We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I initially made my booking online and had to contact reception to amend it; I dealt with Erin who was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with!

Both my husband and I had a fantastic stay, we had lunch, dinner and breakfast in the hotel and every meal was faultless, in fact the salmon and beef served on the Monday night were to die for!

We came to stay for my husband’s birthday; our first night away from the children since we married last year and it was exactly what we needed, an evening of good food, good atmosphere and great service!

I couldn’t recommend the Redcastle hotel enough and look forward to coming back to stay with you again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    308
    138
    75
    50
See reviews for
206
569
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Book a deal though livingsocial for this hotel ,staying 24 sept to 26 sept found the hotel to be in nice location,very helpful staff ,wife found the spa to be good and staff very competent,had meal in main resturant to be of very high standard,can not fault this hotel in any way

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I were guests at a wedding reception, staying overnight as we live some distance from the hotel. Our room was large and included armchairs and a table, and the view was spectacular - overlooking Lough Foyle. The bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath and a shower over the bath. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The facilities were comfortable and more than met our needs.
The food at the Reception was excellent - the quality and presentation could not be faulted. Breakfast the next morning was wholesome produce - ranging from fry to cereals, cold meats etc. Staff in both settings were attentive and efficient.
Unfortunately, we did not have time to enjoy the leisure facilities but they certainly came highly recommended amongst our acquaintances.
All in all - a great experience which I hope to repeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Redcastle for a two day break. We upgraded to a sea view room. The hotel facilities are very good with lots of places to sit and relax, many with great views over Lough Foyle. Our room had all the facilities we needed although the decor was a little tired. The service was very good throughout. The highlight however was the food the in main dining room. This was excellent and was combined with fabulous views and very friendly service. We had intended to eat elsewhere on our second night but the poor weather was all the encouragement we needed to eat in the hotel again. We would be happy to recommend the Redcastle and will visit again.

Room Tip: Sea view room are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as we we're attending a wedding there. Our room was really nice, we got a family room which is like suite. It looked out to the car park/front of hotel where you could see people playing Golf. The rooms do not have a fridge or air con! but our room had double doors that opened with a little balcony and you get great air coming in from this. You need to have transport if you are staying here as it is in a rural area. The swimming pool was lovely, lots of water jets in the pool which are great. They also have a sauna and steam room. The bathroom was a good size and the hairdryer is NOT in here it is out in the bedroom which is much better. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is in a lovely location sitting overlooking lough Foyle. The golf course looked very nice and the grounds seemed well looked after. The hotel was spotless and well run. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, did not eat a meal in the bar but they did look good, we had sandwiches one night in the bar and they were very good. I really enjoyed this hotel and would stay again. My only gripe would be no air/con in the bedrooms, but a lot of hotels in Ireland and UK do not have this which is a shame as hotel rooms get very hot. Breakfast had lots to choose from. A lovely hotel in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here recently on the 'Couples Retreat' for 2 nights. Really impressed with the overall look and presentation of the hotel. Decor is modern and the hotel is clean. When we arrived in our room there was a puddle on the bathroom floor, caused by a drip from the extraction fan on the ceiling. We alerted reception, went down to the pool and found that it was fixed on our return. Very efficient.

Our deal included dinner which can so often be mediocre when it is part of a package. However, we were very impressed with the quality of the food, and being able to choose any of the dishes on the menu. A beautiful location gazing out over Lough Foyle, with a bright full moon reflecting on the water.

Spa was lovely, thanks to Sarah and Aine who looked after my treatments. The pool is definitely on the cool side which is a shame as it is more suited to relaxing than swimming due to its shape. Walls are beautifully painted with a seascape, reflecting the stunning views outside. With such a beautiful location its a shame there's not a walkway leading to the beach. Most coastal areas seem off-limits to guests.

Credit must go to the staff who were genuinely friendly. From spa to restaurant to front desk, they all contributed to making us feel very welcome. It is clear that they are all local and are rightly proud of beautiful Donegal.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is huge, almost the size of an apartment. A sea view or balcony would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly take your comments on board and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortun8
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I had a two day break at Redcastle. Our room was clean and extremely warm as was all of the hotel
The food was a high standard and the breakfast was sooo good.
I look forward to our return the surrounding golf course was an endurance test for me as the weather was bad, my wife enjoyed the spa for a facial.
Yes a great little break before the winter sets in. We travelled on the ferry from Magiligan point to Moville £17 return however this is closed from October to March I believe, however Londonderry is only a short drive away.
The staff deserve a special mention as they are all so friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope you will get a chance to return again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.