We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mercede

Save Saved
You added Villa Mercede to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Mercede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tuscolana 20, 44 Frascati, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Frascati
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Villa Mercede is a hotel in transformation. I say this because it seems to want to be a upscale nightclub and I was told they were building a casino. The rooms were small, but very nice. The restaurant is very good except it has a very limited menu. The staff was helpful, but not overly. We stayed in Frascati and totally enjoyed the town. It is a short train ride to Rome and the town itself is charming. Villa Mercede is located on the side of the hill going up to the main part of town and it is a steep walk to town. We ended up staying here longer then we expected because we could not return home due to "Super Storm Sandy". The Proprietor of the hotel was there everyday but never aknowledged us. I found this very strange. A smile or an hello, despite the language barriers would have been so nice. The hotel also says it has a complimentary local transportation service, but it was never available. We loved Frascati and we would stay there again. I dont think that Villa Mercede is the place we would stay next time.

Room Tip: The rooms can get noisey at night because of the night club. Ask for a room where you will not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    102
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
62
3
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. I booked into a double for single use. The rooms are clean and modern and even had a terrace but that's where the good news ends. The walls are paper thin so you hear everything - flushing toilets, showers, tv, banging doors etc.

Unfortunately the room I stayed in was above the dining room & kitchen so you heard all the movement of the chairs and the banging of pots and pans.

There was also the boom boom of house music and load chatter until 2 am coming either from the cocktail bar or the casino. Opening the bedroom door at midnight you were faced with a barrage of noise already in the corridor.

Breakfast was paltry. I went down at 9 am and already the bread, cornetti, eggs and plates were finished. You had to always ask for more of something.

Coming up from Rome, I expected something quiet and this was anything but!!! All in all - not a very pleasant experience. Better to stay in the town or perhaps on the other side of Frascati.

Room Tip: Reject outright any of the rooms in the 400 series. These are directly above the dining room/kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were breath taken with the modern interiors, the amazing outdoor pool and the beautiful rolling hillside. We opted for the standard room as it was cheapest and when ever we go on holiday we try to spend as little time as possible inside the hotel room as we love to go out and explore! However the room was brand new with a spacious bathroom, a flat screen tv and a fridge. Fresh towels were brought every day when our room was cleaned and such things as shampoo and shower gel were also replenished. Making this room more than enough for us which was brilliant! We could have upgraded to bigger rooms with a hot tub and complimentary bath robes... But who the hell wants a hot tub when it's 40 degrees outside !?

The staff were amazing! Even with the language barrier they didn't get stressed or frustrated with us asking lots of questions about the surrounding areas. The restaurant manager was superb at making cocktails, he made sure we had our favourite cocktails when sat by the pool... Which made us feel like celebrity's :)

The hotels restaurant was the best place I have ever eaten! We didn't have one course that wasn't excellent. On the final night when we ate at the hotel, they only charged us for our mains and drinks, everything else was provided for us without us ordering, they remembered what starters and deserts were our favourite! This kind of service shouldn't go un noticed, and this personal touch is why I would give this hotel 6 starts if it were possible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who like myself and my boyfriend, enjoys a relaxed atmosphere and is very appreciative of the little things such as remembering our favourite dishes and making sure our cocktail glasses weren't empty!

The only reason my boyfriend and I can come up with to why this hotel is so perfect and yet the price is so reasonable, is that it is half an hour out of Rome and therefor they have to try that little bit harder. But don't let the location put you off! The hotel has a free mini bus which runs to the train station and back and from the station it's half an hour (€4 each return) to Rome. The town surrounding the hotel is magic and really comes alive at night. There are night time markets, the locals are fabulous and the restaurants are to die for!

( i wish I was back there, just thinking about it as I write this review)

If you have any questions then please contact me, I would be happy to help as I think everyone should experience this diamond hotel.

Room Tip: Standard room is more than enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I ended up in this hotel because the usual one was full - I do not regret. Most parts very recently renovated it is in a very good shape. The entry hall is (still?) a bit sober, and the rooms are very functional, but bed is good, bathroom very good. I had the impression that the noise insulation might be not perfect (realising when people went in front of the room), but cannot really judge since I think rooms next door were not occupied. For me the night was quiet.

I was too late for the restaurant, but I enjoyed the view from it at breakfast, which was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday lovely hotel but location is about daunting as its on a hill. We were exhausted by the time we got to the town. Lovely village to say the least. Good food and beers for a fraction of the cost to Rome. We loved the little sherwood pub so make sure u go there and have a a azeem panini. Delic! Not much to do but loved the local shops and the ice cream is the best u taste. Train to do Rome is less than 2quid And takes 20minz. Fab and easy journey and even better to return to such a quiet and friendly village. Pool area is fAb and the bar is great. The food in the hotel we never had as was much cheaper to eat in town and was more traditional xxx enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a disappointment.
I'm afraid we didn't stay the night having booked 'booking.com' for a 1 night stay - one of the 7 hotels we booked for our trip through Italy - because we were sadly disappointed. We had booked a superior room which we question whether this was the room we were actualy allocated. The room didn't appear to be the minimum 16 sqm the specify on their website. The air conditioning was less than satisfactory struggling to maintain a temperature above 26 degrees. The room had no tariffs displayed and no fire exit plan displayed and what we believe to be a fire exit not marked. Their website also says that you will receive a complimentary drink on arrival if you book a superior room - this was not offered. The toilet seat was also broken. They were unable to offer an alternative room as the rooms that were in use, renovations still ongoing, were fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've had a great week in this hotel. The staff is very friendly, breakfast is good and the rooms are nice and clean. Frascati is a lovely place, offering beautiful views and pleasant rest after a busy day in Rome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mercede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercede

Address: Via Tuscolana 20, 44 Frascati, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frascati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mercede 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heated outdoor pool and an elegant restaurant are on offer at Villa Mercede, set on the slopes of the Castelli Romani area. It is just 10 km from Rome's GRA ring road and a 15-minute drive from Ciampino Airport. Parking is free.All rooms at Hotel Villa Mercede are equipped with air conditioning, and a private bathroom with bath or shower. Rooms offer free Wi-Fi and an LCD TV with satellite channels.The entire hotel was refurbished in October 2011.Guests can relax in the sun terrace with outdoor swimming pool, open all year long. A free shuttle to Frascati Train Station and the city centre is available upon request.Breakfast is a sweet and savoury buffet, including homemade pastries. Restaurant Là cucina con vista is open every day for lunch and dinner, and specialises in high-quality cuisine. Meals are served in the panoramic veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Mercede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercede Hotel Frascati

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mercede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.