We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts to your Saves list
Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Melapoonchola, Vythiri 673576, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vythiri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had organized our company outing here for 2 days....the location was perfect, great ride to the resort, private water falls, excellent trekking experience. DJ was the icing on the cake...they did a great job. I personally would have preferred more local cuisine in our breakfast and lunch buffet. The staff are very helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
101
68
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited Blue Ginger from 1st to 3rd November 2012, with my wife and 4.5 year old son.

I started from Bangalore at 6 am and reached the Vythiri village at 2 pm with a 1 hour stop in between. I had recieved a call from the resort around 11.00am to check where I was, and was asked to call the resort once I reached the Vythiri village. I called back and in a few minutes a jeep arrived to guide me to the parking area. From the parking area is a 20 min drive uphill to the resort in the resort's jeep. Your car remains parked down the hill.

The drive to resort is a nice starter to the experience. When I alighted from the jeep inside the resort, I was impressed with the view, the scenic natural ambience it exudes. This sets the right tone. I was also given a room upgrade based on availability.

The resort experience is quite good. It has a pair of waterfalls within the estate, which the young and middle aged can access without much issues. Might be difficult for senior citizens.

The views of the streams and the waterfalls and the surrounding mountains, was quite good from the resort. At times, the clouds fleeting by add to the experience.

It had rained and was raining during my stay, so the flow of the water was more - which was good. The rains, I felt, only added to the 'rainforest' experience.

I stayed in a room in the same building where the reception is location, and I was happy with the downhill view that it provided. There are also other options like the cottages. I am sure many would like the cottage with the waterfall view.
There are paths one can explore in and around the resort. Trekking upstream is one such option. It is a bit more adventurous than normal trekking during rains since you have to climb the rocks and handle the water flow. Also, you can attempt a decent amount of birdwatching inside the resort during the mornings. Of course, one can just be there in the nice natural environs and take it easy. One can take the paths available in the resort\around the resort for a small walk. Especially during rains, one has to be aware of leeches in muddy paths. But that can possible be handled if you are aware, with a pinch of salt, or a few drops of dettol which can be carried along.

My son had a good time during the small trek that we undertook, with the help of Naja.

As for the nearby sightseeing options within a 40 km range, there are plenty if you have the time. As per my understanding, all except the trekking come at a price, if you leave it to the resort. You can also do the same on your own, but you will still need to take the jeep to and fro till the parking area and this unfortunately comes only at a price.

Meals are quite ok, and the staff is willing to cater to your requests. During my stay, we had a a-la-carte, and not buffet. The chef, in his late sixties or early seventies, is also jolly good and is interesting to talk to. For those of whom it matters, an official liquor serving licence is yet to be available to the resort.

What can be improved :

They can also propose a sightseeing package, during booking.
The resort can arrange specific morning trips for those interested in birdwatching. Starting at 10.00 am for treks means the main birdwatching time is over.
Also the amneties, game options in the club area should be refurbished. That surely helps those with kids.
The order for the next meal can be taken at all times in the cafeteria itself during the previous meal, instead of having the staff coming down later.
At other times, I am not sure all my phone\individual requests were understood by some of the canteen staff, since a couple of times my request for tea - room delivery was not done.
All this, however, did not come in the way of my overall experience though. Generally all the staff was only too willing to oblige.

Overall Experience : Very Happy with the resort and its naturally bountiful environs, and would definitely recommend family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had booked a two-day stay at Blueginger after seeing their site.

During the initial mail exchanges or telephonic conversations, I was not told about the difficult terrain or the pickup that they offered. My parents and I had not expected such a bad road leading to the resort. The drive up to the resort actually put us down and had lowered our expectations.

But after reaching the resort, we just forgot the bad drive.

The entire resort was clean and maintained well. The place gave us a feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. There was hardly any noise except for the sound of the waterfall and the screeching of insects.

The buffet spread (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was good and tasty. During each mealtime, the chef came to each table and inquired about the food and whether we liked it. It was a nice gesture. The staff were courteous and friendly.

There are a few places to visit in Wayanad. But we decided to stay back in the resort and just relax.

A great place to be if you want to experience lush greenery and just forget the mundane life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I just came back home after spending a memorable 2-day stay at blue ginger. trekking was something which no one should miss. Food could have been better in terms of taste rather than variety, i personally felt they actually forgot adding salt in almost every dish, the pools were a little dirty. Staff was quick,polite and definitely no complaints at all. The cab uphill was pretty expensive 400 just to pick up !!so we actually walked all the way up for fun. The rooms are well maintained and smell fresh. Overall thumbs up and keep up the good work. Sarath the manager gave us a good discount over the package, cheers mate and hope to see you soon .. Again :)

Room Tip: try the tree house adjacent to the pool .. expensive but worth it ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited Blue Ginger in Oct 2012 and stayed for 4 nights. It is heaven on earth. Though the accessibility is little difficult due to rocky mountains, the place that we unearth at the end of the journey is amazing. It is in the top of the hill and the entire stay was wonderful. The staff is very humble and their hospitablity is unmatched. They offered varieties of food items in their menu and prepared it based on our choice; it was tasty as well. The climate was awesome and stay was very relaxing. It is a true rain forest and I stayed on a tree house near the water falls for 2 days. They have lot of modern amenities on top of the hill. They provided 3 days complimentary sightseeing in their jeep to nearer places which was really good. This is the place for inner peace and our stay was real good and refreshing.

Room Tip: If you go with 5+ family members, please choose Ginger Villa which has connecting room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good Place but very secluded from the city and the hotel taxi's are way too expensive. We had stayed over in the tree house which was good, nice experience. Few staff guys are good. It is important you have dinner within the resort as there is nothing around. The club house inside the resort is very bad and an absolute waste. Little too expensive as most of the facilities claimed in website are not available. Rooms are extremely clean. The en route to resort is through a rugged road which might be a pleasant experience for friends/couples but members travelling with little elderly people should avoid. Overall, Nice place to be with if you are out for honeymoon or with friends. Rest of the guys can safely ignore.

Room Tip: Tree Houses are good for Couples but you need to negotiate for the right price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself, my hubby and son stayed for 2 nights. Good hospitality and friendly staff's. Trekking was also a very good experience. Accomodation was comfortable and the climate was also very pleasant. Food was also good. Road to reach the resort is alone a problem. Otherwise the overall stay was very comforting and refreshing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts

Address: Melapoonchola, Vythiri 673576, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Vythiri
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vythiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Blue Ginger Spa Resort Vythiri. Welcome to the roof of South India where the BLUE sky merges with lush green hill tops. Blue Ginger Spa Resort offers the best blend nature in its purest form along with the personalised warm hospitality with a local touch. Come and experience the ancient glory and pristine natural ambience with modern amenities. A majestic backdrop of cloud studded mountain peaks, splendorous views all around, unspoiled natural ambiance, colourful tropical flowers and butterflies await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ginger Wayanad Hotel Kalpetta
Blue Ginger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ginger Wayanad Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.