We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine For A Business Trip.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Hotel Amberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arcadia Hotel Amberg to your Saves list
Arcadia Hotel Amberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiessstaetteweg 10, 92224 Amberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Amberg
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Fine For A Business Trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night whilst on business in Amberg.
First point to note is that the hotel has its own free of charge car park behind the hotel which was a bonus and I had no issues finding a space.
Checking in was quick and easy and the receptionists were reasonably friendly and I was given a room on the second floor. The room itself was nothing to write home about being quite sparsely furnished although was a more than decent size and was adequate for my needs as a business traveller. Showering was an experience however as the shower head was on a sliding bracket on a pole and it would not lock into position so had to be held by hand, although at least the water was hot.
In all fairness, the room was warm and the bed was comfy and I had a good sleep. I ate breakfast in the morning and there was a good range of food, both cooked and continental which set me up well for the day.
To conclude I would say this is a good hotel or the business traveller but certainly not somewhere I would bring the family.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir, thank you much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. We are very grateful for your input. We strive to better our services and will continue to do so with the suggestions and recomondations of our valued guests. We hope to welcome you again with us soon and wish you till then a great holiday seasson and a very blessed 2015.
Your Arcadia Hotel Amberg Team
Silvia Kendzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amberg is not far from the autobahn that links Frankfurt/Nurnberg/Wurzburg with the Czech Republic and so is well situated for those needing a stopover.

The Arcadia is a modern hotel with all facilities required by business and leisure travellers. I was welcomed in a friendly manner, with my check in processed quickly. I did not know if I would want breakfast, but the receptionist helpfully informed me that it was 10 euros less to take the B & B package rather than pay for breakfast separately,

The room was spacious, with a separate seating/desk area from the bedroom and a functional bathroom. There was a proper window that could be opened. Wi-fi was free and fast. A login code is available from reception, The choice of TV channels seemed to be quite good. Very comfortable bed. Mini bar is available.

Breakfast was nice, with a good choice of hot and cold food. Check out was effortless.

The hotel has a car park, though visitors should note that the parking in front of the premises is a payable public car park, with charges kicking in from 9.00am. The free one owned by the hotel is at the back.

The sat nav took me straight to the front door, but I would guess that without a sat nav or map the hotel could be difficult to find.

All floors are served by lifts and so I guess the hotel is suitable for those with restricted mobility. It also has one floor reserved for smokers (the top floor) and four floors for non-smokers.

Apparently, the town is quite close by, though I didn't get a chance to see it. I am told it is worth a look. In the immediate area there is a pleasant park and no obvious traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Robert, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcome you with us again soon. Till then we wish you a joyful holiday seasson and a very happy 2015.
your Arcadia Hotel Team Amberg
Silvia Kendzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed at the Arcadia Amberg 11 month ago. Much has changed changed. Still good value with excellent front desk staff. Breakfast just perfect. Rooms seem to have had a refit and standards are much higher.
Rooms remain functional but are modern and clean.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Mrs Anne, thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are very glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

Best greetings from your Arcadia Hotel Team Amberg

Silvia Kendzie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Close to Amberg Altstadt the Arcadia offers a clean and function base. With a very warm welcome to all those who stay. The breakfast is one of the best I have had in my 18 years of travelling to Germany, with everything freshly prepared.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Ricardo,

thank you so much for taking the time to rate out hotel.
We are very happy you had such a good stay with us.
All our effords are aimed to make the stay of our guests a great one.
We hope to welcome to you with us again soon and wish you all the best till then.

best greetings
your Arcadia Hotel Team Amberg
Silvia Kendzie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Silvia and the whole staff crew provided excellent service for my temporary home away from home for thirty days in this wonderful hotel! Professionally and very friendly atmosphere people who is always willing to go above and beyond there normal duties to keep you safe and sound! Keep up the excellent job and it was my pleasure to stay! Thank you for your support!

Room Tip: Talk with the staff they are always there to assist you in your needs.b
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. James C., thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are very glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

Best greetings from your Arcadia Hotel Team Amberg

Silvia Kendzie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in September 2013 for two nights. Bedrooms in need of a refit and somewhat shabby.Carpets in particular are grubby and well worn
Bathrooms are surface clean only .

Staff are a delight and breakfast room and breakfast first class. The Hotel is central to all amenities for Amberg which is a pleasant city to visit having much to offer any tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbergArcadia, Manager at Arcadia Hotel Amberg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,
sehr geehrte/r annegoddard,
Zuerst möchten wir uns gerne herzlich bedanken, dass Sie unser Arcadia Hotel für Ihren Aufenthalt in Amberg gewählt haben. Vielen Dank ebenfalls für Ihren Kommentar, der uns helfen wird unseren Service auf Schwachstellen zu überprüfen und weiter zu verbessern.
Wir hoffen Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.
Herzliche Grüße aus Amberg

Silvia Kendzie und das gesamte Arcadia Amberg Team
Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, near the train station (maximum 10 minutes by foot), a quiet area, nice view and very nice employees, good food, clean room. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in this area, this hotel is a very goog choice. I have received all the support from the hotel personnel and I am happy with the choice I've made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Hotel Amberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel Amberg

Address: Schiessstaetteweg 10, 92224 Amberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Amberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Amberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcadia Hotel Amberg 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia Hotel Amberg is beautifully located next to the historical old city wall of Amberg.Our 106 modern rooms, 4 luxurious suites and our hotelbar offers comfort and the perfect place to stay. The city centre is just a5 minute walk from the hotel. Additionally you will find the Convention Centre Amberg, the adventure pool & SPA Kurfürstenbadand a beautiful park situated next to the hotel.Amberg will provide you with a rich and wonderful variety for example the typical bavarian breweries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arcadia Hotel Amberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Hotel Amberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.