We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

found a great deal on www.bookings.com for a night's b&b stay at this classy hotel and really enjoyed it. With a very grand driveway leading down to a superbly furnished hotel it was well anticipated. The room was excellent, 2 people could easily do star shapes with their bodies on the bed and not touch each other, the corridor was a bit noisy during the night but with the bed being so comfy u went into a deep sleep. Breakfast was very good also, plenty to choose from, very relaxed, great views out onto the sea, though i wouldnt go for a dip in that sea, the water is dirty brown, freezing too i bet. Overall a great place to stay, wee golf course in the grounds too. highly recommended

  • Liked — the room, so luxurious
  • Disliked — only 1 on reception when checking in
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    308
    138
    75
    50
See reviews for
206
569
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co. Down
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. On arrival, after the stated check-in time of 3pm, we were told our room was not ready. We had to wait until 5pm for our room - hardly a great start. The room itself was spacious and clean with a nice view over the Lough, however one of the light switches was broken and not secured to the wall. We reported this however it was not fixed during our stay. There was a fault with the hotel's heating system on the second day and it was not fixed until late afternoon - cold showers are not that great, especially when everywhere else was cold also.
The food was okay but not a great selection. We ate in the bar as there was not a huge difference in the selection offered in the bar as opposed to the restaurant however there was a difference in the price.
The spa is definitely worth a visit and there is also a pool and fitness room that guests can use.
On the whole this hotel is just alright but definitely not a four star. I won't be rushing back.

  • Liked — Spa facilities
  • Disliked — Food, problems with check-in, faults not being fixed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

this is a lovely hotel beautiful grounds even in bad weather staff very friendly we went up from dublin just one word of caution we used sat nav to get there took us to the ferry which was operating as the weather was good but it does not go in bad weather so be careful didnt use the spa but breakfast was great and the restaurant is gorgeous beautiful view across the lake girl made a special effort to give us window table food great we were on a package 2nights b and b plus dinner 198 euro on hotel site great value bar is a little small the female staff were lovely but the males were not a bit friendly just served us the drink and had no chat at all it is a pity this bar lets the hotel down it so small it is a great 4 star well deserved we would go back

  • Liked — our room
  • Disliked — the bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Booked through Buncrana tourist info. Great rate of 78 euros for double room for two B&B. Cheaper than other available B&Bs. Would not want to pay more than this. I would expect a four star hotel to be more modern but most hotels in the area seem to be stuck in the 1970's. Clean, large rooms. Perfectly acceptable. Spa looked lovely. A good one night stop off if you are travelling around the peninsula from Buncrana.

  • Liked — Large, clean room.
  • Disliked — Stuck in the 1970's
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

So, having bagged what we thought was a reasonable rate for b+b at a 4* hotel, (55 euro each for a sea view on a Sunday evening), we arrived, full of anticipation with my mother-in-law for a birthday treat........

The setting is absolutely stunning, looking out over Lough Foyle especially as the sun was shining! Our room was OK, nothing to write home about, but clean and comfortable. The first interesting thing was the lack of shower gel, but we found out quite quickly why - the shower didn't work at all!! I spoke to the very friendly and professional duty manager, Conor (in fact all of the staff were very pleasant) who quickly organised another room for us, this time with a balcony which was great (and the shower worked!!).

We had a meal in the restaurant which overall was pretty good (and I am VERY hard to please in the food department!!), apart from the chocolate mousse which was really chocolate soup - so only a minor gripe.................. I found breakfast extremely disappointing however -generally very unappealing and I basically ate nothing Think the secret is to ask for something which isn't out on the hotplates - my husband ordered poached eggs and they were pretty good.....

We each had a Swedish massage in the Spa which I would definitely recommend, but didn't have time to use the pool area which looked great, especially given its views out to sea

So all in all, we had a pleasant stay overall and would go back again sometime. Maybe not 4* luxury, but the staff and views more than make up for that..................

  • Liked — Stunning situation
  • Disliked — Breakfast..................
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

The view from the Carlton Recastle across Lough Foyle is impressive, particularly from the restaurant. But the restaurant windows were filthy during our stay, with numerous spiders' webs externally, and the spiders in residence.

Food in the restaurant was very average. The slab of pork belly was more or less inedible and if you don't like "creamy champ" with everything, you will struggle to like the menu.

Even though it is a spa hotel, robes are only available in the spa and not in the rooms. Although we stayed for three nights, it was impossible to book a spa treatment, as there was no availability. There is a very undignified "sign-out" policy for guests who have the temerity to ask for a towel for the pool, with returned wet towels having to be signed back in again - guests being treated as potential towel thieves even before they get into the pool.

The "music" in the bar on the Saturday night was awful. One man with an electric piano and a drum machine playing woeful country and western "standards" at high volume.

All in all, we felt that this hotel does not make life easy for its guests and it is ridiculously over-priced. The views are nice, it has to be said, but they are not worth the money.

Finally, check out the faux helipad at the rear - who do they think they are kidding?!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

A beautiful location with access to beaches,resorts,and places of interest in the North & NorthWest.The frontage of the hotel is impressive and we were fortunate in a well located room with seaview and balcony.
However for a 4 star the rooms were quite basic and the surfaces looking a little tired and worn.Still the view over the Foyle was some compensation!
The bar area was roomy and service was good.Pleasant sitting area at the front of the hotel looking over the golf course.
However the restaurant was a let-down ; they were obviously struggling to manage the restaurant and the staff levels were kindergarten and it showed.We ordered wine which was delivered in icebucket and unceremoniously dumped at the side of the table-unopened,no tasting,and no pouring.The same for every other table around us.A fellow diner even had 3 bottles delivered to his table.Really not impressed.Food was average so the whole experience was something of a let down.
Breakfast the next morning followed much the same pattern and the food was uninspiring and poorly displayed.The restaurant floor was covered in crumbs and the service again slow and disinterested.
Overall quite a disappointing visit with lots of room for improvement.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.