We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inishowen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inishowen Lodge to your Saves list
Inishowen Lodge
Ballyrattan | Redcastle, Moville, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3 night offer
Ranked #1 of 10 Moville B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was in Co Donegal for a wedding. I spent 3 nights in this B&B and the room was clean and spacious with great views. The choices of breakfast was brill and I didn't need to eat again 'til the evening. Olga and Irwin were very helpful & friendly and had a wealth of knowledge of the area, informing me of places to visit, taxis and where to go in the evening for entertainment and dining. I traveled on to Belfast via the Greencastle Ferry across Lough Foyle which was 12 Euro single or 20 Euro return for the 15 minute journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this B&B. The rooms were excellent as was the choices of breakfast each morning. The view from the rooms were outstanding. The place initself was very relaxing and quite. The owners had a wealth of local knowledge and advice of where to eat in town and were to visit. We certainly would recommend Inishowen Lodge to others. Thankyou Irwin and Olga for helping make our stay perfect. John & Sarah Wright

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Huge room with en-suite shower and lavatory (room descriptions are confusing with mention of "private shower room" ; I assume that some are not en-suite). The hosts are most welcoming and the breakfasts excellent. There is a local taxi service allowing relaxed eating-out at Rosato's in Moville and at the Redcastle Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We have just one room which is not ensuite. It has a private shower room which is large, bright and airy.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amilly, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely guests in this great house with an outstanding view on the lough. Irwin and Olga are really welcoming and will give you the will to stay with them and enjoy the Inishowen peninsula.
If you want to visit Inishowen peninsula, you have to sleep at Inishowen lodge, you won't regret it. Irwin will tell you what to see and most specifically what is not in the guides (for example, the former illegal pub).

Room Tip: The 3 rooms have the view on the lough, so wherever you'll be it will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned yesterday from a very relaxing 4 day stay at the Inishowen Lodge. We were made very welcome from first arrival with an nice big pot of tea and some biscuits with a very informative talk about the local area. Room was immaculate and very comfortable, toilitries & towels provided along with a hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, TV and free WIFI all made the stay most enjoyable. Breakfast each morning was amazing and made to a very high standard. We will im sure return again in the future and recommend highly this B&B to anyone looking for accomodation in this area could not fault it one bit :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Inishowen Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glamorgan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We confused Inishowen Lodge with Inishowen Gateway, i.e. we never meant to stay there at all.In the event, we were delighted to have erred. The Lodge scores top marks in just about every respect; it is hard to imagine how it could be improved. Lovely room with spectacular views. Breakfasts excellent. Hosts delightful, informative and generous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofandi, Owner at Inishowen Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and we are delighted you had a positive Bed & Breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very nice house and accommodations. Great hospitality complete with fireplace warmed sitting room and ample touring/historical information, plus Irwin's thorough local knowledge and excellent touring recommendations. Throw in Olga's great breakfast and a very good dinner at a pub/restaurant in Moville and we really enjoyed the Inishowen leg of out tour. (Be very alert watching for the sign for the left turn off the R238 approaching Moville.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishowen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Lodge

Address: Ballyrattan | Redcastle, Moville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Moville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Moville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishowen Lodge is situated on the scenic Inishowen peninsula of North Donegal just 25 minute drive from 2013 City of Culture, Derry/Londonderry. We have spectacular views over Lough Foyle towards the North Antrim Coast and during the summer months, there is an hourly ferry service from Greencastle to Magilligan which facilitates travel to the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills Distillery & the Carrick a Rede Rope Bridge. Malin Head, Ireland's most northernly point is approx 35 minutes away. All rooms are spacious with private facilities, free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. You can enjoy a choice of cooked breakfast each morning in our sunroom. The large comfortable guest sitting room provides an ideal location for relaxing in the evening. On cooler evenings there is an inviting log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inishowen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Lodge Moville, County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishowen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.