We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mercede

Save Saved
You added Villa Mercede to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mercede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tuscolana 20, 44 Frascati, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Frascati
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Modern and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This may be the most comfortable hotel in Frascati. It is very modern, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The view from the pool/deck and restaurant is fabulous. The staff are very helpful. My ONLY complaint was that there was only a small "hassock" in front of the spacious work desk, and I (unfortunately) had a lot of work to do. I mentioned to the front desk that a chair would be better, and voila! - a chair was delivered. The breakfast was delicious! And we LOVED the Thursday afternoon/evening happy hour/pool party - very enjoyable! This will definitely be my first choice on future visits to Frascati!

Room Tip: My room had no view, but it was quiet and cool. My colleague had a great view, but not quite as qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    103
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
63
3
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Villa Mercede (Thursday 7 June to Saturday 9 June) as a base for a wedding I was attending at the Villa Grazioli. The hotel is my type of accommodation ultra modern and spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable and the shower one of the best I have used. The pool area is gorgeous (with towels provided - a really nice touch). Breakfast and lunch were buffets at a very reasonable 10 euro (ish) each (drinks separate). The food was stunning with lots of choice and served in a beautiful restaurant area overlooking the pool by very helpful and welcoming staff. Ok the refurbishment is still ongoing and the noise did affect the pool/sunbathing experience which is the only reason I had to give an overall rating of 4 not 5 but I will be very interested to return once its complete. The reception staff were extremely helpful with our onward travel arrangements and in providing a shuttle bus at no charge to the wedding (they even obliged us by taking some photos of us in our wedding outfits). The location is great, easy to find and you can easily walk into town but the shuttle bus is really handy.I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyrin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice calm and quite hotel, very kind personnel, beautiful view from a very cosy restaurant.
Wifi worked well, rooms clean and pleasant (just avoid to be in a single room above the kitchen).
A pity that du to the weather couldn't try the swimming pool!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel has been newly refurbished (it seems that some of the construction work is still ongoing). Rooms are very modern and clean.
The only bad point was that my desk had no chair, only a stool; impossible to work for a longer time.
The bathroom is excellent. The bathtub features a yacuzzi, a fixed and a movable shower.

The breakfast is copious and delicious.
However, you should avoid the coffee from the pseudo expresso machine and order a real one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel in its newly refurbished state was a delightful find. The room was immaculate and the bed about the most comfortable I've slept on in a while. The staff was very accommodating and the included breakfast was plenty to carry you for a full day of sightseeing if that's your plan. The hike up to the train station was the only drawback - requiring some planning to make sure you get to the station on time. I'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: fourth and fifth floor rooms have great views towards Rome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was a lovely hotel on the (far) outskirts of Rome in a little town called Frascati.

The hotel itself was quiet when we went, though I guess March is still off-peak season. The room was beautiful, fairly newly refurbished (2011 I believe) with a gorgeous bathroom, large bed and ample storage space in a modern and clean style. The thing that blew us away was the view. We arrived at night and because Frascati is on a hill we could see the far-off lights of Rome spread out in the distance all around. The hotel is on a busy-ish main road and there were still some building works going on whilst we were there (not sure if these were on the hotel itself or not), but when we closed the windows we couldn't hear a thing.

One downside was that though the staff were very helpful, at times they did not seem completely happy to help and so we felt like a bit of a nuisance; though I think this may just be the way of the Italians in general as we had the same experience in a number of shops! The restaurant is VERY fancy, so if you are planning on dropping down from your room in your slacks you may feel quite uncomfortable. The food itself is foodie food: unpronounceable names, strange ingredients and tiny portions - though what we had was undeniably beautiful; we just weren't entirely sure what it was. That said, the continental buffet breakfast was ample, simple and filling. It got us well ready for Rome each morning.

The distance from Rome is a little further than it looks on the map, however transport in and out of Rome is easy. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel (uphill - beware), but the hotel run a complimentary coach to the station upon request, except on Sundays. The coach is a 7-seater and although we only had to share the coach with other guests once I imagine that during July and August, when the hotel might be more full, guests would have to book in advance for seats. Trains leave the station for Rome about once every hour and the train journey takes about 25 minutes.

All-in-all a nice and inexpensive hotel, but the sacrifice is distance from the city. If you don't mind taking out around an hour per day to travel to where you want to go in Rome (add train time to time spent getting around Rome itself) this is a great way to save £100 or so on your trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Villa Merced Hotel was not far away to city center. But the driving time is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes or 2 hours from the Villa Mercede Hotel to Rome City each way / per day... due to the traffic although the distance between the two places is only 12 miles. Although the hotel is undergoing renovation the hotel lobby looks dirty...
- The Hotel's staff, specifically a lady, around 50 year old were unhelpful, apathetic and not friendly.
The Breakfast : The Breakfast is always the same, buffet is focusing on quantity, not on quality. The breakfast room itself is simple and small for the big group. The ham and cheese... was in poor quality.
The Dinner : We stayed for 3 nights.
The first night we had a chicken with green beans.
The second night we had a pork chop with vegetables.
The third night we had a chicken dinner again and the meat was not fresh and vegetables cooked too oily and insipid.
THE DINNER SERVICES approximately two hours EACH NIGHT...
The downside to this hotel is the dinner by “the waiting” --- Overall we had to wait too long for dinner, the service was terrible and the food was not good!
The good side of this hotel is “Free Wine Dinner” but we didn’t care that much.
The Rooms : On the 3rd and the 4th and 5th floor – The rooms was nice and clean, but on the first floor and second floor the rooms was smelly, damp and cold........

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mercede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercede

Address: Via Tuscolana 20, 44 Frascati, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Frascati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mercede 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heated outdoor pool and an elegant restaurant are on offer at Villa Mercede, set on the slopes of the Castelli Romani area. It is just 10 km from Rome's GRA ring road and a 15-minute drive from Ciampino Airport. Parking is free.All rooms at Hotel Villa Mercede are equipped with air conditioning, and a private bathroom with bath or shower. Rooms offer free Wi-Fi and an LCD TV with satellite channels.The entire hotel was refurbished in October 2011.Guests can relax in the sun terrace with outdoor swimming pool, open all year long. A free shuttle to Frascati Train Station and the city centre is available upon request.Breakfast is a sweet and savoury buffet, including homemade pastries. Restaurant Là cucina con vista is open every day for lunch and dinner, and specialises in high-quality cuisine. Meals are served in the panoramic veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Mercede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercede Hotel Frascati

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mercede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.