We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent would recommend, had to move room but no problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redcastle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Redcastle Hotel to your Saves list
Redcastle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent would recommend, had to move room but no problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé for 2 nights end Nov-beginning Dec. no pool available as was being refurbished but we had been telephoned to advise us of this. Had booked ocean view room and it was lovely, view over lough and also golf course :) welcome bottle of prosecco as part if package, awaited us however no corkscrew so ended up bringing it home. Downside of room was it was a little cool but main problem was the bathroom extractor fan not going off, all night! And bedside telephone red light constantly flashing (had to cover this with various items to reduce the light at night). Spoke with reception who sent person to fix fan within an hr, light always flashes on phone apparently!! After much coming and going fan was off but once light turned on again that was it so contacted reception who advised a room change (at 10pm) room was across corridor and def much warmer, extractor fan didn't work at all incidentally, not did the telephone flash incessantly :) breakfast was excellent both mornings, we booked into the edge restaurant on second night food was amazing. We were meant to get two spa vouchers as part of our package which we never received but all in all great hotel def recommend it :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologise that you did not receive a corkscrew for your wine. I will certainly ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here and also please do mention to reservations on your next visit that you did not receive your Spa vouchers and they will ensure that you receive these regardless of the package that you book
I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    308
    138
    75
    50
See reviews for
206
569
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just back from 2 nights here - lovely rooms with 'Ocean view' - more like Lough view but still great. Only one small gripe with rooms as we've found before - could we have brighter lights please. The food in the bar and the dining room was really good and the bottle of Emiliano Merlot perfect in bar though the one served in dining room was a little cool but swiftly replaced! Just our bad luck that the pool hadn't heated up after refurbishment - and we learnt that we should have prebooked treatments. Anyone staying here who enjoys walking should try the waterfall walk at Clonmany and Pollan Strand near Ballyliffin - also Moville and Buncrana shore walks.

Room Tip: 'Ocean' view definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. And for your traveller tips. I apologise that the pool temperature was not as it should be. I hope you will visit soon again
Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was excellent , room lovely , staff were so helpful. Big plus stayed on Sunday , Santa was there , was really good and took time have full conversation with my daughter . meal was part of package was delicious lovely setting . Only one bad thing could say was pool was little on cold side . But overall would highly recommend

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your time and had a chance to see Santa! I will ensure your comments regarding the pool are passed on also

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My friends & I booked the hotel for a "girlie night out" for christmas. This included overnight stay breakfast the following morning & a choice of "taster spa session" . The staff were very friendly, polite & professional. They went over and above the call of duty to make our stay exceptional! Two staff that stood out were Danielle (Beautician) & Lisa at reception however all staff were amazing!! definitely worth the visit!!

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the water it would be stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your special mention of two staff members. We try to go above and beyond for all our guests and we really appreciate when this is noticed. I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Myself and 5 girlfriends just spent 2 nights at Redcastle - we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were great and the food was excellent - we ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar on the second. We all had a spa treatment which was amazing and the staff were excellent on all counts! Would definitely recommend Redcastle and we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again in the near future

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is not the first time I have stayed at the red castle hotel and it most certainly wont be my last . I love everything about this hotel the staff are more than helpfully,and very friendly, the food is great and the rooms are very comfortable. I would recommend going out of season when it is quiet as it makes it even more relaxing. Can't wait to get back . Well done to the whole team at the red castle hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

It is lovely to read comments from our returning visitors and it is also good that you received the same standard of care and attention this time round. The Hotel will only be a success when a customer such as yourself returns time and time again and then spreads the word. Thank you for your continued support

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A good hotel in a lovely setting. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The rooms are what you would expect from a 4 star hotel though nothing more. It is worth getting a room with a sea view if you can. The pool is quite good though lacks a heated jacuzzi. You have to wear a swimming cap in the pool, if you don't have your own it costs 2 Euros to buy one. There are several bars which are nice and reasonably priced for a hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our team here. I hope you will return to the Hotel soon again

Redcastle Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcastle Hotel

Address: Inishowen Peninsula, Moville, Ireland (Formerly The Redcastle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcastle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Redcastle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcastle Hotel Donegal
Carlton Redcastle Hotel And Thalasso
Hotel Redcastle
Donegal Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Hotel Redcastle
Carlton Moville
Redcastle Hotel Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcastle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.