We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, spacious room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely view, spacious room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely view if you get a sea-side view. Ours wasn't that sea-side, it faced this leisure center, but if you go outside the hotel to walk, it was lovely. Need a taxi or car to get into Moville, where there's a couple charming pubs and restaurants. A nice non-urban getaway.

Was here for a wedding and it was a nice venue with a large private function room. Good bar and lobby to hang out it, decent gym / swimming pool.

Free wifi for visitors. Great breakfast options.

A couple cons: very noisy - there were a lot of little kids screaming and running through the halls, and from your room you can really hear everything in the hallway. I assuming this is because of the holiday period, but this is a very family-oriented place and there's probably families with young children year-round. Ask for a more sequestered room, maybe at the end of the hallways. Also, the beds are not the most comfortable - rather firm - feel like cheap mattresses and covers.

Overall, if I return to this region, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take on board your comments
I hope you will return to the Hotel again soon

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    343
    146
    79
    53
See reviews for
222
643
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a two night break in Mid December. The room with sea view was fantastic and despite frost the sun was shining in. The room had all we needed and staff were attentive. The buffet breakfast was very good. We have no problem recommending it and will stay again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

i would strongly recommend avoiding this place until they decide whether they are in the hotel business or the late night discotheque business.
activities which i would suggest are not entirely compatible.
a great pity,because it could be so good,situated as it is,and with some very good staff,particularly on reception,trying their best to no avail.
with the management in denial of the problem,and owners who can't be bothered,or don't have the good manners,to reply to constructive comment it would seem nobody cares.
little wonder people leave the place in a bad humour and with poor memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think the title says it all!
We love this Hotel, this was our 1st time staying at Christmas time and it just just beautiful!
As always, the staff went above and beyond in terms of friendliness & service, the food was glorious, the Spa was fab, the new additions of a Sauna & Steamroom are excellent and the room was spacious & comfortable!
Redcastle Hotel we will see you again hopefully!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer such positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again on this occasion. Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to seeing you soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family took me to this hotel as a birthday surprise. Stunning location, picturesque! Rooms were nice & clean. As it was a special occasion the hotel left complimentary chocolates in my room wishing me a Happy Birthday which was a lovely surprise. Breakfast was great. Spa was excellent, I enjoyed a full body massage & I felt so relaxed afterwards. We didn’t eat in the hotel for dinner, opted to go into Moville instead. Cute little village with a super restaurant called Rosatos. However I have heard excellent reports about the food in the hotel restaurant so I would love to return to sample it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely feedback. I hope you do get a chance to sample our restaurant food on your next visit

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband & I just returned today from a 2 night stay at the Redcastle Hotel.Our whole stay was brilliant.There was a minor problem with our room when we arrived but it was sorted straight away with no fuss,thanks Joanne on reception.
The room we got was lovely overlooking Lough Swilly right across to Magilligan Strand.The room was spotless, as was the bathroom.We had complimentary bottles of water in the room,plus tea & coffee making facilities.As well as a huge bed & single bed,there was a settee in the room with still loads of space, perfect.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night (included in the price).We had a window table & were able to eat our meal while watching the waves crash on rocks just below us.The food was superb,a good choice on the menu and excellent service.Nothing was too much trouble to the staff and they were all so pleasant.
This is the first hotel we have stayed in be it 4 or 5 star which had a buffet breakfast with hot plates & hot food, a joy to behold & although there was nearly everything you could ask for on the buffet there were also a few things you could have directly from the kitchen, in my husband's case kippers.
All in all there is not a bad word I could say about the hotel.Great room,food & excellent staff.I would just like to give a special mention to Gerry one of the porters who was extremely helpful but also a font of information & the local area.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our team here at the Hotel

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here with my fiancé for 2 nights end Nov-beginning Dec. no pool available as was being refurbished but we had been telephoned to advise us of this. Had booked ocean view room and it was lovely, view over lough and also golf course :) welcome bottle of prosecco as part if package, awaited us however no corkscrew so ended up bringing it home. Downside of room was it was a little cool but main problem was the bathroom extractor fan not going off, all night! And bedside telephone red light constantly flashing (had to cover this with various items to reduce the light at night). Spoke with reception who sent person to fix fan within an hr, light always flashes on phone apparently!! After much coming and going fan was off but once light turned on again that was it so contacted reception who advised a room change (at 10pm) room was across corridor and def much warmer, extractor fan didn't work at all incidentally, not did the telephone flash incessantly :) breakfast was excellent both mornings, we booked into the edge restaurant on second night food was amazing. We were meant to get two spa vouchers as part of our package which we never received but all in all great hotel def recommend it :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologise that you did not receive a corkscrew for your wine. I will certainly ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here and also please do mention to reservations on your next visit that you did not receive your Spa vouchers and they will ensure that you receive these regardless of the package that you book
I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.