning. . .looking out over the sea! This place is superb!!

The magnificant setting of the Carlton Redcastle Hotel is matched by their other truely fantastic asset. . .The staff.

These people work morning noon and night to ensure guests are well catered for. They are naturally caring, pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. If you want a true Donegal welcome and friendly environment this is the place for you.

A group of us stayed for 3 nights and everyone agreed. . .We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    343
    146
    79
    53
See reviews for
222
643
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary in the Carlton Redcastle Hotel last weekend thanks to a gift from our daughter. I read some of the reviews on the hotel and was apprehensive as some of them were not very complimentary. Haveing had one of the best weekend breaks I wonder did these people stay in the same hotel. From our arrival at reception to our departure was as good or better than we experiened in other 4star hotels including Dublin, to think that I was almost mislead by the reviews of some people. The staff were typical friendly Donegal type people, the room was excellent with a nice view out to Lough Foyle, plenty of heat and a big cosy bed. We had food in the bar and the resturant and we could not complain, both were served by friendly staff and the steak was perfect. The cleaning staff were also friendly and helpful. We spent time in the pool and the gym, the pool was lovely to relax in and the gym had all the latest modern equipment. There is plenty of free parking and the golf course looks the type where you'd be tempted to have a stroll with the look of a parkland. We will definately be back to the Redcastle Hotel and as a couple who do go away for lots of breaks, hopefully we'll be back soon.
Willie Belfast

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is nice & the staff are really lovely. It is not 4 * though. It's more like a 3 * hotel..
Spa treatment was lovely. The gym's tiny.
Would have been great if there hadn't been a bus load of people there that sang & told us to be quiet when they were singing..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Booked a weekend away to the beautiful town of Moville,but sadly stayed in the terrible Redcastle Hotel.
Arrived to find our room was not ready and were kept waiting for over an hour,without a much as a glass of water,or apology. And from there things went down hill...
The room overlooked a car park,where any one could see into the room. The bed had dreadful pillows and the was the most uncomfortable ever to be slept in. There was an extractor fan that rumbled through the room from the kitchen and music at a head splitting level.
When I mentioned to the front desk about the noise,I was laughed at,as if I was making it up and they pretended it wasn't happening.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Firstly I would like to thank all the staff for making our 4 night stay so fantastic
The location - is simply spectacular - your in Ireland so of course it might (will) rain, but the loch-side setting in woodland is beautiful, the golf course is well maintained and picturesque, its a short run to both the ferry at Greencastle or Derry
The food - sorry - I have to disagree - the breakfast (buffet) is very good. If you have to wait for a minute or 2 whilst something is topped up then big deal.. Everything was cooked well, tasty and none of the 100+ guests staying in the hotel felt anything to be sub-standard. I also have to say the food at the wedding (if your planning as such) was excellent.
The rooms - are fine - none I saw were tiny and some are large suites. They aren't 5 star but then neither is the hotel, they do have good beds and are clean with showers and baths.
The staff - were great - from reception through restaurant to bar.
A special mention to Valerie who organised a fantastic wedding for us. Its hard to plan a wedding and the negativity in many reviews is totally unwarranted in this case.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations.Coming from the ferry in Greencastle you drive along the waterside and soak up the most amazing views as you approach the hotel which looks quite splendid with a lovely golf course in front of it. The staff are without doubt the most friendly and helpful bunch.My daughter had her wedding reception there on friday 13th august and it was certainly a lucky day for her. The function room is overlooking the water with views of magilligan and the coast along lough Foyle...quite spectacular.This room was large enough to accommodate our 150 guests without having to remove any tables for the dancing.Food was wonderful,staff A1

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

i recently stayed at the redcastle spa hotel and cant reccomend it highly enough, wonderful service,gorgeous views and excellent staff, the food was TO DIE FOR! i had a full body massage and facial which left me totally blissed out all weekend all in all a fabulous and much needed break away i would definately go back and will be recommending it to all my friends. : )

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.