We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience - loud, noisy, shabby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Moville
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a good experience - loud, noisy, shabby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel does not seem like a 4 star facility. It is ok but shabby in many areas. The rooms are just alright but have seen better days. The problem is that the hotel plays loud music until 2am clearly and loudly heard in the guest rooms! Imagine my shock when I went for a lovely family relaxing vacation. Also the walls are very thin and you can hear way way more than you should/or would want to from adjacent rooms and/or the halls. The restaurant food is very good and the pool is lovely so there are a few redeeming qualities but when you have had a sleepless night, it is not much consulation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    269
    122
    67
    47
See reviews for
175
504
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cavan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed here 3 nights . We got a fantastic deal , pricewise, and were a little worried we might get a poor room, as a result . No need for worries we got an excellant room, and that summed up our stay . A really fantastic hotel all round .We have stayed in several hotels in Donegal, over the years, and felt they were, in general, poor by comparison, to the likes of Galway or Kerry , but this hotel definitly bucked the trend .We had one or two minor quibbles , one of the bed side light would not work, and even though we mentioned it at reception, nothing was done .I think they could capitalise a little more on their location beside the sea . I feel with a little effort they could really make this hotel top notch

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed one night at the Carlton and the hotel is just ok. the room was dingy and had a view of the steps from the car park down to the side of the hotel. If we had ben staying more than one hight I would have definately been very unhappy.
We booked into the restaurant for dinner, then the craic started. Having to hunt down a waiter/ess to get our order taken was only the start of it. Then after 35 minutes the starters arrived and having requested our drinks on several occassions I had to go to the bar to get it sorted. 1 jug of water 1 bottle of wine. The restaurant was 1/2 full and everyone was busy but there was absolutely NO coordination, The food was really superb and in some way made up for the gross incompetence of the staff, who were lovely but badly needed trained. The food was delivered to wrong tables on a regular basis as were the drinks. To pass the time while waiting we tried to guess who the food and drinks would go to when they reappeared again for the second time.. we were offered 2 wrong dinners and 1 wrong drinks order and indeed rescued our main course from the table beside us before it disappeared back to the kitchen again. Having seen this total confusion I insisted on paying the bill at the table as there was no chance of it being correct.. I am glad I did as we had the table on the other side of us drinks bill included. I reckoned it was easier to look and see what we had consumed rather than an arguement on checkout the next morning when the evidence had disappeared. However THE FOOD IN THIS HOTEL WAS TOP CLASS, they just need to train their lovely staff. It reminded me of Faulty towers and we got some sort wry amusement at seeing it all go wrong as we waited and waited. Will we return?. Its probably the best the Innishowen peninsula can offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just back from a break in the Cartlon Redcastle. From the minute we drove in the long sweeping avenue I knew it was going to be an experience. Fantastic setting allowing you opportunity for romantic strolls by the water in the evening. Hotel facilites were fantastic, georgeous pool, just a tad small, best to go at quiet times. Hotel was excellent value for our break. Is located too far from the local village to walk for a drink but with a car, Moville is within a few miles and has some lovely shops, very quaint.
The staff in the Carlton were probably the nicest, friendliest staff I have come accross in a long time. I would spend on average 1/2 days per week in different hotels with work and have yet to meet staff as nice as in the Carlton Redcastle
Had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, food is excellent. While I imagine the practice of waiting staff pouring/topping up your tea/coffee is a cost cutting exercise it drove me nuts having to call/wait for a staff member to come with tea/coffee. For me the nicest part of the day is a cuppa in the morning, the experience is a little ruined by having to locate/ call for and wait for a cuppa.
Grounds of the hotel could do with upkeep, for such a fantastic setting, it is a pity that shrub beds and borders are gone wild. Also the computer in the lobby would be better housed in a museum! Allow a couple of days extra holidays to give it time to load a page...
Apart from these 3 minuses, loved everything else and will definetly go back...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Carlton Redcastle with friends in july 2009!!!!! Everything about the trip was fab! The girls had spa treatments during the day and the men went golfing!! We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was fantastic on the second night of our stay we ate in Rosatos in nearby Moville - absolutely fabulous - and their was a pub quiz going on so the craic was mighty - well worth a visit! This is the third time we have stayed here - and we will undoubtedly be back again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay, rooms, staff, food, leisure area all relaxing and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

just spent 3 nights at the Carlton Redcastle and really enjoyed our stay.We have two children and stayed in the 1 Bedroom Suite which met our needs perfectly. The pool is one of the nicest hotel pools in Ireland and the spa is highly recommended! Ate dinner 2 nights in the hotel restaurant and found the food to be exceptionally good. The kids menu is also very nice and what really pleased our 10year old was that kids can eat from the kids menu or have a half portion from the adult menu....just perfect if your children are a little older. Went to Harry's Restaurant on our third night ,which was absolutely terriffic. Staff at the front desk are particularly friendly and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.