We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Elegance of Cahors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Haute-Serre

Chateau de Haute-Serre
Chateau de Haute-Serre, 46230 Cieurac, France
+33 5 65 20 80 20
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Chateau de Haute-Serre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cieurac
Price range: $24 - $76
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: La Table de Haute-Serre is an original gastronomic concept -bistronomie- in a wine cellar. The bistro side is reflected in the warm, friendly atmosphere in a sitting reminiscent of a modern, chic sort of loft. The gourmet side is, of course, reflected in the menu with local products market.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Elegance of Cahors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great restaurant, very well priced for what it is -- this is 2 Michelin star quality food with none of the nonsense that often implies. Complex combinations of flavours, very well done.

The Chateau Haute--Serre wines are lovely, and matched the food impeccably.

Perhaps they could be a little more child friendly? Not all kids want this sort of food, and maybe take a leaf out of the approach of Italian restaurants of a similar quality (I am thinking of Poggio Antico).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Haute-Serre, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to know you enjoyed our food and wine match. In a winery-restraurant it's the most important thing.
I take good note of your remark about the children's menu.

We hope to see you again at the Table de Haute-Serre.

Le Chef, Thierry Pszonka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best of Food And Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We began with a wine-tasting, had a meal and ended with a personal tour of the winemaking process.

The wine was impressive,and Mathieu's story of each vintage and how it was put together was an education.

The meal was exquisitely prepared and presented. The food was well created with attention to detail and subtlety of flavour combinations. Every aspect of the meal was perfect. And the staff were friendly and informative.

Altogether it was a very pleasurable visit I hope we will repeat.

Ken and Mary

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Haute-Serre, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are glad to know you appreciated the visit of the Château de Haute-Serre estate and the meal. The all team, and particularly Matthieu, thanks you for your nice review.
We hope to see you again at the Table de Haute-Serre.

Le Chef, Thierry Pszonka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food great service not so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place has many stars in reviews. It a new, modern building of a winery/chateau. It is an expensive place, but the service is not up to par. One menu/wine card is available in a stand on the table. The waitress tells you, only in French- not even an attempt to accommodate, to figure out a formula (starter/main starter/main/desert or 4th course cheese). Difficult to read and try to figure out a 'formula" with 2 people, off 1 menu. We asked recommendation for a glass of wine with the starter and a glass with the main dish. The waitress went straight for the price (Euro 18,95 per glass) 'because it was a 100% Malbec") and it did not fit the starter. So we decided to try our luck ourselves for the main dish and at Euro 9.95 it fitted much better.
A young waiter did make an effort to speak English and we helped him in the translation. So we tipped him personally.
The quality and presentation of the food was really wonderful! But we would not go back, due to the attitude of the head waitress.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top class French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Top quality French cuisine in a typical wine cellar within the Chateau. Weekdays lunch menu is of exceptional in terms of quality from starter to dessert and value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvigouroux, Propriétaire at Chateau de Haute-Serre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
The team and I thank you for your nice review! We hope to see you again at the Table de Haute-Serre.

Le Chef, Thierry Pszonka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We went to the Chateau de Haute-Serre for a Saturday lunch time girlie catch up. My first impression was the beautiful setting, within a Vineyard. On entering the building we were greeted by the chef himself, a nice touch I'm not used to in the UK. We were taken to our table by the attentive staff then the gastric delights began. Beautifully light but tasty soup was followed by mains of duck so beautifully presented it was almost a work of art yet retaining complimentary flavours. Dessert was a a flurry of strawberry and cream froth, so light and refreshing. All this washed down by a beautifully deep and rich red wine. I thoroughly recommend this beautiful restaurant, it's a gem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Haute-Serre also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Haute-Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Haute-Serre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.