We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up its billing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadtwirtschaft

Altstadtwirtschaft
Rathausplatz 8, 87435 Kempten, Bavaria, Germany
(0)831 56 58 156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Kempten
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tortola
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lived up its billing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service was very good and our Wienerschitzells were good and very generous portions.
We were there early, so the restaurant was quite empty

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Felpham, West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel Fuerstenhof (up above) - this restaurant was very convenient after a day's driving. Walking in expecting something adequate at most, I must say that from the outset it was lovely. Our waitress was very helpful with a very pleasant manner. The food was superb. Without adding culinary detail, the courses for each of us were very filling, lovely flavours. The bread was made locally and the baker was eating in the restaurant! The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. Just one thing - no UK credit or debit cards. Bit of a blow - I did ask whether they'd heard of the EU. The answer was that Austria does the same - not much of an answer but more a rather revealing outbreak of Germanic togetherness. Better take loads of cash for Germany next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“We were not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Upon the enthusiastic reviews we decided to eat our dinner at this restaurant.
We ordered Asparagus soup (Spargel suppe) and the waitress claim to their best dish: Schnitzel (veal) which came with potato salad and cucumber salad. Roasted bread was served too with butter. The soup was with garlic and lost the unique taste of Asparagus. The schnitzel were huge but tasteless. So sad that I cannot write an enthusiastic review but we found the restaurant average and considering the value of the food also a bit expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good food, fresh ingredients, simple tasty preparations, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I went there with my wife and some friends who were visiting. The place is warm, nice and welcoming, with a very unique atmosphere. The food is very nicely prepared, with local, fresh ingredients, delicious freshly-made bread. The menu is quite limited and changes based on what is fresh and available that week. but there are always some salad and soup choices, a fish dish, some meat and an amazingly tasty schnitzel, always worth having! Few, but good wine options that go very well with the menu options.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadtwirtschaft also viewed

 

Been to Altstadtwirtschaft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadtwirtschaft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.