We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Regillo

Save Saved
You added Poggio Regillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poggio Regillo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietra Porzia, 30, 00044 Frascati, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Frascati
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Honestly, when we've arrived from Rome to Frascati, I had no idea whatsoever what one can do here...no people, no taxies, nothing...Then I understood: you can only relax here: sleep, eat and of course drink a lot of wine! A taxi driver dropped us in Poggio Regillo, which was 10 minutes away from the train station and she asked for 13 euro, but then we found out from the hotel personell, that we could have arranged shuttle, provided by our hotel. So next time we are there, we should let them know we are arriving, so that they can provide free transportation for us. Well, at the check-in we received a warm welcome from Francesca, Valeria and Sylvia. Girls were very nice and tried to help crazy tourists a lot. We came to Frascati to experience different Italy, agricultural aspect of it and especialle wine cultivation and production, so the region of Frascati was the choice, however, we found out, that the hotel has no connections with any wineries on the basis of business, i.e. they dont offer any wine tours for their guests and the only option is to contact any travel agency in Rome. Oh well, front desk ladies kindly offered us to come to the dinner in their hotel restaurant Accademia, run by a fantastic manager Delfo, where we could experience food and wine pairings. And so we did. We left all our bags in the room, which was nicely groomed, smelled flowers and with a mountain view. Our bathroom had a window too, so it was fun to have a shower with "look at me, world" thought))) Dont tell me I'm perverted, I know that)) haha. By the way, every room has a cool TV, wifi, phone of course, I dont remember iron though...but come on, who needs an iron in Frascati?! We left the room and walked into the yard, which was amazing! Olive garden, drink water fountains, little nice tables and chairs, barbecue station in the end of the garden, bicycles (for no fee). Location is nice and air is so fresh, that you'll sleep like a baby. Time to have dinner came and we met Delfo, who recommended their specials and introduced sommelier to us, who took came of out wine experience. It was a great dinner. We asked our host about wineries to see and wines to taste, and he gave us a kind advice. Thank you very much for that. The day of our departure we met GM of a hotel, Alexandros Muratori, who nicely offered us a cup of coffee and spoke to us about everything in the world I guess, but this time, stolen from him, was a great pleasure to us. Throughout our stay, we felt as a part of a family. poor Sylvia and Francesca, we bugged you so much with our stupid requests)) But they were the most hospitable and nicest people and were trying hard to help us. Thank you very much, our dear family (sorry, but I can't devide you into staff and management). Best wishes from Russia and the USA.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    84
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
51
65
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed there in October last year and loved everything about it. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. Will be recommending to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel Poggio Regillo for a family wedding for 2 nites only. We booked a quadruple room and a single room they both were spacious and clean,breakfast was well presented and staff were english speaking and very helpfull. The hotel shuttle bus was availible for us to visit Frascati town and for our return to the airport. The only negative comment I would like to add is I feel if we are staying at the hotel the shuttle bus to surrounding areas should be complimentry as Frascati was close by but we had to pay both ways I understand the airport is a longer trip that i didnt mind.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor traffic noise was not so bad. The quadruple room is ideal for a family to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We needed a hotel for one night close the Rome but heading south. Poggio Regillo fitted this bill but we found the traffic noise quite considerable, as it sided by a small but busy road on one side and a highway on the other.
We flagged that our arrival would be late via email beforehand as our flight was delayed, and when we got there at 10.45 everything was in darkness. We rang the door bell many times to no avail and finally found this small notice around the side door to ring that bell after hours. Finally a grumpy guy in sweats came up to check us in, (OK if it was maybe after midnight but before 11pm isn't exactly a crazy late hour). With barely a word except to ask for our passports we were handed our keycards and told the breakfast hours/place in italian. In the morning breakfast was very nice maybe second best of trip, and on checkout the girls were all smiles unlike guy from the night before who was busy outside and had found his smile. Overall although we were there a short time our sleep was very restless with the traffic and that spoiled it for us. Wouldn't be rushing back to the place for that reason, but maybe it was just our room that was really bad...

Room Tip: With the two roads hard to say facing which would be better, maybe higher up is quieter we were on 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We wanted to get acclimated to the time change and not drive far. Poggio Regillo fit this perfectly. It is not too far from the Roma airports. The room was clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast was good. The people at the front desk were friendly with a great suggestion for dinner. We were very happy and plan to return. It is a little out of Frascati so you may need a car. You could actually stay here and take day trips into the city. We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I travelled with my wife and kids. The hotel was easy to find and a good stop before getting to Rome. Parking is free and wifi internet working fine, free and with no need of configuration. Rooms are cosy and well done (good quality forniture). You can tell it is a new business as everything either inside and outside is very well kept and clean. Breakfast was rich (although they don't serve bacon and eggs) with fresh fruit, different kind of desserts and cakes and yoghurt. We also enjoyed the fact that it is a family run business and everyone was very careful and polite. When we returned the car to Hertz they offered to bring us back to the hotel and the following day we used public transport for our last day in the city. I strongly suggest this solution to families looking for budget accomodation and relax.

Room Tip: Our room was a 4 bedroom one with a nice view on Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

When travelling with children sometimes even the most adventurous need a break from the whirl to spend some down time, catch up on sleep and e-mail, and just relax. Poggio Regillo is a nice break from the more urban surroundings of Rome and considerably greener and more pleasant than most of the gritty towns around the GRA ring. Staff were friendly and helpful even when we called a half hour to closing and arrived after hours. We found the grounds nicely landscaped and lit, and common areas pleasantly decorated. The room was clean and equipped with all the basic hotel kit. Minor wear and tear did not detract from the overall sense of care taken to make a unique oasis for the traveller at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poggio Regillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Regillo

Address: Via Pietra Porzia, 30, 00044 Frascati, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Frascati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frascati
#5 Business Hotel in Frascati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poggio Regillo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Poggio Regillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Regillo Frascati

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Regillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.